SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3282 (Handbag)

5 more reviews
Viewed 501 times 
Reviewed by:Sweetiebop
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sweetiebopstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 1/31/07
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/08 7:18 PM
Last Updated:4/29/08 3:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sweetiebop said...
SoSo, I cut the pattern exactly as instructed except I used the twill and I cut two strips of contrasting twil fabric the same height as the bag and pressed in the edges lenght wise and then I topstitched them both to the front and back of the bag. Since I have been carrying D&B bags for 5 years now I have gotten use to rolled handles so I cut the handles in the blue twill to length of the pattern piece but added a rounded bottom on each end of the handle. After stitching the handle together lengthwise stopping and 1 1/2 from the rounded end I turned them and them stuffed them with cording thus my rounded straps. I turn under the raw edges of the handles and topstitched them to the bag. I also used a finer gauge buckram to give the purse more shape on the sides. The zipper was added to a 4 piece construction which adjoined to the bottom section of the purse. You noticed the gold on the outside that was to coordinate with the gold button on my jeans in the contest. Hope I explained the construction better for you.
5/25/08 9:57 PM
SoSo said...
I'd like to see more info in the construction technique--size needle, lining, interior, zip on top? Looks lovely.
5/25/08 3:11 PM
AnneM said...
That is sooo cute. Personally, I think yours looks nicer than the bag that inspired you. Congratulations on your new purse.
5/8/08 8:15 PM
W said...
Yours came out much cuter than the pattern envelope! Nice.
5/5/08 5:25 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking bag, very distinctive.
5/1/08 4:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Very professional looking.
4/30/08 10:05 AM
Peggy L said...
Nice bag!
4/29/08 10:45 PM
DebJ said...
This bag looks so good, you did a great job. I just happen to have this pattern in my stash of purse patterns. You have given me some inspiration to try it!
4/29/08 8:31 PM
minggiddylooloo said...
Fabulous bag, great way to use an outside inspiration to create your own personalized bag.
4/29/08 5:59 PM
Kelroc said...
great bag!
4/28/08 6:20 PM
ColorMeHome said...
It would be great to see a larger photo of your bag. It looks really cute from the small pic.
4/28/08 3:24 PM
nicegirl said...
Very professional result!
4/28/08 11:03 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
I "third" what JMarie and lynda noted; this bag is too pretty not to see it in bigger detail. -Lily
4/28/08 8:19 AM
lynda828 said...
Yes I'd love to see it larger looks like a lot of work has gone into it
4/28/08 3:37 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Your thumbnail looks to be a very cute bag, but doesn't open to a full size photo. Also - can't find the pattern you're referencing. Is it Butterick, or some other brand? Would love to see a larger photo of your bag and the pattern! :)
4/28/08 2:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 2475

photo
by: Danmar

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now