SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3780 (1950s Retro dress and jacket)

8 more reviews
Viewed 950 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/08 10:55 AM
Last Updated:5/1/08 6:24 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
2 kewl!!! You carried out a vision and it looks fab on you:-)
5/1/08 7:29 PM
shesflipped said...
I am blown away by your creativity~a duvet cover! The dress is simply fabulous...A one-of-a-kind piece of art!
5/1/08 4:55 PM
Athene said...
Fantastic choice of fabric for this dress - You make me think of going to outdoor car shows on breezy summer days - you would be the Star there. Porsche should have you on the cover of their brochures - you look fantastic.
5/1/08 3:59 PM
Twinset said...
Your dress is pure fun! You make my day!
5/1/08 12:40 PM
CatMukai said...
hot!
5/1/08 10:58 AM
Mufffet said...
Simply SMASHING! Love this on you! Great use of something else for a dress...so youthful and really really designer.
5/1/08 10:57 AM
Lauri Jean said...
I won't look at a duvet the same way ever again! You rock.
5/1/08 10:21 AM
CSM--Carla said...
FUN dress! Great pictures! You look fabulous! Thanks for letting us in on it all!
5/1/08 10:05 AM
cindyann said...
What an amazing dress. Very clever use of your fabric. Cool use of recycled materials.
5/1/08 8:01 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Absolutely fabulous! Can I be you when I grow up?
5/1/08 7:30 AM
born2bead said...
How cool is this dress? Love, love, love retro fashions!
4/29/08 5:20 PM
snapdragonfly said...
simply stunning. this is recycling and restyling at it's best. Have a great summer, I am in UK too so good luck with the weather for us all. I love picnics.
4/29/08 8:39 AM
MichelleE said...
I am constantly amazed at the stuff you come up with! Very creative twist on this dress!
4/29/08 1:27 AM
mrs quickly said...
Never would I have thought to recycle or repurpose fabrics like you do. You design wonderfully creative and fun garments. Your dress is fun and funky and it fits so well. You have truly mastered fitting. Wear it with a smile!
4/28/08 11:11 PM
Mahler said...
This is super coool! Wow ! My son (who is 10 and a car lover) loves it too. ;-) I am happy to see that other recycle fabric as well. Great sewing project.
4/28/08 10:24 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your use of fabric pieces is fantastic - love this.
4/28/08 7:14 PM
Marji said...
That is just too much fun!
4/28/08 6:48 PM
lynda828 said...
Very cool dress - very clever use of fabric headlights!! LOL
4/28/08 6:29 PM
meli88a said...
Such a great fabric choice- I love it!
4/28/08 3:59 PM
CShelley said...
I am in awe of people like you who take risks and end up with phenomenal results. That dress rocks! Great job all around. Thanks for the enjoyable review.
4/28/08 3:23 PM
VictoriaR said...
Wow! Great choice of fabric!
4/28/08 2:21 PM
Luckylibbet said...
How fun! Excellent choices in matching the pattern to the fabric, and then the fabric to the pieces. Looks like lots of picnics in the future for this dress.
4/28/08 12:34 PM
cmarie12 said...
What an amazing use of a duvet cover! The dress is awesome!
4/28/08 12:32 PM
Dobedowawa said...
This dress is FABULOUS! The style / the fabric ........
4/28/08 12:28 PM
stitcheroo said...
Now, THAT's originality. Fantastic dress.
4/28/08 12:25 PM
Trenessa said...
This is a great dress!! I'm so impressed that this came from sheets!!! Very, very, cute :o)
4/28/08 12:02 PM
Peggy L said...
Fun, fun dress! You'll have so much fun wearing it this summer. Great review.
4/28/08 11:35 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
First, your photo is art worthy. Secondly, I almost fainted (with delight) when I saw your fabric and how you'd configured the various design features on your dress. Outstanding! A bit of glamour, a bit of kitsch. Extraordinary, Lily
4/28/08 11:25 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is just fabulous! What fun fabric, and perfectly vintage. I have this pattern - thanks or the details about the bust design.
4/28/08 11:15 AM
SewingSusan said...
Wow. This is fabulous and what a great choice of fabric!! Enjoy your picnics, you'll be stunning.
4/28/08 10:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now