SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> 318 (European Knit Jacket)

Viewed 787 times 
Reviewed by:malrene
photo

 
 
About malrenestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 7/6/07
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/08 10:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Very sharp jacket! The seaming is really unique. Thanks for your review - I had never heard of this line of patterns.
4/6/08 11:22 PM
geeklite said...
Great looking jacket. I also had never heard of this line of patterns before these designs look more unique than the big pattern companies.
4/6/08 11:50 PM
xtreme1 said...
You've managed to make an interesting jacket look very pretty as well. Well done. It's got me interested in boiled wool.
4/7/08 0:45 AM
lynny said...
Wow, very smart looking jacket indeed. Thanks for the review and web address, boiled wool is very in and very warm - just heading into winter here in Australia so will be a good idea.
4/7/08 3:16 AM
goldesdottar said...
You're right - the back is especially nice, the whole jacket very effective. Out here in Oregon, felting wool is quite in the mode now, and this is a fabulous line of patterns you've introduced us to here. Thank-you so much.
4/7/08 3:27 AM
Athene said...
The jacket looks really nice - especially like the seam detailing you did. Thanks for the info on this pattern line.
4/7/08 6:26 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Your seam details make your jacket interesting. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/7/08 6:34 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wonderful jacket! I love designs with lots of contours and seams and this pattern line has my attention. Thanks for the review and the new pattern source. Your jacket looks both stylish and comfy!
4/7/08 6:52 AM
jent said...
I love the style of this jacket! Thanks for this review and link to the pattern site - there lots of great designs there!
4/7/08 7:13 AM
carolynw said...
Wow - this is one beautiful jacket - I just love it. You did a terrific job
4/7/08 8:41 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love this type of single layer, no facings tailoring! The varigated thread is perfect. I do have one observation though; you might want to use your iron along with a pressing ham and a clapper to shape the bust seams and to steam shrink the extra fabric along the hem for a nice clean edge.
4/7/08 9:59 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great jackets! Thanks for sharing this new-to-me pattern company. I liked many of the designs.
4/7/08 12:01 PM
Stitchcakes said...
I've done some boiled wool research myself, and most advice is to buy twice as much yardage of wool jersey as needed, although many types of wool are said to give success.
4/7/08 12:31 PM
Annette1 said...
As soon as I clicked on the pattern link and saw the back of the jacket, I thought, oh, I hope she includes a picture of the back. :o) I LOVE the back ... AND The front, for that matter. I had not known about this pattern company, so THANKS A LOT! (I mean that in a good/bad way.) The wool that you started with, was it a fairly loose weave? It sure did felt up nice, or whatever they call it. I have LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS of patterns, so many it impedes my decision-making, yet I rarely say something is a "must have." THIS, though, has made the short list. Thanks for the great review.
4/7/08 5:27 PM
KathySews said...
This is a beautiful jacket. I love the back. Thanks so much for introducing this pattern line.
4/7/08 9:43 PM
moushka said...
Smashing jacket! I hadn't heard of Trudy's patterns before - and I'm in Canada, lol! Thanks for introducing her to us; I'm sure I'm not the only one who is adding her pattern to their 'must sew' list. Sue
4/7/08 9:57 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Lovely jacket, just lovely. The variegated thread following the many seams is so stunning; and the many seams themselves just pop this jacket so marvelously. I like just as much your earlier version with the outward serger seams and don't think it looks inside out at all. Extremely flattering, Lily
4/8/08 8:57 AM
Sanibelle said...
What a sharp looking jacket. The variegated thread makes it especially special. :)
6/1/09 4:09 AM
Peggy L said...
Wonderful jacket! You did a great job. Thanks for introducing us to this line of patterns. Boiled wool is way too hot for Texas but I see some other patterns I would like to try.
6/1/09 9:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2011-115

photo
by: HawkeMorni...

Review