SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-104 (dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:Flying Seamstress
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Flying Seamstressstar
Member since: 2/5/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/08 3:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katyusha said...
Both dresses are gorgeous. Thank you for such a thorough review!
8/25/08 7:28 PM
trishapatk said...
Great looking dresses ... both of 'em. Your sewing looks great too. I love the choice of fabric for the design ... the two work together so well. As for finding good buckles, I have difficulty too. I buy belts and even shoes from thrift shops just to get the buckles. Once I'm a paying member I'll write to you so we can discuss finding a good source. In the meantime though ... great job on both dresses! It inspires me.
8/2/08 8:12 PM
Athene said...
Lovely dress. Great fabric print. The muslin is also a really nice print.
7/31/08 6:02 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Ladies, thank you for the wonderful comments! kso, the most difficult task in taking the bwof plunge was deciding which design to sew! :) The gathers are actually a horizontal dart on the original pattern; I converted the front pattern piece into a bodice & skirt, so there are gathers at the seam line where the horizontal dart would have been positioned. Does that make sense? The drape is really just decoration, but you certainly could make it fit as snug as you would like. If you look at my wearable muslin pic (as well as the other reviews of this pattern), there is no contrasting trim on the drape so you can decide which look you prefer. I chose trim for this particular fabric because it just "needed" it, IMHO. :) As for selecting size 34, I would like to answer that in more detail, so I will update this review with pics and thought process (how scary!!!), ok?
7/31/08 3:58 PM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing and beautifully constructed! Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7/31/08 9:37 AM
Fran G said...
Wow! For a first BWOF, this is fabulous! Even for a 2nd, 3rd or 4th BWOF, this is wonderful! Being a BWOF o-phile myself, I appreciate your work. Isn't the fit on BWOF's wonderful? I, too, am interested in hearing how you settled on the sizing you did. Was it because of the knit fabric used? At any rate, congratulations and welcomwe to the world of Burda!
7/31/08 8:21 AM
Karen6790 said...
The fabric really takes this dress to a different level. Absolutely gorgeous.
7/30/08 10:32 PM
Beek said...
Great dress! I love your selection of fabric. What fun this will be for you to wear!
7/30/08 5:33 PM
RobinMCPA said...
This is gorgeous!! I haven't yet been brave enough to try a BWOF pattern, but I love how you walked through all of the adjustments you made to "petite" the pattern and adjust for your body type! I have a sneaking suspicion that my left and right hip are not exactly symmetrical either, but I need to confirm this theory.
7/30/08 4:36 PM
gramma b said...
Very pretty! I am a "senior" and haven't tried a Burda yet. Are the gathers just held in by the belt? I imagine if you left off the contrasting trim, it wouldn't call attention to a thick waist? How did you decide on the 34? What was the most difficult in trying Burda for the first time? Thanks!
7/30/08 3:38 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow! That's fabulous! :)
7/30/08 3:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Butterick 6670

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now