SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1010 (Boy Short Bodysuit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 435 times 
Reviewed by:juliette2
photo

 
 
About juliette2star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews written: 60
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/08 8:53 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said...
Juliette, you've done a great job here and have a fabulous garment to show for all of your work. I'm very impressed by your perseverance in tackling two muslins to get the fit right and sorting out the crotch piece attachment. Way to go! Well done!
7/24/08 9:14 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I ended up taking an inch of length off the torso. They do warn you that the torso is likely to be too long, so I took that to heart. I think I could take another half inch off without ill effects. I also started out with a smaller size than usual after doing a flat pattern measurement, and I think I could go down one more size, to an 8, without too much trouble.
7/23/08 1:05 PM
VtMartha said...
whoops - not sure why this posted again but since you've replied, I'll add something. I made a HP Sunshine Top and had to make a much smaller size for the neckband than my usual size. I would size the neck/shoulders and go from there.
7/23/08 12:39 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, what a great review! This looks VERY nice on you. I was also interested to hear that it runs quite long, because so do I! As for it snapping in the BACK, taht's the stupidest thing I've ever heard! :o))) I did have fun imagining the yoga contortions, though. You had a great idea there, adding those shoulder darts to snug up the neck. I even like it without the darts too, though! Even that looks like it's "supposed" to be that way. :o)
7/23/08 12:15 PM
juliette2 said...
VtMartha, that's an interesting thought. I used my high bust measurement to choose the size and did not do an FBA (I'm a C cup). But it was definitely too wide in the shoulders. Perhaps I should have started with one size smaller than my high bust and then done an FBA. Or maybe an FBA still wouldn't be necessary - there's plenty of stretch in the fabric.
7/23/08 10:44 AM
michellep74 said...
It may have taken a lot of fitting work, but the final result looks great on you!
7/23/08 10:42 AM
VtMartha said...
This is very pretty! I'm wondering if you might find it easier to fit starting with a smaller size.
7/23/08 10:04 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Very smart. Looks very nice on and the contrast bands are a nice touch.
7/23/08 9:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Burda 9612

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now