Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Green Pepper: F762 (Men's Bicycle Racing Jersey) - Type:Mens - Swimwear / Activewear    printable version
Viewed 241 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/08 8:34 PM
Last Updated:7/25/08 8:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TKW said...
Thanks for the indepth review. I have been wanting to make cycling clothes and you are right--there aren't many patterns to choose from.
7/25/08 8:39 PM
Lady_Mame said...
Hmmmm. You know, this is the second thing from Green Pepper that I've read about that hasn't gone together all that great. I get the impression that they are a good starting place.... but you better alter them.
7/25/08 9:10 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I have a feeling you'll be promoted to head cycling jersey manufacturer for this one! Your construction is flawless and each detail well thought out. :o)
7/26/08 1:58 AM
Karen8320 said...
I am exceptionally impressed by what you've done here! You are right about there not being many cycling jersey patterns available and I hadn't even given a thought to someone making their own. You have a good eye to noticing what is part of a commercially made garment and then adapting a pattern to make it work for you. Great stuff!!! I look forward to seeing more of your sewing!
7/26/08 8:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Not only a great review, but a sharp looking jacket for that lucky guy!
7/26/08 12:46 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You might want to talk a look at Jalie 2216, which seems like a more professional jersey - better fitting because of the princess seams, better designed pockets too. Their instructions are usually well worth the cost of the pattern, and they have a distributor in Australia who might be willing to order that one for you. I'm sure you'll eventually find the shorts/tights part handy if you keep up these sewing successes, not to mention the smaller sizes if the photos are a hint of things to come.

I don't see any point to goretex behind the zipper - what you did to protect through whistling wind through the zipper is fine, but there's no point in super-protecting only the zipper in a jersey that's not windproof, and really shouldn't be.

I feel for you, having to find manly but visible colors. From a guy who's probably shaving his legs as we speak, that'd be pretty funny if it wasn't so tiresome. But do try to find some real MaldenMills, you'll find that it's a -huge- improvement over the cheap imitations. If only in how the laundry smells ;-).
7/27/08 9:30 AM

Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2007-02
photo
Review by bananaoil on 3/19/11
Read Review

Simplicity 1710 Pattern ( Size S-M-L )
Simplicity 1710 Pattern ( Size S-M-L )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6271 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6271 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2013-10
photo
Review by kidmd on 5/21/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Minna Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Minna Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us