SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5636 (Misses'/Petite Tunic and Dress)

Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/08 8:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
I like the cutaway back as well, and your pockets are adorable. Thanks for the buttonhole tip.
7/16/08 8:20 PM
JeanM said...
It's cute! For the buttonholes, you can use the zig zag stitch on your sewing machine, with different stitch widths and lengths, to make your own button hole. I read about this in an article, I think in Threads magazine, a few years ago. Since my machine's "automatic" buttonhole looks rotten, I use that technique instead. The thing I have the most trouble with is getting the buttonholes a consistent size, since I'm relying on my markings and my eye.
7/16/08 8:57 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a charming 50s look you've created. Great bias pockets.
7/16/08 8:57 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Absolutely fabulous! I love your hair cut short- you look 10 years younger!
7/16/08 10:31 PM
Karen6790 said...
This is SO Lucy, it's adorable! Is your next review going to be for a pair of those white pedal-pushers?
7/16/08 11:30 PM
didda said...
how cute! you know you've done well when your daughter takes it from you. love those pockets!
7/17/08 1:24 AM
scrappycat said...
That is so adorable! I've added this pattern to my wishlist!
7/17/08 7:28 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
The pockets make it... my vote is in: Fabulous outcome. Bring on Ricky and you are ready for the candy assembly line episode
7/17/08 7:56 AM
SewingSusan said...
This is so cute! I must make this. Great job.
7/17/08 8:58 AM
Kay Y said...
This is super cute - I had not noticed the pattern before. I too love the pockets. Great looking top, and funny review ("shelving unit" - HA HA). Keep them coming!
7/17/08 9:17 AM
CynthiaSue said...
love your interpretation. you can pull off this 60's style just like Mia Farrow! I would look like a big frump. But you are runway ready as always!
7/17/08 12:16 PM
Frosty772 said...
This is so cute!! I like that it has a back to it (I cant wear things that just wrap around my neck!!) so perhaps I will get this pattern. Very retro!!
7/17/08 5:16 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love black & white then add the gingham check and it equals a really lovely top!
7/18/08 9:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous and fun tunic, Markie!
7/19/08 8:02 AM
Nancywin said...
Markie - you always make the cutest things! This is another winner!
7/21/08 11:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

No Pattern Used tshirt

photo
by: colormefun

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now