SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5030 (Misses Dress, Belt and Sash)

29 more reviews
Viewed 1484 times 
Reviewed by:mochalover
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mochaloverstar
USA
Member since: 9/20/04
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 7:40 PM
Last Updated:5/15/08 8:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mochalover said...
Gendun I will be honest with you it may have been a heavy rayon, if I had to put a wager on it that's what I would say but don't quote me. It was easy an easy fabric to work with and it does look expensive but the fabric was a bargain. I have taken it to the dry cleaners and it still looks just as good after all this time. Thank you for the compliments and sorry for the delay I'm a teacher and am back to work and time is getting away from me.
8/29/12 7:59 PM
Gendun said...
Very elegant in that fabric. Nice choice. May I ask what kind of feel it had? Was it like wool suiting, or something else? How heavy was it? Anything else you can tell us about it? I only ask because I really like the way it hangs and compliments the pattern. :)
8/26/12 9:20 PM
VJ_Tex said...
Very nice and very clean...very professional look. Love it!
12/22/09 10:43 AM
RoeD said...
I'm almost finished with this dress but got frustrated after trying to get my sleeves right. Seeing your finished project has inspired me to go pick it back up and finish.
10/22/09 9:15 PM
anncie1 said...
Cute!!!
8/9/08 10:22 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
such a classy dress! I'm enjoying looking at your reviews.
6/30/08 11:04 AM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulous dress!!! and believe I have the pattern. I love Walmart.. I go there often and get great fabric.
6/6/08 9:40 PM
Larkin said...
Really pretty. Enjoy the compliments!
5/17/08 1:10 AM
KathleenS said...
Looks great. I like the cuffs.
5/16/08 9:22 PM
wvsher said...
That is a lovely dress. Great job on it!
5/16/08 3:30 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
This is my favorite style of dress. Yours is beautifully made.
5/16/08 2:06 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
WOW!!! Looks great. Where does it hit on the legs?
5/16/08 12:11 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Very nice!
5/16/08 10:20 AM
LindsayT said...
Very RTW-looking. Well done.
5/16/08 9:32 AM
carolynw said...
Love your dress - great work - looks far more expensive than what you paid
5/16/08 8:17 AM
blue mooney said...
Absolutely beautiful!
5/16/08 7:37 AM
Caitycat said...
Looks like a very flattering and "on trend" dress - well done!
5/16/08 1:49 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wow you did a FANTASTIC job with that dress. I love it. One more pattern to pick up at JoAnn's :O)
5/16/08 1:06 AM
rahayu said...
Hei! that is about S$20?!?!....what a huge amount of savings!!!...I really envy you mochalover...actually I bought a similar dress here for S$269....tell me why I shouldn't envy you?..sigh..I must sew one of this....
5/15/08 11:29 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this looks very high end and professionally sewn!
5/15/08 9:19 PM
SewingSusan said...
Lovely dress. The collar and cuffs are great. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it.
5/15/08 8:59 PM
mochalover said...
Rahayu I had to comment on the cost because I often wonder about that with other reviews. I purchased the pattern for $1.99 and the fabric was $3.00 a yard at Walmart, which leads to a grand total of $15.00 including the thread. The fabric is great (I don't know what it is) but even my husband said that it looks and feels expensive and coming from him that's saying something.
5/15/08 8:55 PM
Lori V said...
Great dress, the wider sash is a nice change.
5/15/08 8:44 PM
EveS said...
GREAT dress!! I just love the wider sash. The standard wrap ties are so...well...insignificant. I have the Vogue version of this wrap and will have to try it with a sash like this. Thanks for the inspiration!
5/15/08 8:28 PM
rahayu said...
This is my kind of style...girl! Luv!luv!luv! your dress....That dress would cost about minimum S$250 back here in Singapore...Anyway, you did a great job..well done! BTW, how much did you spend on this dress?
5/15/08 8:18 PM
mad4sewing said...
The big picture won't pop up, but the thumb pic looks great!
5/15/08 7:58 PM
Gold said...
I couldn't get your picture to come up.But I can see by the little picture that the dress looks great!Great job!
5/15/08 7:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Simplicity 2520

photo
by: pigsinpaja...

Review
Vogue Patterns 9475 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

More Info