SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2977 (Threads Magazine collection)

26 more reviews
Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 262
Favored by: 151 people
patterns reviewed: 251
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/08 5:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HLT said...
Very cute outfit. I have go to get this pattern!!! Love the colors of the dress too
7/29/08 5:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Cute jacket and I like your underlining fabric. Great match!
7/29/08 7:40 PM
Dei said...
Another hit! Looks beautiful on you.
7/29/08 9:16 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Super cute jacket, Cennetta!
7/30/08 6:18 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Love this jacket! It looks great!
7/30/08 9:06 AM
born2bead said...
I've been debating about making this jacket but now that I see yours I think it looks much better than the pattern photo. I also wasn't crazy about the fact that it was unlined so I like your idea of underlining. Underlining is something I've never tried before. Are you actually fusing it to the fabric or just layering it with the outside fabric and sewing as one piece? Very nice.
7/30/08 10:34 AM
mochalover said...
I agree cute, cute. I have this same pattern, which I bought for the top but now that you've made the jacket . . . the jacket is a definite possibility. Agains, nice job.
7/30/08 11:17 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Excellent review. Thanks!
7/30/08 11:57 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks everyone for your wonderful compliments. Born2bead - I followed a method described in "Vogue Sewing". There is a online tutorial (Threads Mag) that also described the process of underlining http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00010.asp? I hope this is helpful.
7/30/08 2:17 PM
Beek said...
Cennetta, this is an adorable jacket. It is so contemporary. Nice work. (I used to live in Chicago and I can remember those wonderful shopping sprees at Vogue Fabrics! :0) )
7/30/08 5:38 PM
Nancy K said...
Lovely jacket. It looks great on you.
7/30/08 5:42 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks! Beek - Vogue Fabrics is one of my favorite stores. I shop there at least once a month. It's only 10 minutes away from the office.
7/30/08 6:18 PM
Gold said...
Very very nice!I love the fabric!
7/30/08 11:59 PM
Rebecka said...
This is a cute jacket. Great comments.
12/24/08 7:03 PM
cactusflower said...
Beautiful job! Thanks for your comments. I have this (#2977) pattern as well as the dress pattern (#2938) and plan to make them all. Now I know what to expect! Thanks again.
4/11/09 4:50 PM
Kelly D. said...
Thanks for a really thorough review. You did a wonderful job with this pattern and the jacket looks smashing on you!
5/14/09 8:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

No Pattern Used 297033-1000

photo
by: wildbluest...

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now