SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4745 (Lifestyle Wardrobe)

13 more reviews
Viewed 396 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/08 11:38 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Learn To Sew said...
I would say you gave it your best shot, but this pattern is not up to your fab standards. I do like the color on you, though. Thanks for reviewing something that did not work out for you.
6/21/08 12:13 PM
sewbehind said...
I think the colour and cut of the pattern looks very nice on you. I think it is worth tweaking to get it there. I personally did several knit muslins of a twist top to get it just where I wanted it to be.
6/21/08 12:13 PM
Luckylibbet said...
So sorry to hear you don't like it! My first thought on seeing the photo was "OOOh, another cute top from Irene." FWIW, I think it looks great.
6/21/08 12:59 PM
dr. liz said...
Irene, your "didn't work" would be a "works great" for me. I agree, it's very flattering in color and design. You can always wear a cami underneath.
6/21/08 2:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great save. The top ended up looking quite nice in the photo.
6/21/08 3:50 PM
RuthieSews said...
Looks quite good to me, but I know what you mean about necklines coming too low, its hard to get the happy medium :-)
6/21/08 6:15 PM
Debbie Cook said...
It is cute and I agree the color is great. Too bad it wasn't what you had hoped to get with the pattern.
6/21/08 9:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
My reaction was like Luckylibbet's - hey, cute top, great color, very flattering. I'm sorry you're not completely satisfied with it. From here, it looks wonderful.
6/21/08 9:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Irene, my first reaction was that you used a size too large. Then when I read what size you used, yikes. I think if you made it a smaller size and enlarged right where you need too, you would have better luck.
6/21/08 10:11 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Irene wouldn't you love it if the pattern photo actually had a variety of body shapes modeled so we would know when we see it "Stop that's not for you" that would help alot and keep us from not liking something which is actually cute. Great color hope you had enough fabric to make you something else.
6/22/08 0:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I can appreciate choosing the wrong fabric. I think we all do that from time to time. The color is lovely on you. I think it is a doable pattern for you when you find the right fabric.
6/22/08 7:36 AM
OP Gal said...
Very helpful. It sounds like you've learned enough about sewing this top for yourself that you will probably find the next try a better fit.
6/22/08 4:49 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I do like the color on you - thanks for the warnings and helpful advice.
6/23/08 2:56 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, for my two cents, I say it looks great, so enjoy it! This has always been one of my favorite patterns (although I've not made it). Your info will come in very handy. I don't like tops that are too low either. I figure everybody KNOWS I'm busty, so I don't care to advertise it.
6/23/08 6:21 PM
Aunt Gail said...
YOu have a GREAT smile, and the color seemed okay, but I do agree with you. Despite your best efforts the pattern is just not for you. I am right behind you in the line Low Necklines NOT for ME Club! You gave a good analysis of the pattern.
7/2/08 2:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Megan Nielsen MN2102

photo
by: Corinnna

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now