SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2951 (Project Runway dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 652 times 
Reviewed by:Shikisew
photo

 
 
About Shikisewstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/6/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/08 12:49 PM
Last Updated:6/9/08 11:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Idosew said...
I love the color and your idea of using the 'other' side as a contrast. It came out great.
6/20/08 12:04 PM
Stitchcakes said...
I LOVE it! And the sandals, too! The color is perfect.
6/12/08 11:40 AM
kusine said...
That's an absolutely stunning dress, especially in that color on you! Fantastic job!
6/11/08 9:46 AM
LindsayT said...
Very nice job! I think these Project Runway patterns can be a little funky in terms of directions, so you got over that hurdle very nicely!
6/11/08 9:10 AM
Shikisew said...
Thank you all for all your encouragement and compliments. Pattern Review gets together an amazing group of supporting people don't you think? Because of your kind words I'm feeling like actually making it again. Thanks for letting me know I haven't been the only one affected by the "pregnant" look. Actually, I was at a wedding where the reception was at the same place as that for my own wedding so people might have been doing some wishful thinking because of that too. And Born2Bead, I got the sandals at Macy's in San Juan, PR, they are Marc Fisher.
6/10/08 11:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I for one don't think you look pregnant at all, just pretty and elegant. If you're like me when I first got married, then everyone is probably just HOPING you're pregnant. (My folks turned up on my doorstep the day before the wedding with a baby cradle. NO, I'm not kidding. :o) It became a cat cradle instead. Poor Mom, she was really hoping.) At any rate, you're drop-dead gorgeous in this beautiful RED satin dress, so beautifully rendered at your skilled hands.
6/10/08 5:43 PM
MagpieJen said...
I *love* how you used alternate sides of the fabric to give contrast - that is a beautiful picture of you in it, it looks simply smashing. I have some personal issues with babydolls on me, but you look so good in this style!
6/10/08 3:57 PM
Mahler said...
This dress look great ! What a great color !
6/10/08 3:38 PM
donna mel said...
i love that you used the 2 sides of the fabric for subtle contrast.
6/10/08 8:39 AM
carolynw said...
Truly beautiful - so many of today's dresses and tops give the impression that someone may be pregnant - could be a product of my age but that is really not a question to be put to anybody IMHO. I don't think you look pregnant - just beautiful and elegant.
6/10/08 8:38 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
6/10/08 7:03 AM
MareeAlison said...
Gorgeous dress.
6/10/08 2:28 AM
born2bead said...
Very cute and I love that color on you. Great pic too! Oh, and I love the sandals too!
6/9/08 6:46 PM
Markie1 said...
i think you look beautiful in your beautiful dress. And while pregnancy is beautiful too, you don't look a bit pregnant!
6/9/08 5:54 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I think you look wonderful in it! I know about the whole pregnancy question thing though. Some of the styles today are blousier than they have been in the past. I recently made a gathered tank top that is really blousy and got asked if I was pregnant, too. Anyway, I don't think you look it in this dress - I think you look lovely!
6/9/08 5:09 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
You look smashing. Love the colour.
6/9/08 4:34 PM
1betsy1 said...
Your dress is Beautiful, you look Fab!!!
6/9/08 4:06 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your dress looks lovely and you look radiant in the picture!
6/9/08 2:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

New Look 6186

photo
by: lizzie56

Review
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2994

photo
by: maria 6705

Review