Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-125 (Blouse with pleated sleeves) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 733 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Peacock Chic
photo
Friend of PR
About Peacock Chicstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/08 11:31 PM
Last Updated:4/26/08 0:42 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
amacord said...
pretty pretty!!!
4/25/08 11:34 PM
lynda828 said...
Wow I love the detail on your shirt it looks very high end fashion you've done a beautiful job definitely worth the pain LOL I think I'll have to get a subscription to Burda Mag.
4/26/08 1:26 AM
DivaQ said...
This is a very pretty blouse and you've done a great job on it! The pintucks on the sleeves are beautiful, and your great sewing skill is most evident! The color is very nice! I really like it!
4/26/08 1:35 AM
inkstain said...
Gorgeous colour and good review. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it. Stretch fabric is always a bit more difficult to finish, I think. Thanks
4/26/08 3:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Fabulous! The sleeve caps difficulties probably came from some ease being built-in (not necessary, see fashion-incubator, but we get it all the same). And this fabric is completely unforgiving and can't ease at all. But you did a great job, and the results are well worth it!
4/26/08 3:57 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I love the way it looks on you! This shirt appeared to me as a "weired shirt" in the magazine photo but you totally changed how I think about it, thanks for the review!
4/26/08 7:18 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Sumptuous color! Your pretty blave using a slippery and stretch satin for your second blouse.
4/26/08 7:59 AM
utz said...
Beautiful blouse; color fantastic. Loved your discussion on the blog! Great launch into BWOF!
4/26/08 8:13 AM
Sic said...
Lovely!
4/26/08 8:20 AM
Dei said...
Too much gorgeous-ness to look at! Absolutely love this! It looks as if you you sailed through this blouse with ease, not a hitch.
4/26/08 9:29 AM
MissCelie said...
This shirt has been on my 'to sew' list for so long. It's gorgeous in this color.
4/26/08 10:42 AM
Mahler said...
Very nice color, very good post on your blog !
4/26/08 11:14 AM
KrystalL said...
I love this blouse! You did a wonderful job!
4/26/08 11:28 AM
Sheila457 said...
Gorgeous blouse.
4/26/08 11:51 AM
SansSouci572 said...
OH, the copper is just gorgeous! This blouse has a casual elegance to it.
4/26/08 3:05 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That looks amazing!!!! Great job!!! I can't believe that this is your first Burda!!!! WOW!!!!!
4/26/08 5:26 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congratulations - I haven't started this one yet because the instructions just weren't making sense to me. Yours is absolutely gorgeous, love the color and all the detail. Beautiful.
4/26/08 6:55 PM
bananaoil said...
Congratulations on your first BWOF garment. The color looks beautiful on you also.
4/26/08 8:00 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great job on your blouse. You look outstanding in it.
4/26/08 10:43 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You made the best fabric and color choices for your blouse. Combined with all the pattern details, your blouse looks so rich and luxurious.
4/27/08 0:06 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is on my list too, love your version. You are very brave using this difficult fabric on your second ever blouse, but the results are fantastic!
4/27/08 0:14 AM
Peacock Chic said...
Thanks everyone for the wonderful compliments!
4/27/08 9:18 PM
wanderlustor said...
Hot, hot, hot!
4/28/08 11:41 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Wow, killer chic! While stunning, those sleeve pleats must have been maddening to effect on this notoriously uncooperative fabric. You just nailed it! And can't begin to tell you how beautiful you look in this color. Lovely, Lily
4/28/08 12:54 PM
jnamcd said...
Looks AWESOME on you!!
4/28/08 10:14 PM
Huldra said...
Beautiful shirt, and gorgeous colour!
5/5/08 9:21 AM
kim*brown said...
Gorgeous!
6/9/08 2:27 PM
kittybaroque said...
WoW, you did an amazing job, looks FABULOUS* I hadn't thought of doing it in this style of fabric and am now TOTALLY inspired, the color is DIVINE*
6/29/08 0:33 AM
Memorii said...
I love your version of the shirt! never would have thought of making it in satin.
7/3/08 0:33 AM
Birgitte said...
Your blouse is beautiful. And thank you for mentioning the excess sleeve ease, just what I found as well. Thanks to you I decided to go with my own sleeve draft.
7/20/08 8:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Kwik Sew 2732
photo
Review by sassyseams... on 12/4/11
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-131
photo
Review by sky on 1/31/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us