Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5529 (Woman's Day Collection) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 698 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/08 10:46 PM
Last Updated:5/5/08 10:46 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
I like the jacket Lisa - I wonder if using a less contrasting and narrower belt may make you feel better about it?
5/6/08 8:41 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I tried the sash; part of the reason for the wide belt is that it hides the seam better. (which is lowish in front and highish in back). Plus the more structured belt holds it together better. But if I put a hook on the front somehow, I might get away with the sash; it also didn't help that the waistband on the jeans I'm wearing in that photo hit just below the waistline seam on the jacket. But I really don't feel *bad* about it...just not *wonderful* ;)
5/6/08 8:46 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Your shape is just fine for this jacket. I think you've done a wonderful job throwing this on over jeans and accessorizing with a black belt.
5/6/08 9:23 AM
Barbara V said...
I agree with Busy Mom....this jacket suits your body type and looks fantastic with jeans. Also the chunky wide belt works with this jacket and looks good on you!
5/6/08 10:38 AM
wvsher said...
I think it looks very nice on you, and it's a snazzy looking jacket. Thanks for the review!
5/6/08 12:20 PM
ggexpansive said...
hi,i like it. i have got a question on the pattern envelop it looked like this could be a top or a jacket, having sewn it do you think so? also i think it would look nice with a lower tank style in red with a red belt and pumps, but thats me:)
5/6/08 7:54 PM
Lisa Laree said...
It could be a top, but it doesn't have any fastening...it just wraps and is held in place by a belt or sash. But it's unstructured enough that it seems to be more of a shirt-jacket than a real coat. (and I like the idea of wearing it with red...now I need a red belt ;) )
5/6/08 8:47 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I think it looks great. I really love the fabric and it suits the style very well.
5/7/08 11:34 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
I've had my eye on this jacket pattern for some time, wondering whether it would suit my body type. Your photo encourages me and I might need to take the plunge. I think it's prettier on you than you realize. -Lily
5/8/08 11:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Hollywood 1787
photo
Review by Nick D on 9/13/11
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Maychi on 3/15/09
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us