SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5030 (Misses Dress, Belt and Sash)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1141 times 
Reviewed by:edot
photo

 
 
About edotstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/9/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/08 10:25 PM
Last Updated:6/23/08 10:30 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sharkycharming said...
Thanks for your very helpful review. I am a beginner and I love wrap dresses so I'd like to give this a shot. And I added you as a favorite because you rock the Fluevogs!
11/29/10 3:02 PM
nicegirl said...
I like that you decided to leave the bodice loose! I think it looks great on you like that. Hopefully your next knit project will be a little easier out of the envelope!
6/25/08 10:19 AM
VintageViolet said...
It sounds like a lot of hard work went into this dress but I think it looks fabulous on you--very flattering!
6/25/08 5:55 AM
edot said...
I wondered about the knit/woven option too, wvsher--at least that's the excuse I'm using for having had troubles!
6/24/08 6:08 PM
wvsher said...
Nice job on the dress, and pretty kitty! Oddly, this pattern lists both stretch and non-stretch fabrics as possible choices -- I think this is a flaw in the pattern drafting, and it's not your fault you had trouble with it. Butterick should have either sized it for knits or wovens, not tried to combine them in one pattern.
6/24/08 3:20 PM
Annette1 said...
All of your modifications paid off, as you've got a lovely dress out of the bargain (AND a cherished cat bed). Great job!
6/24/08 2:13 PM
suzanrossi said...
Your perseverance paid off! I learn a lot from trials such as this pattern seems to have been. Don't give up on knits - they can be very fun.
6/24/08 10:10 AM
Sew Confused said...
This turned out really well. I think you made a good choice to leave the bodice loose. It looks great; well done!
6/23/08 11:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 4728

photo
by: Foutchy

Review
Simplicity 2308

photo
by: HermionesE...

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

More Info
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

More Info