Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6808 (Misses Easy Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2352 times 60 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:misscoleen
photo
Friend of PR
About misscoleenstar
NY USA
Member since: 2/22/07
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:6/26/08 11:39 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tatterbat said...
Very cute top, and it looks great on you. I am a big fan of Nancy's pivot and slide method, too. I like reading about your journey with this project. Way to go!
6/26/08 11:12 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Beautiful job, I saw the picture and would've never guessed you are a "beginner" until I read the review! Thanks so much, I've been looking at this pattern and wondering what it looks like in real life - I think the answer is GREAT. :-)
6/26/08 12:04 PM
misscoleen said...
Thanks for the nice comments - when I say painfully slow I am not exaggerating in the least. My husband thinks I'm crazy spending so much time on a garment that i could buy cheaper and at this stage of my sewing - better quality Ha! He is very supportive though :)
6/26/08 12:10 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Better quality, for sure! (regarding your comment to your DH) This top looks great and fits so well. I just bought Nancy's Fitting Finesse book after someone mentioned the pivot-and-slide method in another review. Congrats on a job well done and good luck with the contest!
6/26/08 12:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous top! It looks great on you! I have this pattern and hope to make it up, too, at some point this summer.
6/26/08 12:37 PM
rozzybabe said...
We all started somewhere, & it seems you've done well & learned in the process! Can't beat that! Nancy's pivot & slide for altering is my "bible"; I'd not do it any other way. Congratulations all round.
6/26/08 12:49 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive top! Your top will help sell more of this pattern!
6/26/08 12:54 PM
kjcaron said...
Your top came out wonderful! It looks so nice on you. Your patience and perseverance paid off and was very motivation for me, another beginner. Enjoy your pretty new top!
6/26/08 1:08 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful work - your top is lovely and looks terrific on you
6/26/08 2:18 PM
Vonnevo said...
Oh, this top is beautiful and stylish !!! Thank you for writing a comprehensive review of this pattern that I have my eye on. Your perseverence and dedication to learning, has rewarded you and help many others. I am looking forward to seeing more great results.
6/26/08 3:17 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You did an excellent job on constructing your top - it looks fabulous on!
6/26/08 3:22 PM
scrappycat said...
Beautiful! I love this top. I can't believe you are a beginner and making alterations. I am not brave enough yet!
6/26/08 4:03 PM
ConnieinAustin said...
So cute! I bought this pattern a while back, but couldn't decide what fabric to use. Seeing yours made up has helped me decide...it will be perfect for my daughter in some vintage gingham my mom gave me recently (acid green and white check with tiny orange peaches embroidered on it). Congratulations on your project and keep up the good work!
6/26/08 5:42 PM
Gelbean said...
Your top is beautiful and it looks perfect on you. You did a fantastic job.
6/26/08 6:40 PM
tashainflorence said...
Really nice work, congratulations!
6/27/08 3:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice looking blouse. Good review and keep on reviewing.
6/27/08 5:27 AM
Karen8320 said...
Congratulations, misscoleen, on your first review and your foray into sewing. You've done a fabulous job with this top and the modifications you've made to the pattern have made it fit you so well. Great work! Your review is very comprehensive and will no doubt help many others of us. You look fabulous in your top and I encourage you to keep sewing.
6/27/08 7:48 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Great work!! I wouldn't have guessed you were a beginner either, like someone else already said. I was in the "doing more reading than sewing" phase until about four months ago, when I discovered knit fabrics and the fact that they really require no fitting adjustments! I'm in love with the fact that everything fits perfectly "out of the box", so I'm still in knit fabric mania mode. Look forward to more of your reviews!
6/27/08 9:57 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely top!
6/27/08 11:20 AM
born2bead said...
Adorable! Great job for a beginner too!
6/27/08 3:52 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"I do more reading then sewing..." ME, too!! You're an inspiration to me!! WONDERFUL vintage blouse!!
6/27/08 4:27 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful blouse - your fit is SO good! You are a natural! The color, style and fabric suit you. By the way, the background scenery is just lovely! I thought "Is that Vermont?!" But New York is lovely too!
6/27/08 5:17 PM
Catbird said...
Excellent work! The fit is beautiful and it looks so good on you. Congratulations!
6/27/08 7:51 PM
SheilaAnn said...
I love the top and your enthusiam is contagious!
6/27/08 9:25 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Wow, fabulous job! I love the brooch, BTW. Thanks so much for your thoroughly documented review!
6/28/08 10:04 AM
misscoleen said...
Thank you. The brooch is actually a clip on earring :)
6/28/08 11:47 AM
Bridget B. said...
Your top looks great! I am a beginner like you. Your review was very encouraging!
6/28/08 4:29 PM
Bridget B. said...
Your top looks great! I am a beginner like you. Your review was very encouraging!
6/28/08 4:29 PM
strasfamily said...
Your top looks great! I am impressed at all the things you have learned while making this top. Great review.
6/28/08 11:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Your meticulous work has really paid off, as you have a BEAUTIFULLY fitted top. Take pride in wearing it! You look GREAT in it. :o)
6/29/08 1:23 AM
shesflipped said...
This top looks fabulous on you! Loved your review and your sharing about being a new sewer. I can totally relate! I'm really looking forward to sewing what you create next!
6/29/08 8:24 AM
rebija said...
Beautiful color and fit! Congratulations. Isn't sewing sooo much fun?!!!
6/30/08 12:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous top! I love your fabric choice and the brooch. Nice touch! It really makes the blouse. I'm also impressed with the finishing and how nicely your blouse fits. Super job all round!
7/2/08 7:46 AM
Athene said...
A very attractive and well fitted top. You look great in it.
7/2/08 11:44 PM
frame said...
This looks really nice on you.
7/3/08 10:37 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your top! It looks great. (I still tend to read more than sew.) That's a great style, and I just love the neckline.
7/5/08 11:11 PM
Fictionfan said...
Great job on this top! Doing a FBA and a difficult collar application for a beginner is really an accomplishment. You may want to point out to DH that no RTW top will fit this well! It's worth the slow sewing just for that great fit, and the top looks wonderful on you. None of the errors or difficulties are evident on the finished garment (except to you).
7/7/08 8:45 PM
mClones said...
Hey, Colleen, great top! Congrats on your success...Mina
7/13/08 9:56 PM
Jatman said...
Your review inspired me to buy this pattern. Congratulations on winning the contest!
7/15/08 10:45 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
Congratulations on winning first place in the contest! Your top looks wonderful; you did a great job on it.
7/15/08 11:28 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great job and review! Good luck on your future projects and congrats on winning the contest!!
7/15/08 11:32 AM
AngieC said...
I love you top! Your review is honest and will be helpful to others. Congrats on winning the contest!
7/15/08 12:18 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Cute blouse! But your loose pants are probably not too big, I bet they're too stiff instead. The looser the style the drapier the fabric is a good rule of thumb.
7/15/08 2:17 PM
taylormade said...
Thanks for your review. It was very helpful to read about all your "learning experiences", even for someone like me who has been sewing for 50 years! Congratulations on your achievements! Sewing is like therapy; the only cost is your time and the fabric!! Keep up the good work Taylormade
7/16/08 7:45 AM
taylormade said...
Thanks for your review. It was very helpful to read about all your "learning experiences", even for someone like me who has been sewing for 50 years! Congratulations on your achievements! Sewing is like therapy; the only cost is your time and the fabric!! Keep up the good work Taylormade
7/16/08 7:45 AM
Dilly Deli said...
I think Misscoleen did a great job! She has learned so much with such little experience. I think she is going to be a great sewer!
7/16/08 5:52 PM
said...
Great information! I just bought this pattern.
7/24/08 4:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by Patti B on 6/14/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3604
photo
Review by Judy Kski on 3/31/13
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Cambie Dress Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cambie Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1945 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1945 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us