SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Green Pepper> F762 (Men's Bicycle Racing Jersey)

Viewed 260 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/08 8:34 PM
Last Updated:7/25/08 8:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
You might want to talk a look at Jalie 2216, which seems like a more professional jersey - better fitting because of the princess seams, better designed pockets too. Their instructions are usually well worth the cost of the pattern, and they have a distributor in Australia who might be willing to order that one for you. I'm sure you'll eventually find the shorts/tights part handy if you keep up these sewing successes, not to mention the smaller sizes if the photos are a hint of things to come.

I don't see any point to goretex behind the zipper - what you did to protect through whistling wind through the zipper is fine, but there's no point in super-protecting only the zipper in a jersey that's not windproof, and really shouldn't be.

I feel for you, having to find manly but visible colors. From a guy who's probably shaving his legs as we speak, that'd be pretty funny if it wasn't so tiresome. But do try to find some real MaldenMills, you'll find that it's a -huge- improvement over the cheap imitations. If only in how the laundry smells ;-).
7/27/08 9:30 AM

Heatherrique said...
Not only a great review, but a sharp looking jacket for that lucky guy!
7/26/08 12:46 PM
Karen8320 said...
I am exceptionally impressed by what you've done here! You are right about there not being many cycling jersey patterns available and I hadn't even given a thought to someone making their own. You have a good eye to noticing what is part of a commercially made garment and then adapting a pattern to make it work for you. Great stuff!!! I look forward to seeing more of your sewing!
7/26/08 8:06 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I have a feeling you'll be promoted to head cycling jersey manufacturer for this one! Your construction is flawless and each detail well thought out. :o)
7/26/08 1:58 AM
Lady_Mame said...
Hmmmm. You know, this is the second thing from Green Pepper that I've read about that hasn't gone together all that great. I get the impression that they are a good starting place.... but you better alter them.
7/25/08 9:10 PM
TKW said...
Thanks for the indepth review. I have been wanting to make cycling clothes and you are right--there aren't many patterns to choose from.
7/25/08 8:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now