SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4859 (Misses Skirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 771 times 
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo

 
 
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/08 6:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
morzel said...
The contrast is just what I like with this skirt! I find the colours much better chosen than the example on the patternpage. So go for it! Why not sew something matching for it? Black tee with cream neckband or such?
6/1/08 7:43 AM
merteuil said...
thanks morzel. I have some of both fabrics left over, and was considering using them to make a top. I was thinking of Vogue 8393 View C, with the upper part in cream, just as you suggest.
6/1/08 7:55 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
High contrast is high style.. great skirt... Great selection & execution. Wear it.. it is fabulous! So perfect for a little summer sizzle.
6/1/08 8:10 AM
nglalala said...
the skirt looks great!
6/1/08 10:08 AM
fabeins said...
That's beautiful. DO wear it!
6/1/08 10:27 AM
edot said...
I think it's excellent! Sometimes contrast works better in theory, other times better in person; and while I don't think I'm adventurous enough to have thought to put black and white together, I think the result is much more striking and fantastic than a lesser contrasting pair. Kudos! It looks lovely on you.
6/1/08 11:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love the drama of the high contrast. This is a beautiful skirt.
6/1/08 11:41 AM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful! I love the contrast!
6/1/08 1:20 PM
Sic said...
Lovely skirt - the contrast is very striking, but tasteful! Choosing linen for the fabric was truly inspired!
6/1/08 2:25 PM
Beek said...
Great skirt. I bet it will look flattering when you walk in it. It will have movement and style.
6/1/08 2:39 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I think the high contrast is what makes this skirt great. I'd definitely wear it with some cute strappy heels. If I had the ability to mix like that, I'd do it more often- wear it with a little attitude;) it's very fashionable.
6/1/08 4:50 PM
sew42mom said...
Wear it!!!
6/1/08 5:02 PM
MareeAlison said...
To be honest I wasn't sure at first about the contrasting fabrics but when I saw your photo album I was convinced. This is fantastic - you should really wear it.
6/1/08 6:58 PM
MagpieJen said...
That is a smashing skirt! I love the flare of the hem, and I think the contrast really flatters the figure.
6/2/08 0:23 AM
cathy45 said...
The contrast is well done--This is soo chic looking!
6/2/08 8:54 AM
Hikerbeth said...
Lovely clear and detailed photographs really enhance this review. Especially as most of us sewers are visual people. Well Done!
12/4/09 0:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8670

photo
by: nosila

Review
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now