Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1038 (Donna Karan Shirt/Skirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 941 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/08 1:48 PM
Last Updated:5/25/08 2:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
I'm so glad to see a review of this top. I made the skirt (which I haven't written up yet) and the skirt was actually quite easy. I've been thinking about making the top but I'm far from an advanced sewer, so I appreciate your warning. You did a great job, though. Looks like you've tackled the gussets, etc. quite well. LOL about your experience trying to tuck in the front. How did Vogue accomplish that without any bulges? They must have used Photoshop.
5/25/08 2:17 PM
Annette1 said...
Flat-felled gussets? Regular-felled gussets are bad enough -- ha! You really did a nice job on this shirt. However, I'm a little disappointed we don't get to see the tucked-in photo. :o)) Great review!
5/26/08 0:06 AM
wvsher said...
That really is a pretty top, unique as it is. I envision it as an overtop, especially well suited for game days (in your team's colors, of course), over a tank or tee. Perfect for those early Fall days or Spring days when the temperature varies so much that you need to dress in layers.
5/26/08 0:10 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great colors and super job on a designer pattern!
5/26/08 1:07 PM
Athene said...
Your version of this top is really great.
6/3/08 2:46 PM
Birgitte said...
This is WAY cool!!
6/3/08 4:09 PM
moushka said...
Fabulous shirt, and thanks for a great review. I'm determined to make this one as I think the collar is pure genius. Sue
6/18/08 10:59 PM
GrannyT said...
I bought the pattern recently and am eager to make it. I appreciated the information, because I will make sure I'm wide awake and in my best 'sewing mode' mood before tackling it. One question? What would happen if the seams were done without flat felling? Or by doing the serger flat fell - which is 100% easier!?
7/16/08 1:30 PM
ITAdmin said...
GrannyT, see the info I added at the top of the review. I've been thinking of adding better pictures anyway, as the originals are pretty dim. I think you could alter the seams without problems, certainly for most of the shirt. In the photos, I tried to point out the spots where the seaming "matters" most. Hope these will help you make the decision.
7/17/08 6:45 AM
valkyrie01 said...
I absolutely love the shirt. I made it with all the same fabric, I have never been a fan of making secific parts of a garment in another faric than the majority. Looks like they belong to another garment. I did bespoke tailoring on the sleeves, the seams were too small and close to run through a machine. for those of you that want to try this, don't put the facing on the edge of the yoke until you attach the yoke to the body. the yoke goes 1.5 inches (spprox,.) beyond the edge of each front closing. The pattern has you face the yoke and then turn it... too bulky! I took the facing off and trimmed hte yoke about 1 inch and reapplied the facing. I put all the felled seams on the outside ; it looks way edgier. I was fortunate enough to finda poplin in the same butter yellow shade and it looks lovely. I agree with the reviewer, that there should be better sleeve plackets, they are a bit paltry. I nipped them in at the top this time around. I would definitly make this again; I am thinking in a big floral print, and in a silk... something more formal. As for the skirt it sits on the hips, something I am not used to. It tends to ride up abit on me but overall has an interesting shape with sideseams that slightly travel around he front. I agree that there is too much fabric in the shirt to tuck it in, and it does not need it anyways. The lines are lovely enough. Overall a great pattern.
8/7/11 3:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Burda 7384 SKIRT
photo
Review by Sandi S on 5/1/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-124C 60s dress
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 7/4/07
Read Review

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3809 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3809 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us