Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2001-112 (Trench Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 438 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/08 10:13 AM
Last Updated:6/30/08 10:20 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
Wow! That is so classy looking. Thanks for all the details and tips.
6/30/08 10:32 AM
Dee2 said...
Wonderful dress--really a classic. I like the design changes you made & your sewing is really beautiful.
6/30/08 10:44 AM
Sigrid. said...
You and I really have the same taste! What a beautiful dress. Unfortunately I don't have BWOF from that year. Otherwise I would sew it too. Perhaps you can sew a Jalie tee for instant gratification? (If you like making a tee).
6/30/08 10:48 AM
MissCelie said...
Gorgeous Kay. I've had the same experience in finding *just* the right pattern in Burda. Lovely!
6/30/08 10:52 AM
jkaori said...
What an amazing dress --- the style is so flattering and classic. Your sewing looks beautiful as well. Congratulations!
6/30/08 11:14 AM
stitcheroo said...
This is a gorgeous, gorgeous dress.
6/30/08 11:16 AM
Tiner W said...
This is a wonderful dress--so classic! It's very flattering on you.
6/30/08 12:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful dress and so flattering on you. Great fit and construction.
6/30/08 12:10 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, how forward of them to issue this back in 2001. I must have this!
6/30/08 12:10 PM
Peggy L said...
Kay - this turned out beautifully. Great review.
6/30/08 12:15 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp and chic, Kay!
6/30/08 12:28 PM
patrica said...
BEAUTIFUL DRESS, WHAT AN EXCELLENT SEAMSTRESS YOU ARE.
6/30/08 12:52 PM
Fran G said...
Very nice dress and thanks for the tip on solving the curling problem.
6/30/08 2:04 PM
Beek said...
I love reading your reviews, Kay. You are certainly an expert seamstress and your choice of patterns are always intriguing.
6/30/08 3:42 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow, gorgeous dress!
6/30/08 4:25 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, looks so very stylish with the trench coat design details.
6/30/08 6:11 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great detailing and construction on your coat dress. It's a great classic look that will never go out of style.
6/30/08 6:26 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful dress!
6/30/08 8:46 PM
KarmenG said...
That is one smashing dress! Very lovely. Interesting about the center front curling, and your fix sure solved that. Thanks for the great review and idea with what to do with all this linen in my stash! That style is timeless.
6/30/08 8:55 PM
Mahler said...
Kay, your collar falls like a charm. I am impressed, again, by your skills. This dress is, without a doubt ,much more beautiful then any you would buy in a store. Never would they sew with such precision. This is a fabulous dress. The picture you have as thumbnail is well chosen, it makes us want to click and see more. Thank you for this wonderful review.
6/30/08 10:45 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful dress.
6/30/08 11:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking trench dress. Another beautiful project.
7/1/08 5:13 AM
LuceLu said...
Thanks! Great review and classy dress! That dress would have really cost you had you purchased it in the boutique.
7/1/08 6:22 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous! Beautifully detailed dress and beautifully executed! This dress is so stylish and flattering on you. It just shows you that nothing is really 'new' in fashion.
7/1/08 7:15 AM
Dei said...
We're getting awfully close to couture here. Love the drape and the collar.
7/1/08 10:05 PM
MagpieJen said...
I *adore* this! Beautiful, smart, feminine, sharp, flattering - this dress has it all. Thank you for the wonderful review too!
7/2/08 12:49 PM
nicegirl said...
Why, oh why, do I not have this issue of BWOF? That is a knockout dress. I love it!
7/2/08 5:37 PM
ALY said...
Beautiful dress! I pulled this BWOF issue out for the very same dress during my summer wardrobe planning.
7/2/08 8:05 PM
blue mooney said...
Be-you-ti-ful! Thanks for all the tips. I think you made a good decision to leave out most of the pleats; it makes your dress look sleeker. Gee, wonder if I have this issue?
7/4/08 7:57 AM
Peacock Chic said...
WOW THAT IS LOOKS SO WONDERFUL AND PROFESSIONAL. lOVE IT
7/5/08 0:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Vogue Patterns 1248
photo
Review by Marge99 on 8/20/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1079
photo
Review by BenaeQuee on 12/17/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us