Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 1737B (DuBarry (vintage slips)) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 517 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo
Friend of PR
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/08 7:36 PM
Last Updated:7/28/08 4:34 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
Wow!
7/25/08 7:53 PM
chacha45 said...
Amazing! More than gorgeous!
7/25/08 8:22 PM
marykpfist said...
Wow! You look INCREDIBLE! What a great job!
7/25/08 8:26 PM
Athene said...
A very enchanting look and your hairstyle completes the look beautifully.
7/25/08 8:56 PM
Tiner W said...
That is gorgeous! I love the yellow--even if it isn't the shade you intended. So glamorous!
7/25/08 9:07 PM
Dei said...
You are a vision of loveliness. You have to be pleased with how it all turned out.
7/25/08 9:07 PM
Peacock Chic said...
OMG you did a wonderful job!! I love it and it loks just like the movie in design if not completely in color. Also thanks for giving us context as I was looking at the stuffed animal saying "wow she could have moved her kids toy for the pic" hee hee. Love it!
7/25/08 9:11 PM
Lady_Mame said...
I recognized the costume right way, so you are definitely doing things right. I'm very impessed.
7/25/08 9:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look marvelous and mesmerizing! You absolutely should be Mrs. Coulter in "The Golden Compass: The Sequel"!
7/25/08 9:27 PM
JenSews2 said...
Fabulous! What a great way to modify a pattern to suit your needs!
7/25/08 10:19 PM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous dress.
7/25/08 10:49 PM
Annette1 said...
You look like a siren out of a Hollywood movie! What a BEAUTIFUL dress, and you're just GORGEOUS wearing it. Such care you took in the construction, and it really shows! That's one lucky little monkey -- ha!
7/26/08 1:52 AM
BillieJean said...
Awesome outfit!!!
7/26/08 6:33 AM
carolynw said...
This is really beautiful and fits you like a glove - you are totally gorgeous in the outfit.
7/26/08 8:42 AM
cleandirty said...
Love it! This turned out beautifully.
7/28/08 1:44 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...terrific job. You could wear this formally, and not as a costume, it is THAT lovely. The color is just perfect for you and you look very much "Nicoleish" as well! :)
7/28/08 4:52 PM
sewgramma said...
BEAUTIFUL!!! You did a fabulous job choosing your fabric to complement your coloring & pattern style. Oh, & your construction looks flawless too! I love these old patterns & kudos to you for doing justice to it.
7/28/08 5:03 PM
Linda F said...
Gorgeous outfit. It looks absolutely fabulous on you.
7/28/08 6:55 PM
MWsews said...
Beautiful dress
7/28/08 8:58 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
You nailed it. Beautifully crafted.
7/28/08 9:44 PM
Speech girl said...
Simply stunning dress.
7/28/08 11:00 PM
KathleenS said...
Great outfit. You do look the part although I haven't seen the film. I've made the Folkwear Intimacies slip pattern and it's an interesting comparison. It's very similar to this but easier, judging from your description. The bust inset seams on that are straighter, there's no bust dart (I found that interesting with yours because it's a surprise that the Folkwear one is okay without it) and no side closure. Bias will usually narrow as it hangs so the amount of ease on this may be reasonable (although of course it depends on the desired fit).
7/29/08 1:03 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! A perfect recreation of that garment.
7/29/08 10:26 AM
AuntieBat said...
Jean Harlow in the flesh! And I love your daemon. :) Very interesting bust construction; I've never a double side dart like that on lingerie.
7/30/08 1:31 PM
sewtime said...
WoW!! You look incredible, beautiful dress. You look so glamorous
7/30/08 9:19 PM
XandraReynolds said...
This is smashing-right down to dying the fabric yourself! I too, wanted the gown Mrs. Coulter wore!
8/6/08 11:32 PM
Mahler said...
Magpie Jen, I thouth I had written a comment for your dress and I realized today I did not... shame on me. The minute you post it, I thought of Kim Basinger in LA Confidential. This is a g-r-e-a-t dress. That yellow is daring and so European chic.
8/17/08 9:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 6/26/12
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by Cosmotis on 10/14/12
Read Review

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us