SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3833 (1960's Retro)

50 more reviews
Viewed 860 times 
Reviewed by:stitcheroo
photo

 
 
About stitcheroostar
NY USA
Member since: 2/1/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/08 5:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CShelley said...
Very cute dress - I bet the 60's party was fun. I too have found that Simplicity patterns have a HUGE amount of ease in them - don't know why they do it but they do. Wish they didn't!
4/5/08 6:28 PM
cabinbaby said...
I think that fabric is perfect for the dress. Great job. I have picked up and put down this pattern several times. I really like. Thank you for the very helpful review.
4/5/08 6:54 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute. I think that in the 60s ( I was a teenager....there was a lot more ease throught the hips than there is now...it was normal. You did a great job making the darts make it more 21st century. I remember this pattern when the original was out. I bought the pattern recently for old times sake.
4/5/08 7:08 PM
svetlana said...
I had a dress like this in the 60's!. It was hot lime green on top, navy on the bottom with navy and lime green pin . Very happenin'. You did a great job.
4/5/08 7:42 PM
Dmd4106 said...
This pattern is one of my all time favorites. You look very cute in yr dress! Cocktail/babyshower now that's my kind of shower! Luvin the shoes.
4/6/08 3:10 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress! I love the retro look and color. Completely understand the sizing thing. I'm working on a wadder review that had the same kind of issue.
4/6/08 11:26 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Too cute! I have this pattern and some brown/lime daisy print cotton; I'm just waiting for a baby shower/cocktail party invite!
4/6/08 12:18 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great looking dress!
4/7/08 11:56 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Charming little 60's dress and the teal cotton is a perfect fabric choice. Your zipper looks just great, and you look lovely in your dress. -Lily
4/7/08 7:55 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOO CUTE!!!!
4/12/08 11:08 AM
Laura O said...
You did a great job for someone relatively new to sewing! It's very flattering on you! I made mine in black and white and love it! It's so comfortable and cute at the same time. I think I'll dig my pattern out and make another one. And NO you're not the only one who has trouble with sizing. I'll be making mine a 10 instead of a 12.
6/3/08 3:58 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Fabulous dress! I love it and you have great style.
6/16/08 3:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 6459

photo
by: roadtotheh...

Review
No Pattern Used 2

photo
by: rosequartz

Review
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now