SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3780 (1950s Retro dress and jacket)

8 more reviews
Viewed 949 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/08 10:55 AM
Last Updated:5/1/08 6:24 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingSusan said...
Wow. This is fabulous and what a great choice of fabric!! Enjoy your picnics, you'll be stunning.
4/28/08 10:59 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is just fabulous! What fun fabric, and perfectly vintage. I have this pattern - thanks or the details about the bust design.
4/28/08 11:15 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
First, your photo is art worthy. Secondly, I almost fainted (with delight) when I saw your fabric and how you'd configured the various design features on your dress. Outstanding! A bit of glamour, a bit of kitsch. Extraordinary, Lily
4/28/08 11:25 AM
Peggy L said...
Fun, fun dress! You'll have so much fun wearing it this summer. Great review.
4/28/08 11:35 AM
Trenessa said...
This is a great dress!! I'm so impressed that this came from sheets!!! Very, very, cute :o)
4/28/08 12:02 PM
stitcheroo said...
Now, THAT's originality. Fantastic dress.
4/28/08 12:25 PM
Dobedowawa said...
This dress is FABULOUS! The style / the fabric ........
4/28/08 12:28 PM
cmarie12 said...
What an amazing use of a duvet cover! The dress is awesome!
4/28/08 12:32 PM
Luckylibbet said...
How fun! Excellent choices in matching the pattern to the fabric, and then the fabric to the pieces. Looks like lots of picnics in the future for this dress.
4/28/08 12:34 PM
VictoriaR said...
Wow! Great choice of fabric!
4/28/08 2:21 PM
CShelley said...
I am in awe of people like you who take risks and end up with phenomenal results. That dress rocks! Great job all around. Thanks for the enjoyable review.
4/28/08 3:23 PM
meli88a said...
Such a great fabric choice- I love it!
4/28/08 3:59 PM
lynda828 said...
Very cool dress - very clever use of fabric headlights!! LOL
4/28/08 6:29 PM
Marji said...
That is just too much fun!
4/28/08 6:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your use of fabric pieces is fantastic - love this.
4/28/08 7:14 PM
Mahler said...
This is super coool! Wow ! My son (who is 10 and a car lover) loves it too. ;-) I am happy to see that other recycle fabric as well. Great sewing project.
4/28/08 10:24 PM
mrs quickly said...
Never would I have thought to recycle or repurpose fabrics like you do. You design wonderfully creative and fun garments. Your dress is fun and funky and it fits so well. You have truly mastered fitting. Wear it with a smile!
4/28/08 11:11 PM
MichelleE said...
I am constantly amazed at the stuff you come up with! Very creative twist on this dress!
4/29/08 1:27 AM
snapdragonfly said...
simply stunning. this is recycling and restyling at it's best. Have a great summer, I am in UK too so good luck with the weather for us all. I love picnics.
4/29/08 8:39 AM
born2bead said...
How cool is this dress? Love, love, love retro fashions!
4/29/08 5:20 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Absolutely fabulous! Can I be you when I grow up?
5/1/08 7:30 AM
cindyann said...
What an amazing dress. Very clever use of your fabric. Cool use of recycled materials.
5/1/08 8:01 AM
CSM--Carla said...
FUN dress! Great pictures! You look fabulous! Thanks for letting us in on it all!
5/1/08 10:05 AM
Lauri Jean said...
I won't look at a duvet the same way ever again! You rock.
5/1/08 10:21 AM
Mufffet said...
Simply SMASHING! Love this on you! Great use of something else for a dress...so youthful and really really designer.
5/1/08 10:57 AM
CatMukai said...
hot!
5/1/08 10:58 AM
Twinset said...
Your dress is pure fun! You make my day!
5/1/08 12:40 PM
Athene said...
Fantastic choice of fabric for this dress - You make me think of going to outdoor car shows on breezy summer days - you would be the Star there. Porsche should have you on the cover of their brochures - you look fantastic.
5/1/08 3:59 PM
shesflipped said...
I am blown away by your creativity~a duvet cover! The dress is simply fabulous...A one-of-a-kind piece of art!
5/1/08 4:55 PM
bunz said...
2 kewl!!! You carried out a vision and it looks fab on you:-)
5/1/08 7:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now