SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1010 (Boy Short Bodysuit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 435 times 
Reviewed by:juliette2
photo

 
 
About juliette2star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews written: 60
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/08 8:53 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
Very smart. Looks very nice on and the contrast bands are a nice touch.
7/23/08 9:21 AM
VtMartha said...
This is very pretty! I'm wondering if you might find it easier to fit starting with a smaller size.
7/23/08 10:04 AM
michellep74 said...
It may have taken a lot of fitting work, but the final result looks great on you!
7/23/08 10:42 AM
juliette2 said...
VtMartha, that's an interesting thought. I used my high bust measurement to choose the size and did not do an FBA (I'm a C cup). But it was definitely too wide in the shoulders. Perhaps I should have started with one size smaller than my high bust and then done an FBA. Or maybe an FBA still wouldn't be necessary - there's plenty of stretch in the fabric.
7/23/08 10:44 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow, what a great review! This looks VERY nice on you. I was also interested to hear that it runs quite long, because so do I! As for it snapping in the BACK, taht's the stupidest thing I've ever heard! :o))) I did have fun imagining the yoga contortions, though. You had a great idea there, adding those shoulder darts to snug up the neck. I even like it without the darts too, though! Even that looks like it's "supposed" to be that way. :o)
7/23/08 12:15 PM
VtMartha said...
whoops - not sure why this posted again but since you've replied, I'll add something. I made a HP Sunshine Top and had to make a much smaller size for the neckband than my usual size. I would size the neck/shoulders and go from there.
7/23/08 12:39 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I ended up taking an inch of length off the torso. They do warn you that the torso is likely to be too long, so I took that to heart. I think I could take another half inch off without ill effects. I also started out with a smaller size than usual after doing a flat pattern measurement, and I think I could go down one more size, to an 8, without too much trouble.
7/23/08 1:05 PM
Karen8320 said...
Juliette, you've done a great job here and have a fabulous garment to show for all of your work. I'm very impressed by your perseverance in tackling two muslins to get the fit right and sorting out the crotch piece attachment. Way to go! Well done!
7/24/08 9:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: SewWil

Review
McCall's 6650

photo
by: trinicity

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now