SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Pamela's Patterns> 104 (the perfect t shirt)

36 more reviews
Viewed 666 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/08 9:41 PM
Last Updated:7/5/08 10:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Carol, your tees look O.K. to me. If you took Shannon's class in making a muslin you would make a shoulder template. That would be OH SO helpful in making any top. Some of us...cough...like ME for instance, need more of a 10-12 in the shoulders and then right on up to a 20 by the time you get to the waist and down. So it really helps to have the template for shoulders. Do you do an FBA also? A bit of an FBA might aid in fitting the bodice as well. Then the class on Build a Better Tee is GREAT also. But you look like you are coming right along on this tee thing...I know how that goes! :)
7/5/08 0:04 AM
nancy2001 said...
Carol, this is a good first tee shirt. I'm sure you'll be able to fine tune eventually. It took me several attempts before I got the fit I wanted.
7/5/08 6:48 AM
KathySews said...
Carol, I am having similar issues with this t-shirt. Shoulders need to be shortened as much as an inch. I agree instructions are minimal, but I am also going to try again. Muffet - thanks for the tip about the class.
7/5/08 9:45 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Muffet, what is a shoulder template? Do you need help doing this or can it be done all by yourself? Hubby seldom has the time or ambition to assist me when I need something done at a certain time!
7/5/08 12:44 PM
maryfrana said...
I admire your perseverance in making this pattern work for you. I have tinkered with it, without success. Thanks for the review.
7/7/08 10:53 AM
Learn To Sew said...
I took the red shirt to my Mom's. We discovered if we take in the shoulder seams for a sloped shoulder 1/2 at the neckline, and taper down to 1/4 at the shoulder, the gapping in front almost completely disappears! It gapped quite a bit. I will also need to narrow the shoulders by 1/2 inch. I already know I need to shorten the armhole sleeve, F and B. So much to do in such a small area. Now it looks much better. I'll make a new tee in lime green with all the changes and do a review soon.
7/8/08 3:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 5806

photo
by: sew silly

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Butterick 4859

photo
by: jnageotte

Review