Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 968 (Jeans, Low-waist) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 3400 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/03 1:54 AM
Last Updated:1/26/04 8:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Cute pattern... how did you like the instructions?
6/16/03 3:09 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Karla, is the original pattern for low-waisted jeans, or does it sit at the natural waistline? BTW, I clicked on the Jalie website link and was surprised to see that they have a link to PR!
6/16/03 5:58 AM
Dale C said...
That's a great idea for the back waistline. I'll have to try that one. I have the highwaist jeans pattern but haven't yet tried to make it up yet. Looking forward to doing it now.
6/16/03 6:16 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Pam, I don't think I looked at the instructions, so I can't comment on that. I kept a couple pairs of RTW jeans next to me while I sewed, and used their construction as a guide. Rhonda, the pattern is designed to have a slightly low-riding waist; the waistband is longer than the waist measurement for each size, making it right for the high abdomen. Dale, I hope you have the same good experience with your jeans pattern that I had with this one.
6/16/03 9:26 AM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
Karla, Is this pattern the "low waisted boot cut pants"? Also where did you get the denim. I also have a college age DD who just told me that maybe I could make a pair, but that I wouldn't be able to find the right type of denim (errr).
6/16/03 12:25 PM
Diane E said...
Karla, I am so glad to read your review. I just bought this pattern from Julie at Timmel Fabrics, and I eagerly await its arrival. I am even more excited now that I've read of your success. Thanks. p.s. I love your writing style, signed, a fan....
6/16/03 6:20 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Rose, that's the right pattern. I don't know why they describe it as "boot-cut" in one place and "straight-leg" in another...same pattern. The denim IS a problem. I don't pass a fabric store now without checking out the denim. But this pattern would also work in twill and corduroy, so your "muslin" could be a pair of khakis instead of blue denim. Diane, I'm making you president of my fan club ;-). Communicating with the membership shouldn't be a problem; look in the mirror. I'm relieved that someone can follow my "stream-of-consciousness" writing style. Thanks!
6/16/03 10:15 PM
Mel.J said...
Karla, your review is very entertaining! (Brought a smile to my face.) Good luck with the 3" zipper style that has been popular... do you shut your eyes when your daughter leaves the house wearing something like that & remember your own parents?
6/17/03 2:40 AM
Deepika said...
Karla isnt it great when you make something for someone and not only does it fit but they like it too! Thanks for such a wonderful review. I havent tried any of Jalie's patterns but I am really tempted to now! And please count me in as one of your fans too!!!!
6/17/03 9:40 AM
Peggy L said...
We're going to nominate you "Mother of the Year"! I've made the thongs but I'm passing on the jeans! Great review.
6/17/03 5:22 PM
Tessa said...
Karla, encouraged by this review I just got this pattern for myself (I DON'T want my underwear showing!). Did you use the size that corresponds to your daughter's actual hip measurement? My hips are 40", so that would be between size W and X. I see the pattern says there is only 3/4" ease on the hips, so that is quite fitted - is that what you found? I don't mind fitted, but I do want to be able to get them on and still sit down!!
7/3/03 1:30 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Tessa, because I was making shorts, not jeans, I wanted them to have just a little more ease than a jeans-fit would have. For my daughter whose hips (this month) are exactly the W size, I used a W front and an X back. (I am nothing, if not inconsistent...) To make the side seams the same length, I used a generous seam allowance to attach the yoke and the pants back. If I were making jeans , I'd have used W for both the front and back. If you are not certain how snug you'll want these, you could cut the larger size and just use a larger side seam allowance if you feel the fit is too generous. At least, that's what I'm going to do when I try making these for myself.
7/3/03 9:45 PM
els said...
Hi Karla I love your writing, very clear and with some humor which makes me smile , count me in as another fan.
7/3/03 10:04 PM
Tessa said...
Thanks, Kayla. I think I'll start with size X. It'll be easier to take in than let out, especially with only 3/8" for seam allowance.
7/4/03 1:02 AM
Tessa said...
Jeez, sorry Karla. I should have checked I had your name right before I hit "submit."
7/4/03 1:04 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I just ordered these in the wazoodle sale. Thanks for the insight!
12/1/03 4:10 PM
Linda E. said...
cute shorts.. like them.
1/26/04 9:02 PM
CarrieA said...
Karla, I love your reviews, that's why you're one of my "favorites"!
1/26/04 9:37 PM
jlg said...
Karla, your shorts are very nice looking. Your work is very professional.
1/27/04 5:22 AM
Deepika said...
Karla that ribbon does make the shorts look very designer. And by the way they can fool not only non sewers but sewers like me too! Great job. Your daughter sure is lucky.
1/27/04 6:33 AM
sewgirl said...
If you wanted to further lower the rise, do you simply cut the top of the pants lower than the pattern calls for? The, how do you adapt the waistband to fit the new line? Excellent detail with that little ribbon. May I steal your idea?
1/27/04 10:45 AM
Dale C said...
I like that little "designer" detail... I still haven't gotten a pair of jalie jeans made.Have to get to it after seeing how great yours are coming out.
1/27/04 1:11 PM
Karla Kizer said...
"If you wanted to further lower the rise, do you simply cut the top of the pants lower than the pattern calls for?" When Laura tried on the first pair of Jalie-jeans-adapted-to-shorts, I was very pleased with the fit; she was NOT pleased with the "high" waist. The shorts fit so well, that all I had to do was draw a line about 1-1/4" below the orginal seam line. When I measured the new top of the jeans, the measurement came in at exactly what her RTW pants always measure. One word of caution: with a back yoke, there is a limit to how low you can cut the pants. Laura has several pairs of jeans that have back yokes that measure only 3/4" along the side seam (that's from the waistband to the bottom of the yoke along the side seam. That's as far as I dared lower the waistband. If you decide todothis, try what some RTW manufacturers do: sew the yoke to the pants back and turn the seam allowances DOWN toward the pants before topstitching. It minimizes the effect of the tiny, shortened back yoke. And thanks for the compliments, everyone. I love your encouragement!
1/27/04 7:19 PM
Melissa S. said...
I have this pattern and it never occurred to me to turn it into shorts! I will definitely try that. Thanks for the waistband tips also--like your daughter, I too have a sway-back.
6/26/04 2:35 PM
Elle D said...
Wow, your shorts and review make me want to buy this pattern, this fabric, that little bit of ribbon, and slavishly follow your directions. Count me as another member of your fan club.
1/14/08 11:33 AM
ghijsmom said...
Wow! Those shorts look great!
5/10/13 1:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5430
photo
Review by Bonnie O on 6/22/07
Read Review

Butterick 5889 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5889 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2325 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2325 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1161 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 10/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us