SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 90338-1003 (Cream Linen Trousers)

Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:lilyofthevalley
photo

 
 
About lilyofthevalleystarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/9/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/08 11:58 PM
Last Updated:5/31/08 5:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Winifred said...
Not much more I can add Lily, except that I too think they are a perfect fit and that the closeup of the fabric was well worth seeing. If I get my pants to fit like that eventually..............!
5/31/08 6:05 PM
trinicity said...
awesome pants, it looks great on you
5/31/08 5:16 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous trousers with an absolutely perfect fit! Who cares if they're not "trendy"--these are a timeless classic!
5/31/08 4:46 PM
DorothyK said...
Perfect pants. Impeccable work.
5/31/08 1:52 PM
ClaireC said...
Another picture perfect garment that is perfectly sewn and fits you beautifully.
5/31/08 1:37 PM
Mufffet said...
Again, BEAUTIFUL...what gorgeous fabric.
5/31/08 12:10 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Super pants, great fit, DH Keith is right, they are FAB, love the linen too.
5/31/08 12:08 PM
Kay Y said...
The pants are perfect - no surprise there - but what really strikes me about your review is the lovely wallpaper pattern pieces. What a great idea!
5/31/08 11:58 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful pair of pants! I love how you transferred the pattern to wallpaper - what a great tip! And I agree with Annette that these are true classics! Lovely, simply lovely!!!
5/31/08 10:22 AM
BeckyC said...
Lily, your pants are beautiful on you. I wouldn't change the pant width either. Thank you for all of the great tips you shared in this review.
5/31/08 9:04 AM
phthooey said...
Those pants look just perfect on you. I can't wait until my sewing and patternmaking skills are a fraction as good as yours so I can feel comfortable using such amazing, luxurious fabrics! You have such great taste!
5/31/08 8:12 AM
CarolynGM said...
I think have attained the holy grail of perfect pants! Thanks for the wallpaper tip -- never would have thought to do that.
5/31/08 8:12 AM
carolynw said...
These pants fit you perfectly - if I had a pattern that fit like this then I would say to heck with being fashion forward - not sure why you think these aren't when they look so perfect on you.
5/31/08 8:11 AM
Fran G said...
Lovely work, Lily! The fabric looks really wonderful as do your pants!
5/31/08 8:02 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Why change something that works so well for you? Unless you want to try something a bit different. You could just try widening your TNT a bit in a cheaper fabric and see what you think.
5/31/08 7:48 AM
Rustybobn said...
Beautiful fabric, pants, construction, everything! I love the cheerful wallpaper pattern, too. What a good idea! Thanks.
5/31/08 7:43 AM
halleyscomet said...
Very stylish, designer looking slacks. I wouldn't change a thing! Your pattern pcs. were laid out on a grid board. Where can I get one of those?
5/31/08 7:26 AM
Kbenco said...
Lily, your husband has the right idea. These are classic, stylish trousers and look wonderful in the luxurious linen you have used. You realize that you are responsible for a severe dose of fabric lust after describing this wonderful linen!
5/31/08 5:57 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful trousers, Lily. Prepasted wallpaper, how ingenious! And cute too! :) The pretty paper pattern would put me in sewing mood any day.
5/31/08 4:59 AM
Karen8320 said...
Lily, they look great! When you have a pants pattern that you KNOW fits and works well, why would you change things? I'm always impressed and inspired by your sewing! Well done.
5/31/08 4:25 AM
willowsmum said...
Beautifully tailored trousers that fit the way trousers should, not too tight which will spoil the lines....don't you mess with them, I also have a pattern that I love. I bet they are really comfortable which is a bonus as well as being stylish.
5/31/08 3:45 AM
JMarie1962 said...
These pants are so beautiful and classic. As to "not very fashion forward", why mess with perfection? :)
5/31/08 1:26 AM
lmg said...
Your DH is wise. Those pants are just perfect for you and in double-faced linen to boot. Wow.
5/31/08 0:28 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Just beautiful! Your husband has the right idea - sometimes the classics are best. Especially with such a wonderful fabric, you don't want something that will be "out" in a couple of seasons.
5/31/08 0:23 AM
Annette1 said...
Lily, these are PERFECT. I admit it: I'm envious of that double-faced linen, HIGHLY envious! Perhaps by "not very fashion forward" you mean "a true classic," because that's exactly what these are. I love seeing all the close-up details in your pictures. Your workmanship is impeccable, as always. VERY CLASSY! Oh, and I almost forgot: GREAT idea to use wallpaper for your TNT patterns. I'm going to try that myself. I have a Burda pants pattern that if very similar to your pants, and that pattern has seen better days, to put it mildly. I still use it though, so thanks fo r the tip!
5/31/08 0:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 6103

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Simplicity 2152

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now