Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 90338-1003 (Cream Linen Trousers) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 443 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:lilyofthevalley
photo
About lilyofthevalleystarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/9/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/08 11:58 PM
Last Updated:5/31/08 5:31 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Lily, these are PERFECT. I admit it: I'm envious of that double-faced linen, HIGHLY envious! Perhaps by "not very fashion forward" you mean "a true classic," because that's exactly what these are. I love seeing all the close-up details in your pictures. Your workmanship is impeccable, as always. VERY CLASSY! Oh, and I almost forgot: GREAT idea to use wallpaper for your TNT patterns. I'm going to try that myself. I have a Burda pants pattern that if very similar to your pants, and that pattern has seen better days, to put it mildly. I still use it though, so thanks fo r the tip!
5/31/08 0:23 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Just beautiful! Your husband has the right idea - sometimes the classics are best. Especially with such a wonderful fabric, you don't want something that will be "out" in a couple of seasons.
5/31/08 0:23 AM
lmg said...
Your DH is wise. Those pants are just perfect for you and in double-faced linen to boot. Wow.
5/31/08 0:28 AM
JMarie1962 said...
These pants are so beautiful and classic. As to "not very fashion forward", why mess with perfection? :)
5/31/08 1:26 AM
willowsmum said...
Beautifully tailored trousers that fit the way trousers should, not too tight which will spoil the lines....don't you mess with them, I also have a pattern that I love. I bet they are really comfortable which is a bonus as well as being stylish.
5/31/08 3:45 AM
Karen8320 said...
Lily, they look great! When you have a pants pattern that you KNOW fits and works well, why would you change things? I'm always impressed and inspired by your sewing! Well done.
5/31/08 4:25 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful trousers, Lily. Prepasted wallpaper, how ingenious! And cute too! :) The pretty paper pattern would put me in sewing mood any day.
5/31/08 4:59 AM
Kbenco said...
Lily, your husband has the right idea. These are classic, stylish trousers and look wonderful in the luxurious linen you have used. You realize that you are responsible for a severe dose of fabric lust after describing this wonderful linen!
5/31/08 5:57 AM
halleyscomet said...
Very stylish, designer looking slacks. I wouldn't change a thing! Your pattern pcs. were laid out on a grid board. Where can I get one of those?
5/31/08 7:26 AM
Rustybobn said...
Beautiful fabric, pants, construction, everything! I love the cheerful wallpaper pattern, too. What a good idea! Thanks.
5/31/08 7:43 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Why change something that works so well for you? Unless you want to try something a bit different. You could just try widening your TNT a bit in a cheaper fabric and see what you think.
5/31/08 7:48 AM
Fran G said...
Lovely work, Lily! The fabric looks really wonderful as do your pants!
5/31/08 8:02 AM
carolynw said...
These pants fit you perfectly - if I had a pattern that fit like this then I would say to heck with being fashion forward - not sure why you think these aren't when they look so perfect on you.
5/31/08 8:11 AM
CarolynGM said...
I think have attained the holy grail of perfect pants! Thanks for the wallpaper tip -- never would have thought to do that.
5/31/08 8:12 AM
phthooey said...
Those pants look just perfect on you. I can't wait until my sewing and patternmaking skills are a fraction as good as yours so I can feel comfortable using such amazing, luxurious fabrics! You have such great taste!
5/31/08 8:12 AM
BeckyC said...
Lily, your pants are beautiful on you. I wouldn't change the pant width either. Thank you for all of the great tips you shared in this review.
5/31/08 9:04 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful pair of pants! I love how you transferred the pattern to wallpaper - what a great tip! And I agree with Annette that these are true classics! Lovely, simply lovely!!!
5/31/08 10:22 AM
Kay Y said...
The pants are perfect - no surprise there - but what really strikes me about your review is the lovely wallpaper pattern pieces. What a great idea!
5/31/08 11:58 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Super pants, great fit, DH Keith is right, they are FAB, love the linen too.
5/31/08 12:08 PM
Mufffet said...
Again, BEAUTIFUL...what gorgeous fabric.
5/31/08 12:10 PM
ClaireC said...
Another picture perfect garment that is perfectly sewn and fits you beautifully.
5/31/08 1:37 PM
DorothyK said...
Perfect pants. Impeccable work.
5/31/08 1:52 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous trousers with an absolutely perfect fit! Who cares if they're not "trendy"--these are a timeless classic!
5/31/08 4:46 PM
trinicity said...
awesome pants, it looks great on you
5/31/08 5:16 PM
Winifred said...
Not much more I can add Lily, except that I too think they are a perfect fit and that the closeup of the fabric was well worth seeing. If I get my pants to fit like that eventually..............!
5/31/08 6:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 2676
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/19/09
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5594
photo
Review by andread on 2/23/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us