SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-117 (Trench Coat)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1039 times 
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/08 12:03 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Absolutely beeyootifull! Congrats on your first BWOF. This trench looks like a million bucks!
5/16/08 12:09 PM
SewFar said...
Wow. Really wow. I LOVE it! Superbe trench coat!
5/16/08 12:11 PM
Trenessa said...
I love this coat! It's lovely.
5/16/08 12:15 PM
pterion said...
Did you just hear a 'thunk'? That was my jaw dropping on the ground. This is a lovely piece of work, inside and out. Much more stylish than a basic trench.
5/16/08 12:21 PM
ClaireC said...
Simply stunning.!!!! Thank you for the detailed review!
5/16/08 12:40 PM
Terri K said...
Absolute Perfection - Cidell said what I thought too - it looks like a million bucks!
5/16/08 12:50 PM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific trench. I love your vision of "futuristic space suit" and how you avoided that.
5/16/08 1:03 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous coat! You really turned out a beautiful piece for your first BWOF!
5/16/08 1:03 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Wow!!!
5/16/08 1:09 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is positively GORGEOUS!!!
5/16/08 1:14 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is simply gorgeous. Great fabric. Wear it proudly!
5/16/08 1:24 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I love everyting about it. The inside is almost good enough to keep as outside, the color is great and the fabric looks just right. We still haven't found the right fabric for this, so it stays on the the to do list.
5/16/08 1:29 PM
KrystalL said...
Your coat looks absolutely amazing! And the inside--to die for!
5/16/08 1:47 PM
cindyann said...
{applause!!!} That is just fantastic.
5/16/08 1:52 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Oh my, this is stunning!
5/16/08 1:52 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful fabric, I love the way shirring turned up on this, gorgeous and really cool!
5/16/08 1:54 PM
Twinset said...
Wow! This truly is a fantastic trench! Lucky you!
5/16/08 2:11 PM
nannykk said...
awesome
5/16/08 2:25 PM
So So said...
Great result! You certainly deserve that " one of my favorite pieces ever" feeling this garment gives you. I would feel the same if it was mine. Fantastic start to your mini wardrobe.
5/16/08 2:45 PM
Athene said...
Absolutely lovely. A gorgeous coat.
5/16/08 2:51 PM
ryankckids said...
How totally adorable is that??? Amazing. Thanks for the helpful and concise construction hints.
5/16/08 2:56 PM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful coat! Your review had good detail and tips. The smocking looks great and so do the seams! :)
5/16/08 3:01 PM
mahalosu said...
I am so inspired! I love your coat. The metallic really makes it special.
5/16/08 3:04 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous!!
5/16/08 3:47 PM
LindsayT said...
Well done!
5/16/08 4:09 PM
willowsmum said...
I love the details.....beautiful work, well done
5/16/08 4:16 PM
Gold said...
FABULOUS!!
5/16/08 4:29 PM
Beek said...
Fabulous coat. The fabric makes it look so expensive and elusive!
5/16/08 5:15 PM
Sigrid. said...
Superb. This is one lovely trench. Your sewing of this is perfect. Looks very, very expensive.
5/16/08 5:21 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love it love it LOVE IT! Your fabric choice is *perfect* and your workmanship spectacular. It's easy to see how this is an instant favorite!
5/16/08 6:11 PM
Sewingmi said...
Wow! That is really impressive!
5/16/08 6:29 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Absolutely exquisite!
5/16/08 6:31 PM
KathleenS said...
This is a great start to your wardrobe. I'm really looking forward to seeing the other pieces.
5/16/08 7:43 PM
AntheaR said...
Fantastic result - very classy. Love the Hong Kong seam finish.
5/16/08 8:52 PM
Lori V said...
This is stunning and very impressive, I can't believe it is your first BWOF project.
5/16/08 10:25 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow. That's a great coat. Your first Burda? You rocked it!
5/16/08 11:53 PM
QuiltersFan said...
I don't think I can add much to all of the other comments but - beautiful!
5/16/08 11:58 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous, inside and out!
5/17/08 0:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You really belive in jumping right in :-).. and what results! But if you think sizing down regular patterns for petite doesn't work, it's because you haven't seen Burda's method for doing it http://www.burdastyle.com/howtos/show/113. That's how they did this one.. It's not enough to just shorten the length.
5/17/08 4:11 AM
nellc said...
This is a challenging project to pick as your first BWOF but the result is fantastic, the sheen of your fabric really highlights the lovely details of this trench.
5/17/08 5:49 AM
Mahler said...
I you have all the reasons in the world to love that piece. This is so perfect. Bravo !
5/17/08 7:25 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! Spectacular results! I love the inside, too. Bravo!
5/17/08 8:22 AM
Fran G said...
So pretty!! Thanks for the detailed review, too!
5/17/08 8:37 AM
salruss said...
WOW!!!!!!
5/17/08 9:45 AM
Nancywin said...
I've loved this ever since I saw it in the magazine. Yours looks terrific! Thanks for the very helpful review.
5/17/08 9:58 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Fabulous job. I love all the topstitching on the cuffs and hem. Please let us see how it looks on you.
5/17/08 10:08 AM
Peacock Chic said...
Woot Woot!!! Congrats on such a wonderful coat. The color is great too. You should be very proud this being your first BWOF pattern. I bet you are hooked now! I too am doing this coat for my mini wardrobe. Funny how the same pattern produces so many wonderful results.
5/17/08 10:11 AM
Dei said...
As I live and breathe. Wow! Welcome to BWOF and you started off with a bang. Exquisite.
5/17/08 1:45 PM
CatMukai said...
Wow, yours is a dead ringer for the BWOF version. Awesome job!
5/17/08 2:29 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! Great job!!!!! Looks SOOO NICE!!!!!
5/17/08 3:29 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful! It's very clear why this is one of your favorite pieces ever ... it looks fantastic inside and out.
5/18/08 10:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic looking coat! Great job!
5/19/08 7:01 AM
Karla Kizer said...
It's gorgeous. If it were RTW, I'd expect a $2000 price tag on it - minimum. It looks like a piece that should one day be on the back cover of Threads - an heirloom. Congratulations.
5/19/08 7:19 AM
Stitchcakes said...
WANT!
5/19/08 12:42 PM
hongkongshopper said...
How absolutely beautiful!!!! yet another stunning version of this coat. Well done.
5/19/08 11:23 PM
kim*brown said...
Flawless workmanship!
5/22/08 12:01 PM
Sew Shy said...
This is breathtaking! I want it!! It's really a gorgoues coat.
5/28/08 11:50 AM
SewPie said...
I am a beginner and I tried and failed! I managed the collar after help from a friend, but I think there's a mistake on the pattern which I didn't pick up till too late. The amount of wadding you need seemed wrong on the pattern. Yours looks incrediable, I am so impressed, and also very inspired by it and your beautiful seams. Well done.
3/26/09 10:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-111

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8637

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now