Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2008-108 (Knit Cap Sleeved Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 633 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/08 8:14 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shesflipped said...
This IS the top that ends all tops!!! Just when I think I've seen it all, there you go again! SUPER style, the fabric is the COOLEST I've ever seen~love the tangerine & all the color~very retro. Marsha, Marsha, Marsha....Why can't I have this?
8/6/08 8:46 AM
Gelbean said...
I love it. I got this issue today and this top is on my list for sure. Love your funky fabric. Thanks for the great review!
8/6/08 9:25 AM
CatMukai said...
wow, you are on top of things! I think I just got this issue like yesterday ;)
8/6/08 9:51 AM
Peacock Chic said...
Oh wow thanks for all the helpful hints!! This shirt was one of the reasons I love the 8/08 issue. I got mine and now have to examine it
8/6/08 9:56 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I can't believe how quickly you cranked this out--especially with the re-drafting and other changes!
8/6/08 10:57 AM
cabinbaby said...
I traced this out yesterday! Thanks for the comments!
8/6/08 11:20 AM
Frogstitcher said...
So kewl! I can't wait to receive my issue. This looks like the perfect top to coordinate under suit jackets. Thanks for a very informative review. Your top is fab.
8/6/08 11:22 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh that's so cute. I can't wait to get my copy. Thanks for a very helpful review, you will have saved me hours of tearing my hair out over those sleeves I'm sure.
8/6/08 11:23 AM
craftylady66 said...
Groovy fabric choice! Looks great on you!
8/6/08 12:39 PM
annie11 said...
REALLY cute! Love the fabric, and thanks for the tips on making the top without the zipper.
8/6/08 1:54 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking top. Wow, you are fast! I just received my issue on Monday.
8/6/08 2:04 PM
Amanda S. said...
Super cute! I liked this one in the magazine, too.
8/6/08 3:49 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is adorable!!! I got my BWOF August early too.
8/6/08 4:01 PM
Speech girl said...
What a fun top! Looks great.
8/6/08 4:32 PM
2BSewing said...
Cute top! BWOF came early for me as well. I agree with you...a lot of cool looking outfits in this issue.
8/6/08 8:58 PM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, this can only be described as totally GROOVY! What gorgeous fabric and you look fabulous in this! Now that you have everything about the pattern nutted out, you must make it again. It's definitely a cut above the standard, but TNT, tops. Great work!
8/7/08 1:45 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is cute cute CUTE!!!
8/7/08 2:17 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great looking top on you! I love the style and the fabric.
8/7/08 7:18 AM
Kbenco said...
Your fabric is so cute, and it is really clever of you to work out how to avoid the zipper. Now when my magazine comes in about 3 weeks I will know what to do!
8/7/08 7:29 AM
crisford said...
LOL! Love your honey's announcement of BWOF's arrival in the mail! Great job on this awesome top. Yes, avoid all zippers when possible!
8/7/08 10:55 AM
marjenann said...
Very chic!! You look fantastic!
8/7/08 8:11 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SOOOOOOOOO cute! :o)) You wear these wild prints SO well, too -- ha! I love the design of the sleeves on this top, almost like half sleeves. Great idea on that collar. I too like the slight draped effect that you have there.
8/8/08 0:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a fun print that makes a super top! In an ordinary plain fabric, it would just be another RTW-looking top, but the print makes it special and like you bought it from a boutique.
9/13/08 9:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2812
photo
Review by Melanne on 6/12/12
Read Review

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8017
photo
Review by Zaneta on 3/16/07
Read Review

Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5766 Pattern ( Size One Size )
Butterick 5766 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us