SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5529 (Woman's Day Collection)

11 more reviews
Viewed 701 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/08 10:46 PM
Last Updated:5/5/08 10:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
I've had my eye on this jacket pattern for some time, wondering whether it would suit my body type. Your photo encourages me and I might need to take the plunge. I think it's prettier on you than you realize. -Lily
5/8/08 11:41 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I think it looks great. I really love the fabric and it suits the style very well.
5/7/08 11:34 AM
Lisa Laree said...
It could be a top, but it doesn't have any fastening...it just wraps and is held in place by a belt or sash. But it's unstructured enough that it seems to be more of a shirt-jacket than a real coat. (and I like the idea of wearing it with red...now I need a red belt ;) )
5/6/08 8:47 PM
ggexpansive said...
hi,i like it. i have got a question on the pattern envelop it looked like this could be a top or a jacket, having sewn it do you think so? also i think it would look nice with a lower tank style in red with a red belt and pumps, but thats me:)
5/6/08 7:54 PM
wvsher said...
I think it looks very nice on you, and it's a snazzy looking jacket. Thanks for the review!
5/6/08 12:20 PM
Barbara V said...
I agree with Busy Mom....this jacket suits your body type and looks fantastic with jeans. Also the chunky wide belt works with this jacket and looks good on you!
5/6/08 10:38 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Your shape is just fine for this jacket. I think you've done a wonderful job throwing this on over jeans and accessorizing with a black belt.
5/6/08 9:23 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I tried the sash; part of the reason for the wide belt is that it hides the seam better. (which is lowish in front and highish in back). Plus the more structured belt holds it together better. But if I put a hook on the front somehow, I might get away with the sash; it also didn't help that the waistband on the jeans I'm wearing in that photo hit just below the waistline seam on the jacket. But I really don't feel *bad* about it...just not *wonderful* ;)
5/6/08 8:46 AM
carolynw said...
I like the jacket Lisa - I wonder if using a less contrasting and narrower belt may make you feel better about it?
5/6/08 8:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 5007

photo
by: MrsC NZ

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

More Info