Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8469 (Very Easy Vogue Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2625 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:contrariwise
photo
About contrariwisestarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/17/05
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 55 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/08 0:26 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
62 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Caitycat said...
Gorgeous fabric and a beautiful job - well done!
5/12/08 0:43 AM
Dmd4106 said...
What a cute dress! Luv the numbers and I too, am impressed with the matching job you did! Great job and review.
5/12/08 0:50 AM
rosannec said...
Your integer dress is fabulous! It's a little quirky, but you wear it with panache :) Your ties are fine the way they are and the inside looks just as lovely! Great dress!
5/12/08 1:05 AM
Tailypo said...
That, nerd girl, is one cute nerd girl dress. I too am impressed by your matched print. BTW, those costume sketches, are those for Fool For Love? I saw the name May and figured the guy could be Eddie. You draw very well and I like your choices there, too. Very talented all around!
5/12/08 1:13 AM
Heatherrique said...
Unique and chic dress! You wear the numbers with pizazz! As a numbers freak myself, where did you get this cool fabric?
5/12/08 1:19 AM
Peacock Chic said...
for all the hurdled you had to jump you did a fabulous job. Long live prime number :O)
5/12/08 1:45 AM
SueV said...
love it, love it! I like the trim on the neck, i like the sash long, I like the fabric. It looks very nice on you! Wear it!
5/12/08 2:03 AM
MareeAlison said...
The dress is gorgeous. I love the neckline and the contrast binding is just what's needed to stop the fabric being too busy. I think wear it and be proud of it. You look as if you stepped out of Vogue. Lovely.
5/12/08 2:43 AM
Twinset said...
Fantastic! You look great in your dress, and it looks so well executed! Congrats!
5/12/08 2:58 AM
Kbenco said...
This dress looks fabulous on you. I like the longer ties, I think the black stops any fussy look from the bold, fun, but a bit busy print, and makes the dress very smart. The matching looks spot on.
5/12/08 6:05 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Can't decide if the dress is nerdy or actually very cool! :grin: It looks great on you. I like the longer length of the untied ties, and the matching at the back seam is flawless. Even sewing friends will be impressed. Definitely wear the dress in public and with attitude!
5/12/08 6:47 AM
Blooms said...
Lovely dress. I hadn't noticed this pattern before, thanks for the review
5/12/08 6:49 AM
cindyann said...
You executed this perfectly. Yes, the binding was a great choice as well as the contrast tie that looks just fine in the longer length. Not everyone could rock this dress like you do!!
5/12/08 7:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
What a lovely, fun, flattering dress! I noticed your pattern matching on the back seam right away. I sew and I'm impressed! :) I'm also impressed about your pressing skills given the circumstances. I remember doing the same back when I was in college many years ago. :)
5/12/08 7:54 AM
utz said...
This is a prime :) example of great sewing. Really cute on you - wear it, it's great!
5/12/08 7:57 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
This dress is as cute as it can be! It looks great on you, too. I am in awe of your sewing skills and your ability to overcome the stumbling blocks you faced trying to sew with less-than-ideal conditions. You are an amazing young woman!
5/12/08 8:07 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress and fun, too. I a impressed with the matching job.
5/12/08 8:08 AM
CarolynGM said...
Love your integer dress. I think it's a very good sign that small children and math/physics professors love it as much as your sewing friends. I think the ties look fine as they are, but they would also look good several inches shorter.
5/12/08 8:10 AM
Kay Y said...
Truly a great little number! It looks wonderful on you and you should definitely wear it in public, as often as possible.
5/12/08 8:28 AM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful dress - you look wonderful in it.
5/12/08 8:36 AM
tashainflorence said...
I just bought this pattern, so this review is very timely. It looks fantastic on you. I can't wait to make it!
5/12/08 8:43 AM
Hilary said...
I LOVE your dress-beautifully sewn and graphic looking-plus shows your own personal flair in the fabric choice-*perfect*! And I like the tie long :D This looks like a great pattern-thanks for the review. You look really cute in your new dress!
5/12/08 10:24 AM
Trenessa said...
Wear it, wear it, wear it! This is soooo cute. I love the ties just like they are. Small child touching dress: GOOD SIGN Small child pointing at the dress and crying: bad sign ;)
5/12/08 10:56 AM
phthooey said...
Really great idea to combine this fun fabric and the cute pattern. Good job sewing this up!
5/12/08 11:04 AM
LindsayT said...
Fun, fun, fun dress, and I loved reading about the challenges you faced with the shuttle. Oh to be a college student again....
5/12/08 11:23 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Total geek chic! Love it!
5/12/08 11:25 AM
Vivienne said...
You're right at the centre of a ternary plot with witty, sexy and cute on the axes with this dress. You'll have to tell people you're a nerd - they'd never guess otherwise.
5/12/08 11:30 AM
CShelley said...
Love it and I think the sash looks good as is. Great job. You've inspired me to get the pattern. Thanks!
5/12/08 11:48 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Anyone who can sew in a dorm room - and come out with the fantastic result that you have - should wear that dress PROUDLY! You'll receive a lot of attention! Super job on fitting and construction!!
5/12/08 11:59 AM
JBsewmonster said...
Of COURSE you should wear this dress in public! Graphics are super stylish, and the fact that they are numbers makes it even cooler. Love it!
5/12/08 12:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
This dress numbers high on my list of great sewing successes. So cute on you. Love your sewing in the dorm room story.
5/12/08 12:38 PM
born2bead said...
Love the contrasting sash altho I think I might shorten it. Cute fabric too. I like the fact that you trimmed the neckline in black which ties in with the sash. Great idea!
5/12/08 2:11 PM
AuntieShel said...
What a fabulous dress!!!
5/12/08 3:35 PM
Tiner W said...
That's fantastic! It shows off your interests without looking corny. I think Erin at Dress a Day calls this a "stunt dress." I love it, and you should wear it lots! BTW, I like the long sash.
5/12/08 4:17 PM
Suzy Sews said...
Super cute dress! Definately wear it and have fun with it. As an engineer, thumbs up on the numbers graphic print and the matching job in back!! (Must admit I'm probably the age of many of your professors, so temper my opinion with that knowledge.) I think that shortening the ties might be visually more pleasing, but it totally wearable and looks great just as is, if you decided not to...
5/12/08 4:30 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Sew cute!
5/12/08 6:17 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I love hearing about the whole background of making a dress and your story was great! The dress is adorable on you and the 'numbers' is so suited to the style...especially with the contrast which toned it down. GREAT job!
5/12/08 10:37 PM
bangerlm said...
I am so jealous. I want a nerd dress. I'm a computer programmer... Love it, and I am so impressed with your skills.
5/12/08 11:02 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very cute dress! The Math Major in me is jumping up and down and waving... great job!
5/13/08 8:24 AM
DivaQ said...
Such a cute dress! I love the fabric! And I like the ties the longer length also. You did a great job!
5/13/08 8:55 AM
bananaoil said...
Your dress looks lovely and you did a fine job finishing the inside. I like the sash. I thought your fabric was a knit it fit so smoothly.
5/13/08 9:16 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I really like this dress. Even before I read your review, I was impressed with the binding you did and the contrasting sash. It so neatly contains the print to the dress without looking overdone! Doesn't look too nerdy to me; looks smashing!
5/13/08 3:58 PM
jhansby said...
I LOVE this dress, and absolutely adore the fabric!! I think the child that kept touching it was equally attracted to the numbers! Well done and it looks great on you, too. Next time you get stuck for a zipper you should post it here....I'm sure one of us would be glad to mail you one so you don't get stuck at Joann's again!!
5/13/08 5:05 PM
Winifred said...
To add to everyone else-this a gorgeous dress and beautifully made. I just wish that young women like yourself in the UK would get themselves into sewing -its "sew" rewarding!! What is an "integer" dress please?
5/13/08 5:44 PM
bangerlm said...
An "integer" is a number.
5/13/08 7:02 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Absolutely perfect. Don't change a thing. Three stars.
5/13/08 9:40 PM
EveS said...
What a fabulous dress!!! Seriously. I LOVE the long sash...it's what drew me to the thumbnail to begin with. The numbers were a happy little surprise when I opened the bigger picture. And small children love to touch pretty things, so I think that was a good sign. :)
5/13/08 10:27 PM
Erica B. said...
What an adorable dress! I love the fabric!
5/14/08 2:39 AM
Rosebeee said...
Great fabric! The dress (& the ties) look fabulous! I think the ties look fine hanging down below the hem, it adds some visual interest.
5/18/08 11:50 AM
Rosebeee said...

5/18/08 11:50 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is such a CUTE dress!!!! What a cool print!!!! I LOVE it!!!!!
5/20/08 11:52 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is such a CUTE dress!!!! What a cool print!!!! I LOVE it!!!!!
5/20/08 11:53 PM
Leora said...
Too cool! Thanks for sharing your backstory. I'm particularly impressed with how well put together this dress turned out!
5/23/08 6:20 PM
Noile said...
Love this dress (and its name)! The bias tape is the perfect touch, and the solid tie works really well, too. I like the length of the tie -- it's a bit quirky like the dress itself. Thanks, too, for the bodice fitting tip. I'll use it when I make mine.
5/30/08 4:07 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Fab-u-lous! I love your dress and I'm so glad I looked up the reviews before putting the pattern on my shopping list. Your dress looks better than the ones on the pattern front.
7/3/08 12:37 PM
cindy-lou said...
I just discovered your review while reading up on this Vogue pattern. GREAT DRESS! You go, girl-- in your dorm room and everything. Impressive. If you're a geek, you're the coolest one I've seen in a long time!
7/10/08 8:32 AM
lostinvegas0 said...
I am going to make this dress soon. Mine is going to be in a red linen. I must say being a math teacher I am drawn to the integers. I looks great on you.
7/11/08 6:33 PM
khrome said...
This dress is awsome!!!!!!! I love it!
8/2/08 2:29 PM
cjeffery said...
This dress is absolutely adorable! I love the contrast trim.
1/18/09 3:51 PM
dressaday said...
This dress is fantastic! I think you should wear it all the time!
1/19/09 10:05 AM
nefernika said...
wow, contrariwise! You're a talented sewer, and do careful, beautiful work. What a lovely dress you've created.
1/20/09 11:07 AM
Vegan said...
Adding the bias trim was a great touch!
1/20/09 11:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other Bear with Fish Bear with Fish
photo
Review by ValerieJ on 12/12/06
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2008-115
photo
Review by nicegirl on 3/5/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3856 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3856 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6032 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 6032 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us