Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6587 (two hour dress) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 545 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:gotpeace91
photo
About gotpeace91
AR USA
Member since: 3/11/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/08 2:13 PM
Last Updated:4/3/08 2:25 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gotpeace91 said...
I can't seem to get the links to work sorry!
4/3/08 2:26 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your "here" and "here" photo links don't work, but your main project photo does work, so I was able to see your dress. Yes, it's great that you reviewed so you can prepare others for any pitfalls. I too have a larger relative waist and would have hit the same 'wall' you did. Shame, b/c the dress' style is charming and you chose soft, feminine fabric. Sharing your pain, Lily
4/3/08 3:32 PM
Lorri said...
I think it looks nice. What if you made a jacket in somekind of print , then you wouldn't have to start over with the skirt.
4/3/08 3:36 PM
wvsher said...
Thanks for the review. I love your use of ribbon for a drawstring.
4/3/08 3:42 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Too bad this didn't work out for you -- it does look like an easy and quick pattern. Thanks for posting your review!
4/3/08 6:37 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I would like to see you "save" this dress. What about a thin shoulder pad? It seems to me that it would give the proportion needed. I liked the suggestion of a jacket as well. Put it on the back burner for a week and see if you like it better.
4/3/08 8:16 PM
mastdenman said...
I hope you can save the dress too. I like it.
4/3/08 10:13 PM
gotpeace91 said...
hooray, got the links fixed! Thank you for all the good suggestions. I have put the dress aside and am pondering them for a bit.
4/4/08 11:30 AM
bananaoil said...
I'm sorry this didn't work out for you. When I looked at the pattern, I recalled a similar pattern both my mother and I tried that didn't work for us either. In that case, the pattern envelope didn't say knits were exclusively required but a knit might have helped instead of the lightweight, soft challis my mom used but certainly not the quilting cotton I used. The problem with patterns like this is they're not drafted for a woman's figure. Perhaps the pattern companies are imagining these dresses being picked up by seventh graders in Home Ec because my fourteen year old body (read straight up and down) could have worked this type of dress just fine. That's just my take on the pattern from the envelope picture. I'd like to know: Did it have darts? Do you think another fabric would have been better? Was it uncomfortable to wear or just not attractive?Actually, since in the picture above I can only see the dress from the waist down, it doesn't look bad. But for so simple a style, maybe a bright and busy print would have given it some oomph. BTW I have made more mismatches of pattern and fabric than I can remember. That is, I believe, why there is the Goodwill. A well made dress may find just the right person to wear it.
4/4/08 11:32 AM
carolynw said...
Thanks for reviewing so that we can get a heads up - very helpful if we have this pattern
4/4/08 11:35 AM
gotpeace91 said...
bananaoil- there are no darts, you should be able to click on the pic for a full view, I also fixed the links so you can get a look at the side view which is my main complaint, it looks like i'm pregnant which i'm not. I've had the fabric so long that I don't know what it is but it's not cotton because it is a little heavier and drapier. I think it may be synthetic because it didn't take well to the iron. thanks
4/4/08 2:07 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I hope you can salvage the bottom for a skirt. I too liked your use of ribbon in the casing; its very attractive. Thanks for warning us with this review.
4/8/08 1:31 PM
kusine said...
It may not be the best dress, but I'm sure it will make a great skirt!
5/4/10 6:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 3105
photo
Review by Kath in ON on 6/2/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Serendipity Studio SDG-104 Emaline Skirt
photo
Review by brissmith on 6/6/13
Read Review

Butterick 4593 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Butterick 4593 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us