SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 45793-1002 (Fluff Zapper Brief)

Viewed 794 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/08 9:33 PM
Last Updated:4/12/08 8:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
I'm totally fascinated by the briefs you made. I think they are absolutely wonderful. The no binding finishes equals no panty lines is what I really like. I'm making myself a photocopy of your review so that I can try this one day. And the fact that by putting the circular patch of powernet on one side was successful in eliminating the fluff there is pure genius. I have one question - is Powernet a specific brand name for the fabric you used or is Powernet a generic name for a specific type of lingerie fabric?
4/12/08 11:04 PM
sewbehind said...
This is ingenious and you sure can tell the difference between the before FZ and after FZ photos. Well done. I do have one question, however. The base of the panty pattern appears to be made of a different fabric than the powernet? Is this correct? I wasn't quite clear on that. I can see some well placed powernet polka dotted undergarments in my future.
4/12/08 11:20 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for your kind comments. Athene, I believe Powernet is a generic name for a type of lycra fabric with a mesh like weave. It is often used in making underwear such as girdles, and there are several different types with varying degrees of stretch. The fabric I used has a moderate degree of four way stretch, but the horizontal stretch is somewhat greater than the vertical. Here is a close up photo and description of a Powernet fabric similar to the one I used. http://www.duckol.com/Wholesale_p/Powernet-Fabric-223004.htm Sewbehind, the entire garment is made of one type of Powernet fabric. Before I took my pictures, I placed a couple of sheets of white paper towel between the front and back sides of the briefs so you could see the structure of the garment more clearly. Sorry if this created any confusion. The crotch is also made of Powernet, but it is lined with black cotton knit.
4/13/08 3:28 AM
Sew4Fun said...
How ingenious, and what a difference they make! I would never have believed it without seeing the photos as proof. :)
4/13/08 3:29 AM
CSM--Carla said...
BRILLIANT, Nancy!!! This is a very through review that I can see following if I make a panty. I love the idea of NO elastic. Does this garment ever tend to roll up or down on you since there is no elastic to stabilize the edges when you sit or move? If not--why do you think this works? (I have never used power net myself--only remembering from the girdles we wore in junior high--LOL!!!!! Thanks for this great review, Nancy! Carla
4/13/08 9:02 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a smart lady you are to have figured this one out. Love it and there certainly is a difference.
4/13/08 11:03 AM
nancy2001 said...
Carla, I finished this brief only yesterday, but so far it seems to be staying put about as well as conventional panties. As far as why this works, I can only speculate that the entire garment is acting like a very wide band of elastic which hugs the body evenly with a minimal amount of pressure. So when the body moves, the brief moves along with it. I think the key to this is having exactly the right fit, neither too loose, nor too tight, as well as getting the right type of Powernet. I'll try to post a closeup of my fabric later today. It's also important to cut the briefs correctly -- the leg opening leads to be low enough to prevent fluff bulges, if you have them. Also if you don't have a great fitting pair of panties to copy, it might take several tries to get the right fit. But when these FZ briefs fit correctly, there's an imperceptable boundary between the covered and uncovered parts of the body -- no muffin top spillover. You would think the undergarment industry would have offered something like this by now. My guess is they'd be afraid to sell something so unfinished looking. But Powernet is extremely stable -- I could tug on it all afternoon and it still wouldn't unravel. So the elastic and bindings we're so used to seeing are purely decorative. But in fact, they're counterproductive because they lead to unnecessary lines and bulges.
4/13/08 11:50 AM
sewbehind said...
Actually, Nancy, the lingerie industry sells some very unfinished looking undies. Try looking at some Commando thongs. There is hardly anything there at all. Now, they wouldn't give you the hip fluff control that yours would. I didn't know there were two different types of powernet. I got some for doing the fronts of my pants to give some control there. It is like a girdle. It comes in pretty basic colours. Will look forward to what you show on this review, Nancy. Well done!
4/13/08 12:07 PM
nancy2001 said...
Sewbehind, I just went to the Commando website, and you're absolutely right -- it looks like they've done away with all the elastic bindings though they're obviously not using Powernet. But it's still surprising that no one came up with this simple idea ten or twenty years ago. I mean Powernet's been around as long as I can remember.
4/13/08 1:07 PM
Athene said...
Nancy thank you for the powernet link. I have a good idea now of what the fabric looks like.
4/13/08 2:40 PM
nancy2001 said...
Sewbehind, I took a few close up shots of the Powernet this afternoon, but none of them were even remotely clear. The problem may be with my digital camera. It's not really intended for such tight close ups. But when I pulled the camera back slightly, I lost all the detail. Spandex World sells Powernet for $6 a yard . I'm not sure what this particular fabric is like but I'm planning to order a free sample from their website. I'll let you know.
4/13/08 6:52 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ingenious solution, Nancy. You really thought about the stretch and how best to place it to accomplish your need. This has me thinking a bit more about foundation garments and their importance. Thank you for this thought provoking review. -Lily
4/14/08 6:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now