SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8118 (Very easy tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 718 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/08 5:41 PM
Last Updated:7/5/08 6:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dlwk said...
This is a grat review.... So much valuable information. Personally I hate/loathe/detest polyester so would blame all the "faults" on that. With your skills you deserve pure silk!
8/26/09 4:58 AM
cindy-lou said...
Let me tell you what a SCORE it is to search a pattern for reviews... then discover that Debbie Cook has made it before. :) THANK YOU for your wonderful review! You know that stable cotton you thought to make this in? I think I'll do it for ya-- just longer, as a short tie-back dress, without the tie neck. Thanks for the great detail on your alterations!
7/10/08 9:45 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, the very first thing I noticed was the FABRIC, so I'm glad you fought through it, because I think it turned out beautifully. You always find fabrics in unique color combinations, too. You have no idea how helpful your pictures are of your pattern alterations, Debbie. You opened up a whole new world of empire waists for me! Okay, I haven't actually MADE one yet, just because I haven't had a chance, but I wouldn't even have CONSIDERED one before seeing your examples of a full bust adjustment on these empire waists. I LOVE your blouse!
7/7/08 5:32 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Yet another terrific review! And I'm with a few of the commenters below--I like the blouse a lot, too!
7/6/08 6:59 PM
cmarie12 said...
Sorry you're not in love with it...maybe if you use a more stable fabric. I made mine in a rayon and I love it. I think you should make it again in a different fabric, I bet you will get much better results.
7/6/08 11:17 AM
Fran G said...
Perhaps you are not loving this blouse yet, but you always write a great review! I like the fabric a lot; very pretty colors.
7/6/08 8:01 AM
Lori V said...
I think this blouse looks nice on you and agree it will be a good addition to your work wardrobe.
7/6/08 7:48 AM
Karen8320 said...
Debbie, in the pictures, your top looks really good so, as you say, it may be the fabric that is the problem. Your muslin actually looks quite flattering and you've done so much work with altering your pattern to make it fit well that it would be a shame not to try it again in a different fabric. Thanks, once again, for such a thorough review.
7/6/08 7:48 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I really like this blouse. Who says you ain't no Andrews Sister.
7/6/08 7:20 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I like the blouse too. And I could see in Florida summers not wanting anything around your neck at all, but I think the higher bit in the back provides necessary balance for all that hanging down the front ;-). Maybe you're just used to more tailored styles than this, that's the main reason you hate the fabric so much? Give it a chance though, it has a very good shape for you, I think you'll find it a nice addition to your working wardrobe.
7/6/08 4:52 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you are like the smartest person on earth with your pattern alterations. I love studying them and learning. The fit is as usual perfect and flattering. I like your chiffon.
7/6/08 2:22 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Leora, I thought about that, but the fabric is sheer and even the smallest catch stitch would show. The facings don't actually flop or show when the blouse is on. They just bug me when putting it on. Once they are settled into place, it's fine.
7/6/08 2:06 AM
Leora said...
I have this pattern and it reminds me so much of a hotpattern, can't remember which right now. Anywho, is it possible to take a little bitty catch stitch to grab one thread with each stitch and anchor that floppy facing down? I really like this blouse and hope you do it up in the cotton.
7/6/08 1:57 AM
mastdenman said...
It's cute and looks great on you. Seems like it would be a nice work addition.
7/5/08 10:23 PM
NoraNora said...
the blouse is nice...not really my style...BUT, the muslin...I would so wear the muslin...maybe with some cream cluny lace on the sleaves and at the neckline, and a cream satin 1/2" ribbon attache at the empire seam. As usual, Debbie, wonderful review and an inspiration...Thank You for all the info you so freely give to the sewing community!
7/5/08 8:25 PM
busyozmum said...
You are an 'alteration' legend and your reviews are always so informative and interesting to read. Sorry you're no so happy with this one but I've gotta say, I think it looks so pretty in your photo's. ;o)
7/5/08 6:55 PM
michellep74 said...
I actually really like your blouse! Granted, I'm a sucker for certain retro looks, but I do think it's very pretty in your pictures.
7/5/08 6:44 PM
crisford said...
The blouse looks very elegant and flattering on you in the picture. Being made from polyester, I bet it doesn't wrinkle much, so it might be good to take traveling?
7/5/08 6:28 PM
Michelle L said...
Even if you aren't crazy about the blouse, I always appreciate your reviews because you include so much detail about your alterations and construction. For someone like me, who can construct a garment according to a pattern but is nervous about making significant alterations, it is a great resource to have.
7/5/08 6:16 PM
OP Gal said...
I'm sorry you aren't sure you like this blouse and it isn't particularly comfortable because I think it looks great.
7/5/08 6:04 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Sorry you're not in love with it. I think your new top is very stylish. I altered this pattern last summer, but never got it to the muslin stage. It may be time to revisit it.
7/5/08 5:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Burda 7131

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now