SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4007 (palmer/pletsch classic fit)

12 more reviews
Viewed 609 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/08 5:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Nanna said...
Let me be the first to say it looks really cute on you ! I love the waist detailing - and you did well to keep going with those instructions. I have come to the conclusion myself that cross over tops only work really well on a full bust if you have broad shoulders to balance the diagonal line. I think it is a very nice silhouette on you!
7/27/08 5:19 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Um ... brutally honest? I'm thinking bathrobe that's been chopped off (due to the seersucker). But I agree with you that with a drapey knit, this would be so much prettier and it would be flattering on you. I double-dog dare you to have another go with it, using a knit. And then see what Bailey has to say. If he doesn't like that one, Kung Fu him on the head. Love your new avatar pic, BTW!
7/27/08 6:12 PM
carolynw said...
Annette I really like the way it fits you but I am no fan of seersucker so while I give you thumbs up for the fit the fabric makes me feel hmmmm? For what it's worth I made this some time back and it was a total wadder and - no - I am not inspired to try this again your rating is very kind "mediocre" is more than I gave it and I am certainly a small busted gal!!
7/27/08 8:34 PM
Elona said...
Magnificent review! Boy, a lot of work went into the construction and then the description of the construction. But although this one is in my stash, I think I will not be making it. Hey, it does look nice on you, perhaps a bit in the way of couturier mammogram gown, but perfectly presentable in the outside world.
7/27/08 10:44 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I got as far as the muslin stage on this one and never made it in the good stuff. I admire your perseverance in getting it done, but like Debbie, I thought, "bathrobe" when I saw the picture. I do think in a better fabric that you did get a good fit and it looks nice, just a bit stiff. Try it in something drapy.
7/27/08 11:19 PM
moushka said...
I always love your reviews, Annette. You really should be a writer. I bought this one when it first came out but I think it's time to let it go. I don't have your patience for finessing the details. I wonder how many clothespins the model has hidden behind her back, lol? You did a fabulous job on the blouse but I must agree with Debbie: it does have it's bathrobe side because of the fabric. The collar frames your face nicely, and you did a lovely job of sewing it. In another fabric, it would probably be very pretty. Sue
7/27/08 11:37 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I'm thinking maybe I'll call this one pajamas, and that way I can say it's a success! :o))
7/28/08 0:08 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, I've often wondered whether you ever sleep. You are prolific with your sewing and prolific with posting reviews and I always wonder how you manage to fit everything in. You've answered my question in this review. In the middle of the night when the rest of us are asleep, you are up doing sewing-related activities! You've done such a fabulous job with this review and have persevered with this beyond the point where I would have given up and thrown things away. Given what you've done here and what you've discovered along the way, you must give it another go in a drapey knit. I think the style is quite flattering on you but the fabric just doesn't work with it. A knit will give you the softness that I think this needs. I also don't think such big pleats are a good look. Smaller pleats that let the fabric fold tends to soften things. At the end of the day, you are the only one who knows whether you want to give this another shot.
7/28/08 3:13 AM
Mahler said...
Annette, I was waiting for others to write their comment before I write mine. I was unable to make my mind either I like it or not. I looked at the picture 10 times and I do like the fit on you. I don't agree that this top should not be worn by full breasted woman. I think that it looks like an interior gown because of the fabric. I black cotton with a little sheer in it and may be a contrasting band, you top would have been really nice. You are a very patient sewer.
7/28/08 7:58 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Thanks for this great review! I have this pattern and will refer to it with gratitude when I go to make this top. I think this top looks good. I think most problems are more a fabric issue than anything. It kind of reminds me of those really expensive pajamas that are too good and fussy to actually wear!
7/28/08 12:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Oh Annette....I am getting more entertained and informed from reading your reviews than what I read in recent issues of Vogue patterns and Sew Stylish....I feel like I am sewing along with you! Your wrap top is actually chic and I like the ruched effect in the front. I personally think you can wear it out of the house in style with some accessories. You would look so cool in some red hoop earrings and a matching beaded necklace! Then tell Bailey, I am really ready to go out for dinner and dancing!
7/28/08 4:55 PM
ITAdmin said...
Annette, I just found this. The review was great and entertaining reading, but I'm torn about the actual garment. I do like seersucker, but as a general rule, don't like wrap garments. Your review of the pattern doesn't give me much hope for my Palmer-Pletsch pattern (a princess-seamed shell) which I haven't tried yet. Guess I'll put it off a little longer.
7/31/08 7:54 AM
cmarie12 said...
I keep hoping that a review of a wrap top on a full busted woman will work...I am still hoping! :) This was a great exercise and hopefully if you make it again in a different fabric you will have a better result.
8/2/08 12:04 PM
Karendee said...
I do like the way you look in this Kimono-style top. Most wrap tops look entirely too low cut, as if they would unwrap momentarily. Good Review!
8/4/08 6:26 PM
trclaws said...
What a helpful review, especially with so many construction photos - I was amazed by the one showing the end of the band joining the garment with perfectly matched right angled stripes! And I DO love seersucker. I have this pattern - thanks for all the warnings - sounds like I'll need to take my vitamins before I attempt it!
6/25/13 3:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 45793-1017

photo
by: nancy2001

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 113

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now