Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Contest: MY Pattern 2008 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 859 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/08 1:13 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beek said...
Very intriguing. I can't wait to see what happens next.
6/3/08 10:21 AM
lcavagnolo said...
I LOOOOOVE that fabric!
6/3/08 11:31 AM
CShelley said...
Looking real good. Keep going! GREAT fabric and design idea.
6/3/08 12:03 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Looking forward to the progress - and it looks like you've made a lot!
6/3/08 1:11 PM
anetJay said...
OOH OOH !!! pretty dress :) I LOVE the fabric !!!
6/4/08 9:18 AM
maryfrana said...
I am bowing down to you even now. This is awesome work. I have no idea how to do this and you are creating such a beautiful dress. Also, totally love the fabric.
6/4/08 11:19 AM
loti said...
This is a great fabric, is this a swedish designer fabric?
6/5/08 12:02 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Loti, I have no idea where it's from. It does look very Swedish though in style. We have the most fabulous textile designers in Sweden, several are also internationally successful. Unfortunately the only Swedish designed fabrics you can buy here are for interiors :(
6/6/08 10:58 AM
nancy2001 said...
Looks lovely, so far.
6/6/08 1:44 PM
Kat Holliday said...
Fabulous! There are some very talented people here!
6/6/08 7:23 PM
morzel said...
On the shoulder dart: The dart is there because of our round backs (you remember this old ladies in older times with bad osteoporosis? They would need a big shoulder dart. Whereas a ballet dancer with very upright posture needs only a small one). You can remove the shoulder dart by taking off some of the width at the shoulders armhole side. Just lay the shoulder front and shoulder back together, decide how much you can ease (you need a little easing for your back) and cut off the rest. If you rotate the dart into the armhole, you might get gapping back there on a sleeveless dress!
6/8/08 3:57 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Morzel, thank you for the tip! I will use that method instead.
6/8/08 10:24 AM
Aixoise said...
Thank you for showing us your clear and detailed pattern adjustments--very helpful. The design is lovely. I'm looking forward to the next episode in this adventure.
6/8/08 4:51 PM
Blooms said...
That is looking great! I am amazed that you can do this my draping. I can't wait to see the final version.
6/9/08 11:29 PM
Fine Fabrics said...
Fun, fun, fun fabric, and incredible and informative detail on pattern drafting for this project.
6/10/08 2:44 PM
Athene said...
Love the fabric for the final dress and am very fascinated by your WIP - look forward to seeing your updates and final product. ETA JULY 12/08: Thank you for such a detailed review with so many pictures and information - a sewing lesson in itself. Your final dress is fabulous.
6/18/08 2:03 AM
Gelbean said...
Your muslin looks beautiful. When I first looked at the photo I didn't know it was the muslin. I thought it was the perfect dress. Can't wait to see the final version.
6/19/08 9:34 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Congratulations on finishing! Your dress is lovely, and you used the geometric pattern of the fabric to great advantage. Thanks for documenting your process so thoroughly. This review is very educational for anyone wanting to learn the process.
6/29/08 2:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Electrifying dress, Johanna! You sizzle in this!
6/29/08 2:56 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Gorgeous! Superb job, Johanna.
6/29/08 3:28 PM
Kbenco said...
Thank you so much for describing the step by step work on this fabulous dress.
6/29/08 6:23 PM
snapdragonfly said...
Stunning dress, Johanna Lu, suits you. An exemplary review, thank you and well done.
6/30/08 1:22 PM
bananaoil said...
WOW! Thanks so much for all the details on how you made your pattern. It serves as a mini course on how to think out changing a pattern to suit. Your dress is beautiful on you,love those giant coffee beans!
6/30/08 4:15 PM
jhansby said...
Well done!!
6/30/08 6:28 PM
papalacios said...
Oh my goodness. I think I just got a great lesson in documentation!! Your review is wonderfully detailed. Thank you!
7/1/08 3:46 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous dress! And thank you for all the detail on how you did it.
7/2/08 5:43 PM
Blooms said...
Fab dress! It is so satisfying to complete something of your own design, isn't it?
7/3/08 0:48 AM
Fabricgurl said...
Love your dress. The bodice cut is really nice.
7/3/08 5:30 PM
blue mooney said...
This came out great! Love the fabric, and you chose a good style to show it off.
7/4/08 8:09 AM
morzel said...
Well done, Johanna! Your dress is beautiful, stylish and fun! Just right for summer. Enjoy wearing it!
7/7/08 3:14 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love this dress - the fabric and design are so great. I'm loving your reviews.
7/7/08 12:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress! The fabric really makes it.
8/7/08 4:57 AM
Marji said...
Joanna, I've finally had time to sit down and read through your pattern making process to achieve this dress. You got great results! It's Fascinating, the process you followed. I think we each approached a similar design from different angles, and it just goes to show that there is more than one way to successfully achieve a result. Lovely dress!
8/8/08 2:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Schnittquelle 01-133
photo
Review by Margaret on 3/15/14
Read Review

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 3197 Lydia
photo
Review by senaSews on 9/12/08
Read Review

McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6440 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6440 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us