SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1038 (Donna Karan Shirt/Skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 948 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/08 1:48 PM
Last Updated:5/25/08 2:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valkyrie01 said...
I absolutely love the shirt. I made it with all the same fabric, I have never been a fan of making secific parts of a garment in another faric than the majority. Looks like they belong to another garment. I did bespoke tailoring on the sleeves, the seams were too small and close to run through a machine. for those of you that want to try this, don't put the facing on the edge of the yoke until you attach the yoke to the body. the yoke goes 1.5 inches (spprox,.) beyond the edge of each front closing. The pattern has you face the yoke and then turn it... too bulky! I took the facing off and trimmed hte yoke about 1 inch and reapplied the facing. I put all the felled seams on the outside ; it looks way edgier. I was fortunate enough to finda poplin in the same butter yellow shade and it looks lovely. I agree with the reviewer, that there should be better sleeve plackets, they are a bit paltry. I nipped them in at the top this time around. I would definitly make this again; I am thinking in a big floral print, and in a silk... something more formal. As for the skirt it sits on the hips, something I am not used to. It tends to ride up abit on me but overall has an interesting shape with sideseams that slightly travel around he front. I agree that there is too much fabric in the shirt to tuck it in, and it does not need it anyways. The lines are lovely enough. Overall a great pattern.
8/7/11 3:28 PM
ITAdmin said...
GrannyT, see the info I added at the top of the review. I've been thinking of adding better pictures anyway, as the originals are pretty dim. I think you could alter the seams without problems, certainly for most of the shirt. In the photos, I tried to point out the spots where the seaming "matters" most. Hope these will help you make the decision.
7/17/08 6:45 AM
GrannyT said...
I bought the pattern recently and am eager to make it. I appreciated the information, because I will make sure I'm wide awake and in my best 'sewing mode' mood before tackling it. One question? What would happen if the seams were done without flat felling? Or by doing the serger flat fell - which is 100% easier!?
7/16/08 1:30 PM
moushka said...
Fabulous shirt, and thanks for a great review. I'm determined to make this one as I think the collar is pure genius. Sue
6/18/08 10:59 PM
Birgitte said...
This is WAY cool!!
6/3/08 4:09 PM
Athene said...
Your version of this top is really great.
6/3/08 2:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great colors and super job on a designer pattern!
5/26/08 1:07 PM
wvsher said...
That really is a pretty top, unique as it is. I envision it as an overtop, especially well suited for game days (in your team's colors, of course), over a tank or tee. Perfect for those early Fall days or Spring days when the temperature varies so much that you need to dress in layers.
5/26/08 0:10 AM
Annette1 said...
Flat-felled gussets? Regular-felled gussets are bad enough -- ha! You really did a nice job on this shirt. However, I'm a little disappointed we don't get to see the tucked-in photo. :o)) Great review!
5/26/08 0:06 AM
DorothyK said...
I'm so glad to see a review of this top. I made the skirt (which I haven't written up yet) and the skirt was actually quite easy. I've been thinking about making the top but I'm far from an advanced sewer, so I appreciate your warning. You did a great job, though. Looks like you've tackled the gussets, etc. quite well. LOL about your experience trying to tuck in the front. How did Vogue accomplish that without any bulges? They must have used Photoshop.
5/25/08 2:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Kwik Sew 2529

photo
by: lsaspacey

Review
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now