SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-124 (knit top with side gathering)

10 more reviews
Viewed 575 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/08 8:51 AM
Last Updated:6/28/08 9:00 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BeckyMc said...
OK, I think your top looks great! But I have to disagree with you about it making you look hippy. All I see when I look at the photo is a tiny waist and shapely bust. Celebrate those curves! I grew up in a family of women who always over analyzed everything in regards to hips. So my body self-image became distorted because of their hang ups. It wasn't until I was in my thirties that I learned by attending a sewing class and having my peers visually critique my figure that I had an hour glass shape, NOT big hips! Everyone was in agreement, including the instructors. I had been agonizing about hips for nothing. So, I would like to say to you: It looks great! Wear it!
7/1/08 12:34 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This was most helpful review. I like the look of this top. Like the beading you did at the neckline.
6/29/08 2:40 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Oh, to have a lovely waist like yours! I agree with everyone, this top is GORGEOUS on you! Thanks for a great review, will try this one (or at least add it to my long list of "Must makes"!!)
6/29/08 9:10 AM
Annette1 said...
Are you NUTS? This looks FANTASTIC on you! If I had your figure, I'd be flaunting this top all over the God's green earth. :o) And ACTUALLY, I think the asymmetric gathers at the hip are flattering BECAUSE they're asymmetrical. I'm planning to make yet this weekend that Simplicity pattern that has gathers similar to this, but it's sleeveless. I like this one with sleeves better. :o) I LOVE IT!
6/29/08 0:54 AM
WendyGR said...
Uh oh, another great Bwof pattern! It's amazing to me how much better these look in real pics instead of the stylized pics in the magazine. Great job!
6/28/08 9:29 PM
figtree said...
Looks great, your v-neck came out really nice. I still struggle with them.
6/28/08 6:18 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Your top is absolutely FANTASTIC! Very nice neckline (thanks for the tip and your pattern piece with the raised neckline!) and I think the asymmetry really looks great on you! Glad to be of help and I am so glad that you incorporated your modifications to create a top that you can call your own. Thanks for a super review with your construction details!
6/28/08 11:34 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
That top is SOOOO CUTE!!! It looks SOOO NICE on you!!! You did an excellent job!!!!
6/28/08 11:31 AM
MagpieJen said...
Thank you for such a great review! I think you look wonderfully curvy in the top, and you did a great job persevering on the fit.
6/28/08 11:16 AM
TrixieD said...
This is on my to-do list, and your details will be so useful when I get around to sewing. i love the colour and the style. It's flattering.
6/28/08 9:12 AM
dbsewer said...
This is a really cute top and I disagree with your DH, it looks very nice on you. Glad you worked out all the fitting bugs. It will make a great wardribe staple.
6/28/08 9:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

More Info
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2261

photo
by: VirginiasD...

Review