SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2806 (Scoopneck tops with ruching or)

48 more reviews
Viewed 3439 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 368
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 266
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/08 2:01 PM
Last Updated:6/25/08 11:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 42 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ASiverson said...
I love this top, and it looks great on you in the fabric you used. I'm thinking of purchasing it myself. Thank you!
8/15/13 12:14 PM
holla said...
Such a great review! I just purchased 3 more of Jalies patterns, my sister picks them up for me in Montreal as I'm unable to purchase them in my small town. Pattern 2806 is one of the patterns I chose ...I really like the fold-over...but as I read the pattern, I couldn't figure it out.Thank for showing such detailed pictures...BTW...the top looks great on you.
2/14/10 10:38 PM
Ann's Fashion Studio said...
Wonderful review. Your top looks great! Thank you for the pictures.
7/28/08 9:02 AM
jillzie said...
this is a very honest review, i like the fact that you improvised the gather fold over problem. i might try this top, i would change the length of the fold over when i cut it out to see if that would thwart and difficulties with the drag problem, maybe a weight attached inside like a quarter or nickle would work too, okay you have me hooked i have to try this top now! and now i have a heads up on detours before i cut!
6/27/08 10:43 AM
Gold said...
Very cute!
6/27/08 0:46 AM
Ella said...
Review notes are great. Top is lovely. Model is goddess glam! Wow, Deepika!
6/26/08 2:29 PM
Leora said...
Wow. It looks so hard!! Very pretty top on you!
6/25/08 8:06 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Deepika, this is so incredibly helpful, especially the step where the foldover is pulled in so much it folds the neckband over. I would never have done this. I would have made sure the neckband laid flat. Thanks!
6/25/08 7:55 PM
Immelu said...
Ohhh, I'm glad this mystery is solved!!! I really, really like this top too.
6/25/08 7:29 PM
MareeAlison said...
Thanks for explanation Deepika and the photos which should help a lot.
6/25/08 7:25 PM
BeckyMc said...
Thanks for the update, Deepika! Now I understand. I love this top!
6/25/08 1:25 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous! Thank you for a detailed second review of this top. The pictures are fabulous. Thanks, Deepika!
6/25/08 12:08 PM
Georgene said...
Deepika, I have seen this type of top where the pleated bit in front is stitched on to the foldback of the pleats inside, but leaving the front portion of the pleats free. See if that works on your next version.
6/21/08 5:11 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This was an all around great review. Photo, info and materials. what more could you ask for in a review of a pattern.
6/18/08 12:29 PM
Deepika said...
Guys, you are in for a surprise. I just met the owner of Jalie patterns in Quebec city. She not only showed me the pleat technique but made the whole top for me when I was with her!! I will post detailed step by step photos in my review later this week.
6/18/08 9:40 AM
tod said...
I just purchased this pattern and am going to make the view with the pleat so am glad to know about the pleat before starting.
6/17/08 10:45 PM
marbroy said...
adorable top! Love it and it looks great
6/17/08 0:58 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice top - fit looks so good, and I love the fabric. I also love those pants - what a nice outfit!
6/16/08 10:34 PM
Stacy Sews said...
You look fantastic! I love this top!
6/14/08 5:55 PM
Winifred said...
This looks absolutely super on you.Interestingly I have a UFO from BWOF with a neck done just like this ( I mean the revised neck) Must finish it now!!
6/11/08 4:42 PM
carolynw said...
Jalie should hire you to show off this pattern - you look absolutely wonderful in it - love the print!!
6/11/08 3:11 PM
sideseams said...
Love the top on you!
6/11/08 1:49 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Great top, Deepika - it looks beautiful on you. Thanks for the heads up on the foldover!
6/11/08 9:17 AM
JDpenelope said...
Love the fabric and the final top, saved with help from Donna. Anxiously awaiting the photos from Jalie, as it seems their instructions are definitely lacking on this one.
6/11/08 5:29 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for such nice comments you all. I feel so pretty and special! I wore this top all day today. I just want to mention that I received some really helpful photos from Jalie today which I am going to post tomorrow to my review. I might even redo my "waterfall" pleat following the instructions in the photos. I can't wait to make more of these. Love this pattern.
6/11/08 0:34 AM
PVA said...
Me too on *All* of the above! I especially appreciate the details on how to "fix" the little glitch with the foldover. What a terrific save! I really thank you for the review.
6/11/08 0:25 AM
donna mel said...
i'm happy i could help, deepika! the top is perfect on you.
6/10/08 9:09 PM
2BSewing said...
Great looking top! Love the tulip sleeve. Definitely love the fabric. Enjoyed your pictures and your review.
6/10/08 8:37 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great top Deepika and I'm very envious of your fabric. :) Love the tulip sleeves too. Thanks for the details on how you fixed the waterfall gathers. I've been mulling over the instructions wondering if there might be an issue. Your review is very helpful.
6/10/08 8:00 PM
born2bead said...
cute top and I love the colors in the pattern. Looks great on you. I love your idea of getting one project done a month. Nice job!
6/10/08 6:34 PM
ConnieBJ said...
It is a great tee isn't it! I mocked up one loved it.
6/10/08 6:28 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great save on the pleat. The top is perfect, and the pictures are gorgeous.
6/10/08 6:12 PM
cindy-lou said...
Okay. I TOTALLY want your autograph now! Partly because you look like a movie star in that top (!!!!), and partly because you and your friend put your own special touches on it to make it so incredibly fab. I LOVE it! Can't wait to totally rip off your ideas, too. ;)
6/10/08 5:54 PM
Dei said...
Could you be any cuter! Great top and I'm loving that fabric. I had the same issue with a dress doing the same fold-over drama in the front. I ended up having to tack it down as well.
6/10/08 5:25 PM
Birgitte said...
Wow, you got some serious fabulousness going on in that photo!! The top looks high-end, the fit perfect. And how fun you got to use the same great fabric as in the pattern photo! Donna's solution was great, and is sure to help anyone making this top.
6/10/08 4:47 PM
Annette1 said...
Deepika, you and Donna are looking MARVELOUS, you in your brand-new Jalie top and Donna in her lovely frock. Together you've made this top a true winner! I really enjoyed your review. :o)
6/10/08 4:47 PM
Karen6790 said...
The style and fabric look wonderful on you. Congrats to you (and Donna) for figuring out the foldover issue.
6/10/08 4:37 PM
kim*brown said...
Cute, love the print!
6/10/08 3:55 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Very pretty top - fabric and style on you. Great job!
6/10/08 3:35 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty top and great review.
6/10/08 3:02 PM
USMCMom said...
Deepika! Is that you? You look like a movie star! Tres chic. I love that fabric and three cheers to you for coming up with a solution for that front pleat. Nice review.
6/10/08 2:52 PM
pterion said...
This top looks lovely - terrific save on the foldover! How nice to have helpful sewing friends :-)
6/10/08 2:44 PM
dbsewer said...
Deepika, what a great top. I've been eyeing this pattern and your review will save me a lot of questions on the foldover. The top looks great on you. Kudos to Donna for saving the day.
6/10/08 2:30 PM
Eme said...
Aw, so glad you saved the top! LOOOOVE the sleeves and the top looks wonderful on you. I'm getting pattern envy...must...order...soon... :)
6/10/08 2:26 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for the heads up about the problem with the foldover. I have a friend with a similar body type to mine who has a similar foldover RTW top that looks great on her, so I was particularly interested in seeing this reviewed. Your top is adorable and looks great on you!
6/10/08 2:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 2:Top #4

photo
by: SusiM

Review
Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2013-12

photo
by: olgarosita

Review
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

More Info
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

More Info