SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 20294-1002 (Silk and lace heaven)

Viewed 2641 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/08 7:26 PM
Last Updated:4/30/08 7:26 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 33 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
This is beautiful beyond words. What a special dress that your daughter will surely treasure forever. Thanks for the detailed review. Just fantastic!
4/30/08 7:46 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Wow this is amazing........your daughter is a lucky one! It is fun to follow your construction process, so much informations there, thanks for the review, can't wait to see the picture on your daughter!
4/30/08 7:48 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on the dress. I like the shoulder bows being slightly forward; it is a very nice detail. I'm definitely not thinking I would want to tackle a dress like that at this point (not to mention that I don't have any reason to have a dress like that).
4/30/08 7:53 PM
Kay Y said...
Another stunning project from you! Beautiful dress - I too would love to see a picture of your daughter wearing it...
4/30/08 8:20 PM
LindsayT said...
Omigosh, omigosh, omigosh, this is stunning!! I just made my own teen DD come and look at it. Her words: "That dress is so cool!" Well done, Birgitte!
4/30/08 8:47 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Looking at this beautiful dress we can all tell you are an advanced sewer. How beautiful and there are so many beautiful details to make it special. I'm sure your daughter will love it.
4/30/08 8:50 PM
Tiner W said...
This is stunning! I'm speechless!
4/30/08 8:54 PM
Jill Giard said...
Just gorgeous! What a masterpiece!
4/30/08 9:17 PM
Nancy K said...
What an incredible dress! Your dd is a very lucky girl!
4/30/08 9:24 PM
AmyABQ said...
WOW WOW WOW!!!!! What a labor of love, talent and wonderful memories for both you and your daughter. The dress needs to be preserved and passed down.
4/30/08 9:30 PM
Gelbean said...
This dress is gorgeous. Your dd has great taste and you have great talent and vision. Fantastic job!
4/30/08 10:16 PM
Mahler said...
Oh la la ! This is another piece of art coming from your sewing room. This dress is impressive by it's beauty. It also triggers admiration for all the love and worked put in it. Congratulations !
4/30/08 10:22 PM
cindy-lou said...
Seeing your dress made my jaw drop. BEAUTIFUL! Those folks with dresses in the FIT museum have got nothin' on you. Seriously... beautiful beyond words.
4/30/08 11:27 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Absolutely beautiful!!!
4/30/08 11:37 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely, positively STUNNING!!! Good luck in the contest.
5/1/08 1:19 AM
Erica B. said...
That dress is absolutely exquisite!
5/1/08 1:56 AM
Athene said...
Oh my goodness - this dress is so fabulous - a true fantasy dress for your DD. Loved your review and all the pictures and details of the construction process.
5/1/08 4:36 AM
KathleenS said...
How did you make this in 8 days?!! It's gorgeous. What is your daughter planning to wear it for?
5/1/08 7:08 AM
ITAdmin said...
You've created a wonderful dress. Your family is indeed fortunate to have you to sew for them. Looking forward to seeing pictures of this on the "model."
5/1/08 7:37 AM
Clareew said...
WOW how fabulous, your daughter is a very lucky girl!
5/1/08 8:12 AM
cindyann said...
My goodness that's amazing. You have fantastic draping skills. I'm really impressed. Just really, really lovely.
5/1/08 8:22 AM
yummymummy38 said...
that dress is so couture! I saw it and thought Sabrina/Hepburn straight away. Gorgeous
5/1/08 10:03 AM
Luckylibbet said...
FANTASTIC - beyond words. Thanks for the link to your blog - wonderful photographic demos of the process.
5/1/08 12:22 PM
edupraz said...
So gorgeous! Your daughter has amazing taste to choose this dress design, and she has an amazing mom for creating the dress!
5/1/08 1:11 PM
Marji said...
This dress is a knock-out! Absolutely beautiful. I've really enjoyed watching the process as it's gone together - and you're right - this was FAST! Thank you for taking the time out to document the whole process and share it with us.
5/1/08 4:48 PM
Gold said...
That is so beautiful!!Great job!
5/1/08 6:46 PM
jhansby said...
Gorgeous!!
5/1/08 9:55 PM
solosmocker said...
Exquisite!
5/1/08 10:25 PM
poppyq said...
This is so fabulous!!!! An inspiration.
5/1/08 11:20 PM
Peggy L said...
Stunning!
5/2/08 11:11 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
There really are no words to describe how incredible the dress is Birgitte - amazing!!!! You're daughter is so blessed to have a mom like you!
5/2/08 12:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Enchanting and en-trancing! Your dress is a wonderful work of art! Thanks for sharing, Brigitte!
5/2/08 2:22 PM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful dress! Your daughter is lucky to have such a talented mother. :)
5/2/08 2:48 PM
Nancywin said...
Your dress is gorgeous, Birgitta! a crinoline is an underskirt made from crinoline fabric (I used to be a "Rainbow Girl" and this was part of what we wore to special events.) Usually, a crinoline is used in place of a hoop skirt. They also oftentimes have an under or upper layer of tulle. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress! Of course, I would expect nothing less of you ;-)
5/3/08 4:04 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your daughter's stunning dress is nothing short of awe-inspiring. It is perfection in its purpose, construction, and artistic outcome. A couture piece every bit capable of carrying the Sabrina fantasy within it. Stunningly lovely, Lily
5/4/08 7:09 PM
Catbird said...
My head is still swirling with inspiration from your wonderful Bluemarine coat copy, and now this!! It is so exquisite. I love your reviews and your go-for-it attitude. Can't wait to see more of your work. Thank you!
5/4/08 8:08 PM
pterion said...
An absolute work of art. I am certain that your daughter looks stunning in this dress. And your review is wonderful.
5/4/08 11:04 PM
Marji said...
Well, I just thought I'd let you know that you got the College Freshman stamp of approval at this household too. Dsd is home and just looked through the pictures and can't stop saying how cute it is. "Cute" being the current vocab word for lovely.
5/6/08 4:16 PM
EveS said...
I could ramble on and on, but I think "Wow!" best captures my thoughts on this dress. DD has fabulous taste and DM has impeccable interpretive skills. Great job!
5/9/08 9:48 PM
ryan's mom said...
This dress is really beautiful! So lovely!!
5/10/08 8:50 AM
nancy2001 said...
I love this dress. It's very, very Audrey. And congratulations on winning the contest.
5/11/08 11:42 AM
marbroy said...
I am awestruck by your dress. My formal days are over for my girls now, but I emailed it to all of them anyway. Just awesome work. Congratulations on winning the contest. Well deserved.
5/14/08 7:28 PM
Mufffet said...
This is simple beautiful....words fail. Lovely...I love the movie, the actress and your dress!
5/20/08 8:45 AM
catsmeow said...
What an absolutely lovely dress! One would feel like a beautiful princess wearing it. This dress would be something to treasure all of one's life. Thank you for all the work of making it and writing to us about it!
5/20/08 9:08 AM
elka78k said...
awesome job, and in 8 days! Wow! I am still very confused on the 'attached the crinoline fabric to the lining'. Is the result that you can't see the netting at all? If not, then what's the point? Could you perhaps post a picture of the finished dress from down below to see all the layers? Thanks much!
5/20/08 10:38 AM
buckshot said...
I really enjoyed your explaination and pictures, I am looking forward to your next project,
5/20/08 10:56 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Really really really great!!! Thanks for sharing with us!
5/20/08 1:03 PM
leeannz said...
this is the most gorgeous dress...the color is glorious. I'm sure she looked stunning!
5/23/08 3:24 PM
sewmytime said...
This has to be one of the most amazing dresses ever....Kudos
7/8/08 8:59 PM
moushka said...
Without a doubt, one of the most beautiful dresses I've ever seen! Are you sure you weren't a fashion designer in another life? Birgitte, I don't know how you are going to top this! It's stunning. DD is such a lucky girl. Hope you're still posting on PR when she gets married ;-)
9/1/08 2:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 4076

photo
by: SueT

Review
Butterick B4147

photo
by: MissGibbs

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now