Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Petite Plus Patterns: 103 (Button Front Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 500 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:kellymailinglist
photo
About kellymailinglist
OH USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/08 4:01 PM
Last Updated:6/29/08 8:49 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
misscoleen said...
Very nice top. AND I really enjoyed reading about your adventures in sewing this one up especially the tea leaves comment - how i can relate to that one!
6/27/08 4:49 PM
kjcaron said...
It's looks great! You did a wonderful job sewing this!
6/27/08 6:13 PM
craftygamma said...
Love your review--so realistic! I have carried fabric & pattern instructions into different rooms hoping that would help me understand them, like maybe if I sit in my favorite chair it will come to me..sure. I, too, hate it when facings don't stay in place. I never thought of doing a decorative stitch for double duty. Good job! A $20 pattern??? It would have to sew the garment for me in order for me to spend that much.
6/27/08 6:57 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! You did such a NICE job!!! It's looks WONDERFUL!!!
6/27/08 7:39 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Hi guys--Thanks for all the nice comments, everyone, and I'm glad to know I'm not the only one forever wondering about pattern instructions. Sigh. And craftygamma, I, too, would probably never spend $20 for a pattern. I bought this one for far less from a PR classified! Gotta love it!
6/27/08 9:22 PM
tashainflorence said...
You are so not alone with those kinds of instructions, believe me! I think this top looks great, and I like the top-stitching. Very cool fabric & buttons. Brava!
6/28/08 9:30 AM
ChristineBR said...
It might have been tricky, but the style DOES work for you.
6/28/08 9:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking blouse. All of your persistence paid off because you certainly have a winner here.
6/28/08 11:22 AM
Peggy L said...
Nice job and informative review.
6/29/08 9:34 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Great review and wonderful job on the top. You obviously also have talent in manipulating photos to alter the background and add text details which is a nice touch. I liked the X stitching of the button with contrasting thread. Thanks for sharing the tip on button shank length - new for me.
6/29/08 11:23 AM
Fictionfan said...
You did a great job on this blouse, especially considering that you had no help with those tricky steps. They really should have had an illustration for that kind of step, because even I as an experienced sewer had to read that a few times before I figured out what they wanted you to do. You are on your way to sewing anything you want! If you can figure out this pattern without having done facings and interfacing and side slits before, there is no limit for what you can accomplish. However, I suggest that you invest in a good reference book, like Reader's Digest Complete Book of Sewing or Vogue book of sewing or Simplicity's book (that one may be out of print). With a reference book that has good illustrations, you would not need to consult tea leaves in order to put your item together! You don't look dumpy in that blouse, BTW. The style looks on you as it is supposed to look. But maybe what you want is more shaping with waist darts to achieve a more fitted silhouettte?
6/29/08 11:57 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you've learned so much on this one pattern, bravo. Thanks for sharing and I hope you enjoy your new shirt. I think your details made it really work for you...and I think you picture manipulation is so enjoyable.
6/29/08 12:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, you really did a great job on this! This is a pretty challenging project for a beginner, and I think that you executed it very well. You should be proud of all of your hard work!
6/29/08 3:29 PM
AnneM said...
Great job. The fit, while not perfect, is certainly is reasonable - definitely wearable.
7/5/08 11:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
You did a wonderful job on this shirt, especially given there were so many firsts. Well done!
7/10/08 7:22 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Hi all: Just wanted to thank everyone once again for the kind remarks. Fictionfan, I'm glad to know that even more experienced sewers found those steps problematic--I feel a little less brainless, so thanks! I also wanted to mention that the book I'm finding most valuable right now for basic stuff is Connie Crawford Amaden's book on Fashion Sewing (can't think of the exact name at the moment). It was very helpful with this project and I've found it to be for most others, too.
7/11/08 6:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fantastic fabric and style! Your version is more enticing than what I see from the pattern! Hey, I empathize with your experiences. I still have those moments, especially when I misinterpret and cannot interpret given steps! Very helpful, entertainig, and lively review!;-}
7/11/08 8:42 AM
Athene said...
A very well done job on the blouse. You got a very good fit.
7/11/08 7:28 PM
said...
Congratulations! I think this blouse looks great and I *love* the fabric. You may not be entirely happy with it but think of it this way: you learned to do a whole bunch of techniques *and* you came away with a lovely, wearable blouse instead of a wadder. BTW, thanks for sending on the mis-sent BWoF issues. They arrived today and I hope that the package I have sent you arrives soon. (Couldn't send you this message directly since your PR settings have receiving personal messages turned *off*.)
7/12/08 2:47 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
fourkid said...
Beautiful bouse - I think it looks great. I just ordered the pattern and have been reading reviews of it first. Thank you for you honest and great review - keep sewing - you are doing great!!
2/26/09 11:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 4095
photo
Review by merrypatte... on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6035 MISSES' SHIRTS
photo
Review by relliotts on 11/8/11
Read Review

Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas
Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us