Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8390 (Very Easy Misses Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1533 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/08 4:26 PM
Last Updated:4/11/08 4:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
This top looks great and is very flattering! Congrats! Not hard to see why it's going to be a staple for you!
4/11/08 4:35 PM
nellc said...
This is a very flattering top, it definately has a little flair!
4/11/08 4:43 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow, this top looks great on you! I'm just drooling over the way the fabric drapes at the side gathers.
4/11/08 5:02 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great basic, that's not too basic. I can see why you see this as a staple pattern.
4/11/08 5:05 PM
nannykk said...
very flattering
4/11/08 5:08 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! That looks SOOO NICE!!!
4/11/08 6:42 PM
KathleenS said...
This was already on my wishlist but now it's a definite. It looks great!
4/11/08 6:56 PM
2BSewing said...
That's a perfect fit! You are right...it is very flattering on you. Thanks for the neckline tip.
4/11/08 7:34 PM
davin said...
Thanks for the encouragement on this one, which I do own. Did you take a Palmer/Pletch fitting course? I'm in Oregon occasionally, and would like to hear more about their courses! Thanks, Davin
4/11/08 9:20 PM
EveS said...
This DOES look like a pattern you could make over and over...putting it on my list. This looks great on you!
4/11/08 10:02 PM
jnamcd said...
oh man, I love this!! Great job!
4/11/08 10:18 PM
Betsybobbin said...
This looks wonderful on you! Makes me want to buy the pattern. Thanks for the tip re facings.
4/11/08 10:42 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Davin, I sent you a message re: Palmer/Pletsch. Yes take it!
4/11/08 11:28 PM
MareeAlison said...
Really nicely done. Thanks for the review.
4/12/08 0:34 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Wonderful top - you look fabulous!!!
4/12/08 1:36 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice top. It fits you perfectly. Thanks for the advice on construction. I have this pattern. Now I'm itching to make it.
4/12/08 6:53 AM
carolynw said...
Like the top - will get the pattern
4/12/08 9:01 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very chic top, you look terrific!
4/12/08 9:19 AM
Modiste Madness said...
That looks wonderful on you.
4/12/08 10:04 AM
loohoo44 said...
This fits you perfectly! So flattering.
4/12/08 12:24 PM
Nancy K said...
It looks lovely on you and I have to agree almost all the Vogue knit top patterns I have seen.need rethinking. They call for knits, but they certainly don't use modern techniques for sewing them. The exceptions are Sandra Betzina's tops and the new Marci Tilton knit top. Time for the big 4 to change their instructions!
4/12/08 12:31 PM
dollieo said...
Very nice.
4/12/08 6:20 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This looks really nice on you! I'll have to pick this pattern up, next time Vogue is on sale. Thanks for all the tips on the instructions.
4/13/08 2:09 AM
Sew4Fun said...
This is such a flattering top on you! The fit looks great too.
4/13/08 3:42 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
The fit is great on this very pretty and flattering top, Cindy. I love the side gathers and the curving of the opposite hemline; very chic. Black jersey was a good choice, too. Lovely, Lily
4/14/08 4:59 PM
Blooms said...
Fab top...you look great!
4/14/08 9:44 PM
SewTwin said...
OK,OK..I am finally going to get this pattern..You must have the best fabric for this pattern..They "neeeed" your pic to sell this pattern!Bravo on the color, and style..I double the point on the facings..That is my goal on most patterns, to have factory shortcuts..Life is too short, and I have waay too much fabric to waste time on ugly/uneeded facings...
4/17/08 6:50 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely top!
4/30/08 4:37 PM
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! and great tips on omitting the facings...
6/3/11 9:10 PM
sewituprachel said...
Okay, first I have to say I always get excited when I see you've made something I'm interested in making because you 1. sew so well and your garments always look great and 2. your reviews are very helpful. I was reading the other reviews and nailed down that I'd remove the facing but since I haven't bought the pattern yet wasn't sure how I'd do that. Once I go to sew this top I'll look your review up again and go step by step. BY THE WAY, start a blog. I'd read it. Rachel designrefinebemine.blogspot.com
1/26/12 8:43 AM
Sassy T said...
Gorgeous top.
1/28/12 3:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8632 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by Jocelot on 6/15/10
Read Review

Burda 8373 Pattern
Burda 8373 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6714 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6714 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

By Hand London Victoria Blazer
photo
Review by Lindablue on 4/14/14
Read Review

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us