SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2936 (Woven button-front blouses)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1567 times 
Reviewed by:Kaitlinnegan
photo

 
 
About Kaitlinneganstar
WI USA
Member since: 8/13/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/08 8:38 PM
Last Updated:5/29/08 8:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gold said...
Very cute top!
5/14/08 8:41 PM
EveS said...
Your print fabrics and my print fabrics must hang out in the same circle. I get burned by the I-mismatched-again more times than I care to think! Very cute summer blouse. Love the details. Helpful review, too!
5/14/08 9:31 PM
lendube said...
Awesome, Kaitlin! Once again, a terrific job! Wish I could wear the cute little puffy sleeves but I'm too OLD! Dang it!
5/14/08 9:31 PM
crazygrad said...
Very pretty! This freaked me out though- I bought that pattern to make a shirt OUT OF THAT SAME FABRIC!!!! Cue creepy music now!
5/14/08 10:53 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
That is TOO WEIRD, crazygrad! Hopefully you can benefit from my mistakes, and pay attention to the print. It doesn't have to match across the front, but be careful that it's not "almost" matched like I did the first time. :) Thanks everyone! Lennie -- good to see you over here!
5/14/08 10:55 PM
Lori V said...
Cute top.
5/14/08 11:48 PM
Leora said...
Really nice job on this cute shirt. I like the release tucks, so stylish!
5/14/08 11:57 PM
Athene said...
A very pretty fabric. Your top looks very nice and the style is quite flattering.
5/15/08 3:39 AM
lynda828 said...
Well, wouldn't you know, this time I actually did try to line it up and screwed it up! As my nana used to say 'blind man on a galloping horse wouldn't see it' The first thing I noticed about your shirt was how great the fit was and prompted me to read further, I have now wishlisted this pattern and love the raglan sleeves. Thank you for a very informative review.
5/15/08 5:59 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a pretty summer blouse. I looked at the photo before I read the review and then relooked at it. I still saw a great summer blouse. We all nit pick what we do. I see all sorts of plaids in rtw that no attempt was made to match- I would not even give the print a second thought here.
5/15/08 7:50 AM
carolynw said...
Very pretty top - thanks for brininging this pattern to my attention - love nice blouse patterns! Great review
5/15/08 8:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute top - I'll bet you are saying to yourself 'What did I miss - I could have had an entire wardrobe". Great looking top.
5/15/08 12:42 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute top and very informative review! I have this pattern in my stash and am hoping to make it up soon. Your version is cuter than the pic on the envelope.
5/15/08 1:02 PM
annie11 said...
That is really pretty on you! I hadn't noticed this pattern before, but will definitely get it now.
5/15/08 3:40 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a great top! I love the fabric - it works so well with the design!
5/15/08 5:04 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You look so cute in all of your clothes! This top is another winner.
5/16/08 8:31 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Thanks so much for your encouragement, everyone! I'm really ok with the non-matchingness of the front now - I agree that it's not noticeable, but it sure was frustrating when I was making the shirt.
5/16/08 8:37 AM
imsymphony said...
Yay, I have this pattern in my stash and can't wait to make it! Great review, thank you.
5/16/08 6:02 PM
angie.a said...
Great top!! Thanks for the review, I would have overlooked this cute pattern!
5/17/08 8:03 AM
cecelia said...
I don't notice the "mismatching" at all--it looks nice on you and fits well.
5/17/08 12:32 PM
Debra H said...
Good review and the top fits you so well. Looks like a pricey blouse at a boutique
5/17/08 1:42 PM
MagpieJen said...
Very classy but still fun, I love it! Looks like it fits you wonderfully!
5/29/08 8:35 PM
wvsher said...
Both your versions of this top look very nice. The second one is just lovely. Thanks for the review!
5/30/08 9:21 AM
Annette1 said...
How CUTE! I can see why you made another top from this pattern. I love that buttery yellow, and it looks GREAT on you!
5/31/08 3:25 AM
Athene said...
This wardrobe is not only practical but also looks comfortable and good looking too. I just love the blouses - I think I will have to buy the blouse pattern.
6/3/08 1:44 AM
KathleenS said...
Great shirts, really worth the effort.
6/8/08 3:06 AM
Deepika said...
What a beautiful blouse. I am planning to make this top soon so your tips are really helpful.
7/5/08 10:30 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Really lovely summer tops, especially the floral version!
10/10/08 4:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5557

photo
by: galtekruse

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern Haltertop Hussy

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review