SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5636 (Misses'/Petite Tunic and Dress)

Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/08 8:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
I like the cutaway back as well, and your pockets are adorable. Thanks for the buttonhole tip.
7/16/08 8:20 PM
JeanM said...
It's cute! For the buttonholes, you can use the zig zag stitch on your sewing machine, with different stitch widths and lengths, to make your own button hole. I read about this in an article, I think in Threads magazine, a few years ago. Since my machine's "automatic" buttonhole looks rotten, I use that technique instead. The thing I have the most trouble with is getting the buttonholes a consistent size, since I'm relying on my markings and my eye.
7/16/08 8:57 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a charming 50s look you've created. Great bias pockets.
7/16/08 8:57 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Absolutely fabulous! I love your hair cut short- you look 10 years younger!
7/16/08 10:31 PM
Karen6790 said...
This is SO Lucy, it's adorable! Is your next review going to be for a pair of those white pedal-pushers?
7/16/08 11:30 PM
didda said...
how cute! you know you've done well when your daughter takes it from you. love those pockets!
7/17/08 1:24 AM
scrappycat said...
That is so adorable! I've added this pattern to my wishlist!
7/17/08 7:28 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
The pockets make it... my vote is in: Fabulous outcome. Bring on Ricky and you are ready for the candy assembly line episode
7/17/08 7:56 AM
SewingSusan said...
This is so cute! I must make this. Great job.
7/17/08 8:58 AM
Kay Y said...
This is super cute - I had not noticed the pattern before. I too love the pockets. Great looking top, and funny review ("shelving unit" - HA HA). Keep them coming!
7/17/08 9:17 AM
CynthiaSue said...
love your interpretation. you can pull off this 60's style just like Mia Farrow! I would look like a big frump. But you are runway ready as always!
7/17/08 12:16 PM
Frosty772 said...
This is so cute!! I like that it has a back to it (I cant wear things that just wrap around my neck!!) so perhaps I will get this pattern. Very retro!!
7/17/08 5:16 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love black & white then add the gingham check and it equals a really lovely top!
7/18/08 9:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous and fun tunic, Markie!
7/19/08 8:02 AM
Nancywin said...
Markie - you always make the cutest things! This is another winner!
7/21/08 11:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 2209

photo
by: thequirkyp...

Review
Serendipity Studio 117

photo
by: BillieJean

Review
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now