Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1010 (Boy Short Bodysuit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 436 times 
Reviewed by:juliette2
photo

 
 
About juliette2star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews: 60 (patterns: 50)
Favored by: 16 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/08 8:53 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said... (7/24/08 9:14 PM) Reply
Juliette, you've done a great job here and have a fabulous garment to show for all of your work. I'm very impressed by your perseverance in tackling two muslins to get the fit right and sorting out the crotch piece attachment. Way to go! Well done!
GorgeousFabrics said... (7/23/08 1:05 PM) Reply
I ended up taking an inch of length off the torso. They do warn you that the torso is likely to be too long, so I took that to heart. I think I could take another half inch off without ill effects. I also started out with a smaller size than usual after doing a flat pattern measurement, and I think I could go down one more size, to an 8, without too much trouble.
VtMartha said... (7/23/08 12:39 PM) Reply
whoops - not sure why this posted again but since you've replied, I'll add something. I made a HP Sunshine Top and had to make a much smaller size for the neckband than my usual size. I would size the neck/shoulders and go from there.
Annette1 said... (7/23/08 12:15 PM) Reply
Wow, what a great review! This looks VERY nice on you. I was also interested to hear that it runs quite long, because so do I! As for it snapping in the BACK, taht's the stupidest thing I've ever heard! :o))) I did have fun imagining the yoga contortions, though. You had a great idea there, adding those shoulder darts to snug up the neck. I even like it without the darts too, though! Even that looks like it's "supposed" to be that way. :o)
juliette2 said... (7/23/08 10:44 AM) Reply
VtMartha, that's an interesting thought. I used my high bust measurement to choose the size and did not do an FBA (I'm a C cup). But it was definitely too wide in the shoulders. Perhaps I should have started with one size smaller than my high bust and then done an FBA. Or maybe an FBA still wouldn't be necessary - there's plenty of stretch in the fabric.
michellep74 said... (7/23/08 10:42 AM) Reply
It may have taken a lot of fitting work, but the final result looks great on you!
VtMartha said... (7/23/08 10:04 AM) Reply
This is very pretty! I'm wondering if you might find it easier to fit starting with a smaller size.
yorkshire lass said... (7/23/08 9:21 AM) Reply
Very smart. Looks very nice on and the contrast bands are a nice touch.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2540

photo
by: Kendrasews...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 159384-1001

photo
by: SewLibra

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Pattern Details