SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-117 (Trench Coat)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1042 times 
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB Canada
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/08 12:03 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewPie said...
I am a beginner and I tried and failed! I managed the collar after help from a friend, but I think there's a mistake on the pattern which I didn't pick up till too late. The amount of wadding you need seemed wrong on the pattern. Yours looks incrediable, I am so impressed, and also very inspired by it and your beautiful seams. Well done.
3/26/09 10:09 PM
Sew Shy said...
This is breathtaking! I want it!! It's really a gorgoues coat.
5/28/08 11:50 AM
kim*brown said...
Flawless workmanship!
5/22/08 12:01 PM
hongkongshopper said...
How absolutely beautiful!!!! yet another stunning version of this coat. Well done.
5/19/08 11:23 PM
Stitchcakes said...
WANT!
5/19/08 12:42 PM
Karla Kizer said...
It's gorgeous. If it were RTW, I'd expect a $2000 price tag on it - minimum. It looks like a piece that should one day be on the back cover of Threads - an heirloom. Congratulations.
5/19/08 7:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic looking coat! Great job!
5/19/08 7:01 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful! It's very clear why this is one of your favorite pieces ever ... it looks fantastic inside and out.
5/18/08 10:36 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! Great job!!!!! Looks SOOO NICE!!!!!
5/17/08 3:29 PM
CatMukai said...
Wow, yours is a dead ringer for the BWOF version. Awesome job!
5/17/08 2:29 PM
Dei said...
As I live and breathe. Wow! Welcome to BWOF and you started off with a bang. Exquisite.
5/17/08 1:45 PM
Peacock Chic said...
Woot Woot!!! Congrats on such a wonderful coat. The color is great too. You should be very proud this being your first BWOF pattern. I bet you are hooked now! I too am doing this coat for my mini wardrobe. Funny how the same pattern produces so many wonderful results.
5/17/08 10:11 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Fabulous job. I love all the topstitching on the cuffs and hem. Please let us see how it looks on you.
5/17/08 10:08 AM
Nancywin said...
I've loved this ever since I saw it in the magazine. Yours looks terrific! Thanks for the very helpful review.
5/17/08 9:58 AM
salruss said...
WOW!!!!!!
5/17/08 9:45 AM
Fran G said...
So pretty!! Thanks for the detailed review, too!
5/17/08 8:37 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! Spectacular results! I love the inside, too. Bravo!
5/17/08 8:22 AM
Mahler said...
I you have all the reasons in the world to love that piece. This is so perfect. Bravo !
5/17/08 7:25 AM
nellc said...
This is a challenging project to pick as your first BWOF but the result is fantastic, the sheen of your fabric really highlights the lovely details of this trench.
5/17/08 5:49 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You really belive in jumping right in :-).. and what results! But if you think sizing down regular patterns for petite doesn't work, it's because you haven't seen Burda's method for doing it http://www.burdastyle.com/howtos/show/113. That's how they did this one.. It's not enough to just shorten the length.
5/17/08 4:11 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous, inside and out!
5/17/08 0:15 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I don't think I can add much to all of the other comments but - beautiful!
5/16/08 11:58 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow. That's a great coat. Your first Burda? You rocked it!
5/16/08 11:53 PM
Lori V said...
This is stunning and very impressive, I can't believe it is your first BWOF project.
5/16/08 10:25 PM
AntheaR said...
Fantastic result - very classy. Love the Hong Kong seam finish.
5/16/08 8:52 PM
KathleenS said...
This is a great start to your wardrobe. I'm really looking forward to seeing the other pieces.
5/16/08 7:43 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Absolutely exquisite!
5/16/08 6:31 PM
Sewingmi said...
Wow! That is really impressive!
5/16/08 6:29 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love it love it LOVE IT! Your fabric choice is *perfect* and your workmanship spectacular. It's easy to see how this is an instant favorite!
5/16/08 6:11 PM
Sigrid. said...
Superb. This is one lovely trench. Your sewing of this is perfect. Looks very, very expensive.
5/16/08 5:21 PM
Beek said...
Fabulous coat. The fabric makes it look so expensive and elusive!
5/16/08 5:15 PM
Gold said...
FABULOUS!!
5/16/08 4:29 PM
willowsmum said...
I love the details.....beautiful work, well done
5/16/08 4:16 PM
LindsayT said...
Well done!
5/16/08 4:09 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous!!
5/16/08 3:47 PM
mahalosu said...
I am so inspired! I love your coat. The metallic really makes it special.
5/16/08 3:04 PM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful coat! Your review had good detail and tips. The smocking looks great and so do the seams! :)
5/16/08 3:01 PM
ryankckids said...
How totally adorable is that??? Amazing. Thanks for the helpful and concise construction hints.
5/16/08 2:56 PM
Athene said...
Absolutely lovely. A gorgeous coat.
5/16/08 2:51 PM
So So said...
Great result! You certainly deserve that " one of my favorite pieces ever" feeling this garment gives you. I would feel the same if it was mine. Fantastic start to your mini wardrobe.
5/16/08 2:45 PM
nannykk said...
awesome
5/16/08 2:25 PM
Twinset said...
Wow! This truly is a fantastic trench! Lucky you!
5/16/08 2:11 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful fabric, I love the way shirring turned up on this, gorgeous and really cool!
5/16/08 1:54 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Oh my, this is stunning!
5/16/08 1:52 PM
cindyann said...
{applause!!!} That is just fantastic.
5/16/08 1:52 PM
KrystalL said...
Your coat looks absolutely amazing! And the inside--to die for!
5/16/08 1:47 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I love everyting about it. The inside is almost good enough to keep as outside, the color is great and the fabric looks just right. We still haven't found the right fabric for this, so it stays on the the to do list.
5/16/08 1:29 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is simply gorgeous. Great fabric. Wear it proudly!
5/16/08 1:24 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is positively GORGEOUS!!!
5/16/08 1:14 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Wow!!!
5/16/08 1:09 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous coat! You really turned out a beautiful piece for your first BWOF!
5/16/08 1:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific trench. I love your vision of "futuristic space suit" and how you avoided that.
5/16/08 1:03 PM
Terri K said...
Absolute Perfection - Cidell said what I thought too - it looks like a million bucks!
5/16/08 12:50 PM
ClaireC said...
Simply stunning.!!!! Thank you for the detailed review!
5/16/08 12:40 PM
pterion said...
Did you just hear a 'thunk'? That was my jaw dropping on the ground. This is a lovely piece of work, inside and out. Much more stylish than a basic trench.
5/16/08 12:21 PM
Trenessa said...
I love this coat! It's lovely.
5/16/08 12:15 PM
SewFar said...
Wow. Really wow. I LOVE it! Superbe trench coat!
5/16/08 12:11 PM
MissCelie said...
Absolutely beeyootifull! Congrats on your first BWOF. This trench looks like a million bucks!
5/16/08 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2013-121

photo
by: Kemish

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2011-33

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review