SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2001-112 (Trench Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 438 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/08 10:13 AM
Last Updated:6/30/08 10:20 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peacock Chic said...
WOW THAT IS LOOKS SO WONDERFUL AND PROFESSIONAL. lOVE IT
7/5/08 0:07 AM
blue mooney said...
Be-you-ti-ful! Thanks for all the tips. I think you made a good decision to leave out most of the pleats; it makes your dress look sleeker. Gee, wonder if I have this issue?
7/4/08 7:57 AM
ALY said...
Beautiful dress! I pulled this BWOF issue out for the very same dress during my summer wardrobe planning.
7/2/08 8:05 PM
nicegirl said...
Why, oh why, do I not have this issue of BWOF? That is a knockout dress. I love it!
7/2/08 5:37 PM
MagpieJen said...
I *adore* this! Beautiful, smart, feminine, sharp, flattering - this dress has it all. Thank you for the wonderful review too!
7/2/08 12:49 PM
Dei said...
We're getting awfully close to couture here. Love the drape and the collar.
7/1/08 10:05 PM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous! Beautifully detailed dress and beautifully executed! This dress is so stylish and flattering on you. It just shows you that nothing is really 'new' in fashion.
7/1/08 7:15 AM
LuceLu said...
Thanks! Great review and classy dress! That dress would have really cost you had you purchased it in the boutique.
7/1/08 6:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking trench dress. Another beautiful project.
7/1/08 5:13 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful dress.
6/30/08 11:05 PM
Mahler said...
Kay, your collar falls like a charm. I am impressed, again, by your skills. This dress is, without a doubt ,much more beautiful then any you would buy in a store. Never would they sew with such precision. This is a fabulous dress. The picture you have as thumbnail is well chosen, it makes us want to click and see more. Thank you for this wonderful review.
6/30/08 10:45 PM
KarmenG said...
That is one smashing dress! Very lovely. Interesting about the center front curling, and your fix sure solved that. Thanks for the great review and idea with what to do with all this linen in my stash! That style is timeless.
6/30/08 8:55 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful dress!
6/30/08 8:46 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great detailing and construction on your coat dress. It's a great classic look that will never go out of style.
6/30/08 6:26 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, looks so very stylish with the trench coat design details.
6/30/08 6:11 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow, gorgeous dress!
6/30/08 4:25 PM
Beek said...
I love reading your reviews, Kay. You are certainly an expert seamstress and your choice of patterns are always intriguing.
6/30/08 3:42 PM
Fran G said...
Very nice dress and thanks for the tip on solving the curling problem.
6/30/08 2:04 PM
patrica said...
BEAUTIFUL DRESS, WHAT AN EXCELLENT SEAMSTRESS YOU ARE.
6/30/08 12:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp and chic, Kay!
6/30/08 12:28 PM
Peggy L said...
Kay - this turned out beautifully. Great review.
6/30/08 12:15 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, how forward of them to issue this back in 2001. I must have this!
6/30/08 12:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful dress and so flattering on you. Great fit and construction.
6/30/08 12:10 PM
Tiner W said...
This is a wonderful dress--so classic! It's very flattering on you.
6/30/08 12:02 PM
stitcheroo said...
This is a gorgeous, gorgeous dress.
6/30/08 11:16 AM
jkaori said...
What an amazing dress --- the style is so flattering and classic. Your sewing looks beautiful as well. Congratulations!
6/30/08 11:14 AM
MissCelie said...
Gorgeous Kay. I've had the same experience in finding *just* the right pattern in Burda. Lovely!
6/30/08 10:52 AM
Sigrid. said...
You and I really have the same taste! What a beautiful dress. Unfortunately I don't have BWOF from that year. Otherwise I would sew it too. Perhaps you can sew a Jalie tee for instant gratification? (If you like making a tee).
6/30/08 10:48 AM
Dee2 said...
Wonderful dress--really a classic. I like the design changes you made & your sewing is really beautiful.
6/30/08 10:44 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow! That is so classy looking. Thanks for all the details and tips.
6/30/08 10:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

More Info