SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Green Pepper> F762 (Men's Bicycle Racing Jersey)

Viewed 247 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 196
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 195
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/08 8:34 PM
Last Updated:7/25/08 8:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TKW said...
Thanks for the indepth review. I have been wanting to make cycling clothes and you are right--there aren't many patterns to choose from.
7/25/08 8:39 PM
Lady_Mame said...
Hmmmm. You know, this is the second thing from Green Pepper that I've read about that hasn't gone together all that great. I get the impression that they are a good starting place.... but you better alter them.
7/25/08 9:10 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I have a feeling you'll be promoted to head cycling jersey manufacturer for this one! Your construction is flawless and each detail well thought out. :o)
7/26/08 1:58 AM
Karen8320 said...
I am exceptionally impressed by what you've done here! You are right about there not being many cycling jersey patterns available and I hadn't even given a thought to someone making their own. You have a good eye to noticing what is part of a commercially made garment and then adapting a pattern to make it work for you. Great stuff!!! I look forward to seeing more of your sewing!
7/26/08 8:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Not only a great review, but a sharp looking jacket for that lucky guy!
7/26/08 12:46 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You might want to talk a look at Jalie 2216, which seems like a more professional jersey - better fitting because of the princess seams, better designed pockets too. Their instructions are usually well worth the cost of the pattern, and they have a distributor in Australia who might be willing to order that one for you. I'm sure you'll eventually find the shorts/tights part handy if you keep up these sewing successes, not to mention the smaller sizes if the photos are a hint of things to come.

I don't see any point to goretex behind the zipper - what you did to protect through whistling wind through the zipper is fine, but there's no point in super-protecting only the zipper in a jersey that's not windproof, and really shouldn't be.

I feel for you, having to find manly but visible colors. From a guy who's probably shaving his legs as we speak, that'd be pretty funny if it wasn't so tiresome. But do try to find some real MaldenMills, you'll find that it's a -huge- improvement over the cheap imitations. If only in how the laundry smells ;-).
7/27/08 9:30 AM

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

HotPatterns 1137

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now