SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 917 (Three Tees)

9 more reviews
Viewed 476 times 
Reviewed by:kellymailinglist
photo

 
 
About kellymailinglist
OH USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/08 8:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
okie2thdoc said...
I love the fabric. Actually, I like it with the wrap- it is very flattering that way.
7/17/08 10:10 PM
Renee' S said...
I had this pattern in my stash forever, never tried it and finally sold it. Now after seeing your tshirt/tunic, I wish I still had the pattern. Did you shorten the length between pictures? The pic with the tube belt looks much shorter. Both versions look great, very cute top.
7/17/08 11:25 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Hi Renee: I used the tube belt to kind of blouse up the top, so yes, in a way, the tunic was shorter -- just not permanently!
7/18/08 7:01 AM
Winifred said...
This looks lovely on you. I'd love some more info on the fusible bias tape ie who is it made by and who stocks it etc?
7/18/08 7:27 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Hi Winifred: The fusible bias tape is called Design Plus, and I believe Lyla J. Messinger makes it (that's LJ Designs) because you can get it at ljdesignsonline.com as well as her site thesewingplace.com. Sorry, but I don't think I can add a clickable link in the comments section. Anyway, you can purchase the Super Fine 3/8 inch Fusible Bias at fabric.com, too (that's where I got it). I didn't realize until I was perusing those other sites that it comes in a wide variety of widths, weights, and in black as well. She also makes a straight fusible tape version. The package includes rather extensive instructions. It's actual fabric tape, not that non-woven type that I think Steam-A-Seam is. That may influence the hand of the fabric after it has been applied, but I'm really not experienced enough with either product to adequately compare them. The Design Plus product is far more substantial than Steam-A-Seam 2 Light, which is the only S-A-S type I've used. The Design Plus did stabilize, but part of it ripped off the fabric around the neckline when I tried it on, because it had *really* stabilized it and made it too small for my head. That's when I went the clear elastic route. To be fair, I didn't follow her directions for neck application, as I'd already gone too far in construction, I believe, to do so. HTH.
7/19/08 6:16 AM
CypGrl said...
I really like your fabric. It looks good with the wrap "thingie", also.
7/19/08 12:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
I adore this top, Kelly! Groovy!
7/19/08 9:24 PM
shesflipped said...
Loved your review~I have a few of CJ's patterns, but, haven't tried them yet. Your fabric choice is great! I also really love your ''thingy". I think it gives the top a whole different look. Great Job!
7/20/08 8:15 PM
Athene said...
I love your top especially in that fabric print - its so unique.
7/21/08 10:26 PM
chloeE said...
thanks for the great review. i haven't tried a christine jonson tee, will give it a whirl.
4/6/09 12:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 6348

photo
by: margy.64

Review
Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: Mauude

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now