Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: V&A Museum Couture Dress (V&A Museum Couture Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1378 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:shannie
photo
About shanniestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/26/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/28/08 8:54 PM
Last Updated:6/22/08 12:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
Yeah! You finished. The photo is very very tiny so it's hard to see what it looks like. I am just so impressed that you tried this.
5/28/08 9:09 PM
angie.a said...
Oh I'd love to see this Shannie! I hope you can enlarge the picture! Thanks for the link. :)
5/28/08 9:35 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, I'm impressed. It's a gorgeous style and the colour you chose is very pretty.
5/29/08 4:28 AM
jent said...
This is very cool! Great color choices. I'd love to see some more pictures - especialy of you wearing it. I think your mannequin probably does not do it justice.
5/29/08 6:17 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for making this! It's so nice to see it sewn up, even with your rush job, it's lovely.
5/29/08 7:33 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Yay, for finally seeing a review of this pretty dress. I am even more tempted now, I really like your version.
5/29/08 3:18 PM
MagpieJen said...
That's so cool - what a neat pattern to attempt. I really like your choice of contrast! Now you've got to get a nice, full petticoat to try it with :-) (actually, I tend to prefer not wearing petticoats with these big skirts myself, but you should try and see if you like it.)
5/29/08 8:21 PM
cfabrication said...
I am amazed that you were able to not only figure out the pattern but grade it and sew it!

I downloaded the A4 version and looked at it. It's an understatement to say it looks like it wouldn't be the easiest pattern to figure out. I wonder if the person credited with the pattern actually measured the dress and "reverse engineered" the pattern or whether she started with how the dress looked and came up with a pattern based on that.

I also wonder if the person who made the pattern sewed a sample. It seems to me surprising that your midriff piece came out so long since the overall fit is so good and that makes me wonder about the overall pattern development.

I think when you refit the waist line, you might want to lift the (fabulous!) pink trim. In the picture at the V&A site the trim is just above the bottom of the bust line -- a little higher than an empire waist would be.

The colors were an inspired choice. I'd love to see it on.

Really well done.
5/30/08 0:19 AM

Kimbra said...
I love your dress Shannie, I hope everyone knows that the photo just doesn't do it justice!
5/30/08 12:37 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO BEAUTIFUL!!!! Great job!!!
5/30/08 7:37 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great vintage dress! I love the pockets and their placement, too! Even without the waist alteration, your dress looks very pretty! And thanks for the heads up about the free download!
5/31/08 11:03 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Shannie, I'm just amazed that you completed this creation on the weekend before the close of the Contest. Wow! To grade up a vintage pattern is no small task; to complete it with the clock ticking down is unimaginable to me. Love your fabrics, too. I feel certain that you tweaking will go very well, too. Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 6:06 PM
rachies mum said...
thanks for the enabling!
6/6/08 8:43 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
It looks really nice with these fabrics, so I hope you will be able to alter it to your satisfaction !
6/8/08 4:59 AM
Elizabeth56 said...
Hang in there your dress is very cute. Listen to advise of others and learn from other sewers and designers.
6/10/08 10:59 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, what a change! Great work redesigning your vintage dress to a thoroughly modern counterpart!
6/23/08 7:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Loes Hinse Designs 5302 City Dress
photo
Review by Diane E on 3/11/02
Read Review

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2255 misses tops
photo
Review by Lorenna on 5/11/13
Read Review

McCalls 6840 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6840 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us