SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-104 (dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:Flying Seamstress
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Flying Seamstressstar
SC USA
Member since: 2/5/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/08 3:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Wow! That's fabulous! :)
7/30/08 3:37 PM
gramma b said...
Very pretty! I am a "senior" and haven't tried a Burda yet. Are the gathers just held in by the belt? I imagine if you left off the contrasting trim, it wouldn't call attention to a thick waist? How did you decide on the 34? What was the most difficult in trying Burda for the first time? Thanks!
7/30/08 3:38 PM
RobinMCPA said...
This is gorgeous!! I haven't yet been brave enough to try a BWOF pattern, but I love how you walked through all of the adjustments you made to "petite" the pattern and adjust for your body type! I have a sneaking suspicion that my left and right hip are not exactly symmetrical either, but I need to confirm this theory.
7/30/08 4:36 PM
Beek said...
Great dress! I love your selection of fabric. What fun this will be for you to wear!
7/30/08 5:33 PM
Karen6790 said...
The fabric really takes this dress to a different level. Absolutely gorgeous.
7/30/08 10:32 PM
Fran G said...
Wow! For a first BWOF, this is fabulous! Even for a 2nd, 3rd or 4th BWOF, this is wonderful! Being a BWOF o-phile myself, I appreciate your work. Isn't the fit on BWOF's wonderful? I, too, am interested in hearing how you settled on the sizing you did. Was it because of the knit fabric used? At any rate, congratulations and welcomwe to the world of Burda!
7/31/08 8:21 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing and beautifully constructed! Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7/31/08 9:37 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Ladies, thank you for the wonderful comments! kso, the most difficult task in taking the bwof plunge was deciding which design to sew! :) The gathers are actually a horizontal dart on the original pattern; I converted the front pattern piece into a bodice & skirt, so there are gathers at the seam line where the horizontal dart would have been positioned. Does that make sense? The drape is really just decoration, but you certainly could make it fit as snug as you would like. If you look at my wearable muslin pic (as well as the other reviews of this pattern), there is no contrasting trim on the drape so you can decide which look you prefer. I chose trim for this particular fabric because it just "needed" it, IMHO. :) As for selecting size 34, I would like to answer that in more detail, so I will update this review with pics and thought process (how scary!!!), ok?
7/31/08 3:58 PM
Athene said...
Lovely dress. Great fabric print. The muslin is also a really nice print.
7/31/08 6:02 PM
trishapatk said...
Great looking dresses ... both of 'em. Your sewing looks great too. I love the choice of fabric for the design ... the two work together so well. As for finding good buckles, I have difficulty too. I buy belts and even shoes from thrift shops just to get the buckles. Once I'm a paying member I'll write to you so we can discuss finding a good source. In the meantime though ... great job on both dresses! It inspires me.
8/2/08 8:12 PM
katyusha said...
Both dresses are gorgeous. Thank you for such a thorough review!
8/25/08 7:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2010-01

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Other Pristine Swing Dress

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now