SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 03-2008-11 (Summer short pants aka DOH!!!!)

7 more reviews
Viewed 414 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/08 8:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
quiltsammon said...
Haha! Haven't we all done something like this? Struggled through a pattern, it's lookin"pretty good even for all the mistakes. And then BAM the big mistake, the mistake that wouldn't have been so bad if all of the other mistakes made hadn't been jimmy-rigged. It is at this time that I wonder why I even bother. What I was even thinking and why I waste a great deal of my time feeding the trash! I sympathize greatly! But guess what I'm doing the very next day. Yep you guessed It
5/8/08 12:23 PM
quiltsammon said...
Oh, BTW nice review!
5/8/08 12:25 PM
flygirlTRE said...
It took me a couple of looks to see what you did wrong! doh!
5/8/08 1:25 PM
cabinbaby said...
I stared at that first thumbnail forever trying to figure out what was wrong. When I finally realized the back (or front) was upside down, I busted up laughing. My kids are all looking at me funny. I told them it was a science joke and that they wouldn't get it.
5/8/08 4:30 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
OH OH OH YES, I've done that too! Those little legs are so short, it's all too easy to do ... Oh, dang, and they look so cute, too. Thanks for the review! Sometimes a project just goes south, we've all been there, and you're right, it does feel kinda cathartic to just put it out there. (Also, "tapestry of profanity"? I literally L , OL. Hee!)
5/8/08 8:23 PM
jent said...
I'm not sure why sewing little clothes can be such an ordeal! These Ottobre patterns have made me demote myself in the past. I'm sure they'll be perfect when you decide to try them again.
5/8/08 9:05 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Too funnie Eve!! Geesh, I have been in that very pickle; sewed the legs as though they were the waist LOL! Loved your review!! ~Connie
5/9/08 1:17 AM
Ronda Rae said...
It took me a second, but when I did figure it out-- giggling ensued. Not AT you WITH you. I have dont this before, too. Thanks for reviewing them though. I just started getting Ottrebre and need to try out a pattern but can't get past the terror of actually *tracing* from that chaos! That look great anyhoo.
5/9/08 6:55 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
oh that was too friggin' funny and it sounds like something out of a chapter that is my life! I do silly crap like that, too.
5/9/08 9:34 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I love to read your reviews. There is always something interesting in each one of them. Sorry this didn't work out - I would be heading for a Marguerita and the remote control too.
5/9/08 10:16 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, Eve, you're a treasure! Like Dawn (cabinbaby), I looked at thumbnail, admired your trim and stitching and was shocked when you said it was a bust. Only after a full read, did I go back to re-examine thumbnail ... and began choking on the hard candy I almost swallowed. Wouldn't it be nice if we made these mistakes *before* we completed all the detail sewing? Do keep this photo close at hand somewhere in your sewing room. Your next error will feel so minor compared to the Inverted Crotch Boy garment. Love it, and thanks for sharing. -Lily
5/9/08 6:15 PM
Christas said...
Eve, I know this review is from way back in May, but I have to tell you I LOVE it!!! I have read it several times and thought how talented you are to capture the humor in our sewing adventures!!!
11/21/08 1:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8546

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Vogue Patterns 1159

photo
by: KatC83

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now