SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3690 (easy chic)

9 more reviews
Viewed 348 times 
Reviewed by:lynda828
photo

 
 
About lynda828
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/08 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/23/08 8:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
geeklite said...
Congratulations on your first review! I think the top is cute and you have a great attitude about your skills improving the next time around.
4/23/08 10:54 PM
Athene said...
The top looks very nice and thank you for the review. Look forward to reading more of your reviews in the future.
4/23/08 11:10 PM
Gelbean said...
Great shirt. I love the sleeves. It looks very comfortable.
4/24/08 3:25 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Gorgeous! I gotta buy that pattern!
4/24/08 4:33 AM
ITAdmin said...
Very nice shirt. I think the style looks good on you.
4/24/08 7:42 AM
BeeBeeSew said...
I think you did a lovely job on the top and it's a very flattering style. GREAT job on the pintucks! I disagree with your "better suited to smaller people", I think it just looks too big. Can you take in the princess seams and the side seams a little more? Even the shoulders look a little wide and the sleeve band a bit big. Maybe it's the photo angle, but it even looks long. If you pull in the side/princess seams some at the waist you'll loose ten pounds visually. I suspect you would have gotten a better fit by going down a size (or maybe 2?). I have this pattern, and am taking notes, LOL. Maybe that's why all the pattern pics have the vest over it? Please don't take this negatively, what I mean is it ISN'T you, it's the pattern. Your work is very nice and the style does suit you, it just isn't an easy fitting pattern. If you really do like it, you might want to treat this as a true muslin and mark/cut it up more to make it fit you better for a drop 'em dead dinner blouse.
4/24/08 8:04 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Nice to know my help worked! I think this blouse came out great, although I do agree w/ BeeBee that it's a tad long and the shoulders could be narrowed a bit. Your workmanship is exquisite - I could never do those pintucks as well as you! They look totally awesome and make this blouse very RTW. Oh, almost forgot - congrats on your first review! and it's a really helpful one too.
4/24/08 11:50 AM
cecelia said...
Congratulations on your 1st review, and nice job on your blouse. Like "Lucky" and "Bee" I think it's just a little too long, and you could narrow the shoulders. Your next one should be perfect. Enjoy this comfortable shirt!
4/26/08 11:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6176

photo
by: Zoomitron

Review
McCall's 6612

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now