Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2094 (Misses Tops 8 Great Looks) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 495 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Charlene McGill
photo
About Charlene McGill
USA
Member since: 3/15/06
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/08 4:37 PM
Last Updated:7/13/08 1:15 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beek said...
Gorgeous and feminine blouse. You look exquisite in it!
7/8/08 5:06 PM
HeyJane said...
Wow that looks great on you! You can run a gathering stitch on the curved hem to ease in the fullness. Thanks for the info on this pattern. I'm off to your blog.....
7/8/08 5:12 PM
Plantwizard said...
Nice shirt and it looks like it fits you well. Hey, anyone besides me think Deepika should have a contest for "Best Photo Shot in the Bathroom Mirror"? Pattern Review is a great place for checking out bathroom mirrors if you're planning a remodel!
7/8/08 5:38 PM
bananaoil said...
Hi Charlene, Your blouse looks very nice, just think how many variations you'll be able to make now you've taken the time to fit the pattern. I drafted a personal sloper this spring and so far have made 2 blouses and a shirtwaist dress with my pattern and am about to jump up and make a sleeveless blouse pattern to help with the heat. When I make a shaped hem, I PRESS that puppy into place before I stitch it. If the pressing (and some little pulling of the curve to make it go the right way) doesn't make it lie flat enough, I'll even hand baste it down. The trick is to make sure it's smooth before you go to the machine.
7/8/08 5:38 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Very classy blouse and it looks like you have a great fit!
7/8/08 5:52 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you may have had fitting problems about two years ago, but you by-gosh don't NOW. :o) This is a BEAUTIFUL blouse, and you look SO pretty in that color (which I think is a pale blue, right)? I've got this pattern too. I've always loved it, but seeing yours, I'm even more inspired to make it up! As for curved hems, I've done them in a variety of ways. If it's a shirt hem, then I'll turn up 5/8" and press, then turn up another 5/8" and press (or thereabouts, you know). Also, I very often add side slits at the hem, because they work well with my hippy figure, OKAY :o), and that makes it easier to maneuver the curves at the side too, because now you have a breaking point at the side. Or if I have a fabric that's pretty pliable, like a wool crepe or something, you can sometimes just steam out the little gathers that are irritatingly forming at the top edge of your hem. If that doesn't work, though, you can also run a basting stitch along the bottom edge, then press your hem up, and what won't steam out, you can gather slightly by pulling the basting thead, then steam the heck out of it. :o) OR sometimes I just say the heck with it, sew a piece of seam binding to the right side of the bottom, press it up to the wrong side, and stitch it down by machine or by hand, whichever my little heart desires. HOWEVER, all that being said, I don't see that you had ANY problem with the hem! :o)
7/8/08 5:56 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Your blouse looks great. The color is pretty on you, and the fit looks wonderful. I hope you're proud of yourself - you deserve to be!
7/8/08 9:35 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Thanks everyone for taking the time out to read my review. Also, thanks for the wonderful comments and suggestions. They are greatly appreciated.
7/8/08 10:19 PM
tr1c14 said...
Wow - perfect blouse much? It fits you beautifully! I've hereby added this pattern to my wish list.
7/9/08 1:22 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Carlene, Congratulations on conquering your fitting issues. Your blouse is lovely. Well done.
7/13/08 8:28 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Great blouse. Really nice job. Flat fell seams are on my short list of things to learn to do. Yours have inspired me to move it to the top.
7/13/08 10:34 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - this looks like it fits perfectly. Well done - all of your research paid off.
7/14/08 10:39 AM
knitlitcamper said...
Your blouse turned out beautiful!
7/17/08 4:06 AM
Nancywin said...
I'm planning on making this blouse soon and just saw your review. this looks great on you and I think you got the fit down pretty well. NIce job!
1/20/09 11:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Beautiful Magazine 07-2006
photo
Review by Wendy Hahn on 6/20/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4738
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 5/20/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us