SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-105 (Blouse/jacket)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1006 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 11:20 AM
Last Updated:6/3/08 1:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewFar said...
This top looks great on you, cabinbaby! We seem to have very similar tastes in BWOF -- I have this cut out, waiting to be sewn! Thanks for the helpful review.
5/31/08 11:25 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This is so perfect on you! What a great blouse.
5/31/08 11:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really cute blouse. It will be wonderful in the wool too I think.
5/31/08 11:37 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
This is a great top. I can see how, in a different fabric, it would make a great jacket, too.
5/31/08 12:00 PM
SewFar said...
Edited to remove moot point. :)
5/31/08 12:03 PM
emo said...
This looks so great! I see you finally got the May issue... :) I had overlooked this, but now it's on the to sew list.
5/31/08 12:10 PM
Elke said...
Very cute and stylish!
5/31/08 12:54 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I didn't really like the leastic on their pink, but I really like your version! And you're right it'd be a perfect summer jacket, and I'd love some Japanese seersucker.. mm. Thanks for the inspiration :-).
5/31/08 1:20 PM
michellep74 said...
Great looking top. I liked this in the magazine, but I like your version even better.
5/31/08 4:44 PM
morzel said...
Very cute!
5/31/08 4:55 PM
Ronda Rae said...
That shirt is definitely on my sew list. I'm glad you reviewed it. I cut my first muslin out last weekend of that shirt and forgot to add seam allowances!!! It would have been my first BWOF so tomorrow I'm going to try again with tracing it and cutting out the pieces WITH seam allowances. The fit of yours is perfect!
5/31/08 5:09 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow...I think your top is beautiful. The fabric is perfect. I adore tops with pleats.
6/1/08 4:36 PM
cathy45 said...
This is so on my to do list--I never thought of it as a jacket---hmmm.
6/1/08 6:36 PM
EveS said...
I couldn't decide if I liked this blouse or not in the magazine, but I really, REALLY like your version! I may need to reconsider it.
6/2/08 0:57 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Like Eve, I thought this blouse was not shown to its best effect in the magazine, but your interpretation brings new life to the design. I love the plaid on you, too; you have the perfect body type for this glen plaid. So flattering. Will you ever wear it with the skirt you made from the same plaid? Lovely, Lily
6/2/08 11:22 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice! I love what you've done with the stripes in your tweed fabric. :o)
6/3/08 2:12 AM
Lori V said...
Great looking jacket, I want to make this one, so thanks for the informative review.
6/3/08 7:06 AM
MissCelie said...
I like it! This is one of the patterns from that month that really stood out to me!
6/3/08 7:35 AM
Ronda Rae said...
This one is great, too. Mine is almost finished and I really like it! Plus- for my first BWOF, it actually fits well! I won't be able to finish it for a another week - vacation starts today. I wanted to finish it last night but had to stay late at work to finish *it*. (I'd use the appropriate smiley if I could) Good to know it can be made almost exclusively on the serger, too. I thought it could.
6/3/08 7:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very flattering style, both the top and the jacket.
6/3/08 8:41 AM
Elke said...
This jacket is so versatile depending on fabric choice...love what you did with it!
6/3/08 9:42 AM
Winifred said...
So So lovely. Must make it now - have been dithering!
6/3/08 5:15 PM
EveS said...
Dang your speedy! Another great version. I, too, LOVE covered buttons! And I used the exact same cheater-snap closure last time I used them, too. Lovely! :)
6/3/08 9:03 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! I love your latest version in the wool tweed. I like your idea of using snaps and then using the covered buttons. Great job!
6/3/08 9:08 PM
Karen6790 said...
Said it on your blog and I'll say it again, I didn't give this a second glance in the magazine but now I have to have one. Isn't it funny there are certain BWOF patterns we all fix on and others that only the most observant notice and pass on to us. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention.
6/3/08 10:52 PM
Athene said...
Both your versions look so nice. This was one of my favorite pieces in that issue of BWOF so its nice to see it made up as a jacket. You sure are speedy - I wish I could be as fast. Always enjoy your reviews.
6/4/08 12:55 PM
sb1280 said...
Love this! When I saw it in BWOF, I liked the technical drawing but the picture was not inspiring - this is! And I had the same thought when I saw your picture - it looks like the jacket from the Sew Stylish article! I like this one better though - and I have it! Good work with the plaid as well, it looks terrific!
6/7/08 10:37 AM
Dilly Deli said...
Looks good, can't wait to try it!
7/3/08 4:46 PM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the great review. I chose this pattern to make a top with some cotton I received from Gorgeous Fabrics, and your review was most helpful. Can't wait to cut it out. Off to trace now. Hope your wedding turned out great. I'm sure you were the best dressed there!
7/4/08 12:14 PM
Athene said...
Such a great top - got to make this one for myself and my daughter.
7/10/08 4:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick 5595

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Jalie 2920

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review

Pattern