SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1051 (Alice & Olivia flared pants)

42 more reviews
Viewed 926 times 
Reviewed by:Blooms
photo

 
 
About Bloomsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/2/06
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/08 0:03 AM
Last Updated:6/21/08 0:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Well, Miss Smarty-Britches, these are some smart britches indeed! Your altered pants look PERFECT on you, so don't let the fitting issues put you off. You've got them mastered now, and it would be a shame not to make good use of this pattern. (I LOVE that color, too.)
6/21/08 1:10 AM
Dei said...
Elephant pants. That was funny! Well you've done a great job altering them into a cute pair of pants.
6/21/08 6:01 AM
Sheila457 said...
I applaude you on tweaking the pants -they came out great.
6/21/08 8:31 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I'm glad to see a review of this pattern. Your pants look very nice. Well done on tweaking the fit.
6/21/08 9:22 AM
carolynw said...
Not at all elephant pants when you were finished with your tweaking - nice fit - I wonder if you started with too large a size?
6/21/08 9:32 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! Those look SOOO NICE!!!! You did an EXCELLENT job!!!!!
6/21/08 9:53 AM
Kay Y said...
Take comfort from the fact that when others see you they will mostly see you on the move, and they'll think - what a great looking, fluid & drapey pair of trousers.
6/21/08 11:02 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I don't see any elephant - fit looks pretty good to me. The question as always - Is it better than RTW? I love the wide leg look on you. These are terrific!
6/21/08 1:11 PM
ButtonFaith said...
i'm always so impressed when poeple get their pants to fit so well...yourare no exception! They look GREAT! What a wonderful job!
6/22/08 0:42 AM
meli88a said...
Nice save! These look great after your adjustments!
6/22/08 12:39 PM
selvage said...
I don't know if you've tried this pattern again yet, but you might try just going down a size--or if the waist fits, taper down from the top of the waist and cut the smaller size everywhere else. I made them in the size that matches my measurements exactly and they were too big; like you, I ended up taking in seams everywhere to get them to work. I'm thinking of following Dei's tip and going one size down next time.
11/1/08 1:10 AM
Athene said...
Your altered version is a great fit. Excellent before and after photos - very inspiring.
1/20/09 0:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8088

photo
by: tinflutter...

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-8

photo
by: Sandi S

Review