Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5204 (Italian Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2529 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/03 1:20 AM
Last Updated:10/9/03 4:47 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Good and interesting review. The instructions for this pattern are just not very good, so your comments will be very helpful. As you noticed, the fit in the pattern cover photo is not what the blouse looks like on most people. The model may be wearing a blouse several sizes too big: the shoulders look very dropped on her blouse, and she appears to have shoulder pads holding them up. I agree that this isn't a beginner pattern because of the drafting and instruction glitches.
6/29/03 6:17 PM
Teri said...
Lisa, thanks for the very good review. I have my eye on this pattern. Is it good enough that the fussing with it is worth it? Not to mention the price? Or can you get the same results from a KS pattern?
6/29/03 6:49 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Teri, I haven't tried any of the KS campshirt style blouses yet, so I can't compare them (I have one in the 'to do' pile, though!). I'm going to have to fix the CF (therefore button/buttonholes) mark, but the rest of it was pretty much just being aware of potential problems (like knowing to stop the collar stitching at the dots). If you've made shirts like this, between the guide sheet and the reviews it wouldn't be a big deal; if you've never made one before, KS might be a better start; if nothing else, the instructions will be better (and it will be a bit cheaper...;) )
6/29/03 7:51 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
That's a very stylish looking outfit, Lisa - perfect for so many different situations...I like your mix of prints - I didn't notice the tiny print on the collar at first, but when I looked at it again, I have to agree with you that it was a good choice - the big print might have been overwhelming. Very flattering lines on you too!
6/30/03 0:03 AM
Georgene said...
Lisa, this is a great looking ensemble. I like your twin print, and the way you put them together.
6/30/03 0:53 AM
Teri said...
Lisa, I love your pictures. What a great outfit! Your shirt looks like it has a very nice cut.....I might just have to give it a try.
6/30/03 2:59 PM
Julie Culshaw said...
What a wonderful thorough review. thanks so much - I appreciate all the detail you gave us. And your blouse looks great on you. Julie
10/9/03 7:00 PM
Mini said...
Lisa, you should be teaching a class in creative problem solving! Teri, for what it is worth, this blouse pattern is very similar in style to the Kwik Sew blouse pattern in the Easy Sewing the Kwik Sew Way book. There are differences, but they are minor. The mock cuff/band detail is nice but you can get it from a sewing book. Claire Schaeffer's Sewing Shortcuts has a version that is easier to do. This is a nice enough blouse, but the instructions are, frankly, awful for a pattern this expensive.
10/9/03 7:22 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Mini has hit the nail on the head...the blouse fits and drapes pretty, but the instructions and the misprints on the pattern are very disappointing. That's something I've noticed about a number of the independant pattern designers (I can think of three off the top of my head); makes me wonder if they proofread their products before they're marketed....
10/9/03 9:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used SiovhonCouture
photo
Review by Bonnie123 on 4/7/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4021 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4021 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4440
photo
Review by emo on 9/10/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 302 Pattern
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us