Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2977 (Threads Magazine collection) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 603 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 250
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/08 5:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HLT said...
Very cute outfit. I have go to get this pattern!!! Love the colors of the dress too
7/29/08 5:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Cute jacket and I like your underlining fabric. Great match!
7/29/08 7:40 PM
Dei said...
Another hit! Looks beautiful on you.
7/29/08 9:16 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Super cute jacket, Cennetta!
7/30/08 6:18 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Love this jacket! It looks great!
7/30/08 9:06 AM
born2bead said...
I've been debating about making this jacket but now that I see yours I think it looks much better than the pattern photo. I also wasn't crazy about the fact that it was unlined so I like your idea of underlining. Underlining is something I've never tried before. Are you actually fusing it to the fabric or just layering it with the outside fabric and sewing as one piece? Very nice.
7/30/08 10:34 AM
mochalover said...
I agree cute, cute. I have this same pattern, which I bought for the top but now that you've made the jacket . . . the jacket is a definite possibility. Agains, nice job.
7/30/08 11:17 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Excellent review. Thanks!
7/30/08 11:57 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks everyone for your wonderful compliments. Born2bead - I followed a method described in "Vogue Sewing". There is a online tutorial (Threads Mag) that also described the process of underlining http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00010.asp? I hope this is helpful.
7/30/08 2:17 PM
Beek said...
Cennetta, this is an adorable jacket. It is so contemporary. Nice work. (I used to live in Chicago and I can remember those wonderful shopping sprees at Vogue Fabrics! :0) )
7/30/08 5:38 PM
Nancy K said...
Lovely jacket. It looks great on you.
7/30/08 5:42 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks! Beek - Vogue Fabrics is one of my favorite stores. I shop there at least once a month. It's only 10 minutes away from the office.
7/30/08 6:18 PM
Gold said...
Very very nice!I love the fabric!
7/30/08 11:59 PM
Rebecka said...
This is a cute jacket. Great comments.
12/24/08 7:03 PM
cactusflower said...
Beautiful job! Thanks for your comments. I have this (#2977) pattern as well as the dress pattern (#2938) and plan to make them all. Now I know what to expect! Thanks again.
4/11/09 4:50 PM
Kelly D. said...
Thanks for a really thorough review. You did a wonderful job with this pattern and the jacket looks smashing on you!
5/14/09 8:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jalie 2796
photo
Review by Speech gir... on 3/25/14
Read Review

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3740
photo
Review by Sewing Nur... on 1/26/11
Read Review

New Look 6054 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6054 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3886 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3886 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us