Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8118 (Very easy tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 716 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/08 5:41 PM
Last Updated:7/5/08 6:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Sorry you're not in love with it. I think your new top is very stylish. I altered this pattern last summer, but never got it to the muslin stage. It may be time to revisit it.
7/5/08 5:57 PM
OP Gal said...
I'm sorry you aren't sure you like this blouse and it isn't particularly comfortable because I think it looks great.
7/5/08 6:04 PM
Michelle L said...
Even if you aren't crazy about the blouse, I always appreciate your reviews because you include so much detail about your alterations and construction. For someone like me, who can construct a garment according to a pattern but is nervous about making significant alterations, it is a great resource to have.
7/5/08 6:16 PM
crisford said...
The blouse looks very elegant and flattering on you in the picture. Being made from polyester, I bet it doesn't wrinkle much, so it might be good to take traveling?
7/5/08 6:28 PM
michellep74 said...
I actually really like your blouse! Granted, I'm a sucker for certain retro looks, but I do think it's very pretty in your pictures.
7/5/08 6:44 PM
busyozmum said...
You are an 'alteration' legend and your reviews are always so informative and interesting to read. Sorry you're no so happy with this one but I've gotta say, I think it looks so pretty in your photo's. ;o)
7/5/08 6:55 PM
NoraNora said...
the blouse is nice...not really my style...BUT, the muslin...I would so wear the muslin...maybe with some cream cluny lace on the sleaves and at the neckline, and a cream satin 1/2" ribbon attache at the empire seam. As usual, Debbie, wonderful review and an inspiration...Thank You for all the info you so freely give to the sewing community!
7/5/08 8:25 PM
mastdenman said...
It's cute and looks great on you. Seems like it would be a nice work addition.
7/5/08 10:23 PM
Leora said...
I have this pattern and it reminds me so much of a hotpattern, can't remember which right now. Anywho, is it possible to take a little bitty catch stitch to grab one thread with each stitch and anchor that floppy facing down? I really like this blouse and hope you do it up in the cotton.
7/6/08 1:57 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Leora, I thought about that, but the fabric is sheer and even the smallest catch stitch would show. The facings don't actually flop or show when the blouse is on. They just bug me when putting it on. Once they are settled into place, it's fine.
7/6/08 2:06 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you are like the smartest person on earth with your pattern alterations. I love studying them and learning. The fit is as usual perfect and flattering. I like your chiffon.
7/6/08 2:22 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I like the blouse too. And I could see in Florida summers not wanting anything around your neck at all, but I think the higher bit in the back provides necessary balance for all that hanging down the front ;-). Maybe you're just used to more tailored styles than this, that's the main reason you hate the fabric so much? Give it a chance though, it has a very good shape for you, I think you'll find it a nice addition to your working wardrobe.
7/6/08 4:52 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I really like this blouse. Who says you ain't no Andrews Sister.
7/6/08 7:20 AM
Karen8320 said...
Debbie, in the pictures, your top looks really good so, as you say, it may be the fabric that is the problem. Your muslin actually looks quite flattering and you've done so much work with altering your pattern to make it fit well that it would be a shame not to try it again in a different fabric. Thanks, once again, for such a thorough review.
7/6/08 7:48 AM
Lori V said...
I think this blouse looks nice on you and agree it will be a good addition to your work wardrobe.
7/6/08 7:48 AM
Fran G said...
Perhaps you are not loving this blouse yet, but you always write a great review! I like the fabric a lot; very pretty colors.
7/6/08 8:01 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sorry you're not in love with it...maybe if you use a more stable fabric. I made mine in a rayon and I love it. I think you should make it again in a different fabric, I bet you will get much better results.
7/6/08 11:17 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Yet another terrific review! And I'm with a few of the commenters below--I like the blouse a lot, too!
7/6/08 6:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, the very first thing I noticed was the FABRIC, so I'm glad you fought through it, because I think it turned out beautifully. You always find fabrics in unique color combinations, too. You have no idea how helpful your pictures are of your pattern alterations, Debbie. You opened up a whole new world of empire waists for me! Okay, I haven't actually MADE one yet, just because I haven't had a chance, but I wouldn't even have CONSIDERED one before seeing your examples of a full bust adjustment on these empire waists. I LOVE your blouse!
7/7/08 5:32 PM
cindy-lou said...
Let me tell you what a SCORE it is to search a pattern for reviews... then discover that Debbie Cook has made it before. :) THANK YOU for your wonderful review! You know that stable cotton you thought to make this in? I think I'll do it for ya-- just longer, as a short tie-back dress, without the tie neck. Thanks for the great detail on your alterations!
7/10/08 9:45 AM
dlwk said...
This is a grat review.... So much valuable information. Personally I hate/loathe/detest polyester so would blame all the "faults" on that. With your skills you deserve pure silk!
8/26/09 4:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 1052
photo
Review by marjenann on 9/25/10
Read Review

Oliver S Sketchbook Shirt Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Sketchbook Shirt   Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6251 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6251 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1022 Iris
photo
Review by SueT on 5/21/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us