SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7819 

6 more reviews
Viewed 492 times 
Reviewed by:merry-one
photo

 
 
About merry-onestar
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 9
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/08 1:12 PM
Last Updated:8/11/08 1:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Beautiful dress and daughter. I'm sorry you had such a time with the directions. The final result was perfect.
8/11/08 1:32 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful, thank you for sharing.
8/11/08 1:37 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Awesome review........Thanks for the great tips on construction! Don't ya just hate them patterns that have you standing there scratching your head saying, "WHAT?" I usually end up "doing it my way" too! Beautiful dress, Beautiful DD! ~Connie
8/12/08 1:15 AM
merry-one said...
Thank you all! I can't wait for the wedding.
8/12/08 8:09 PM
Mebber said...
I am making this dress for my niece to be a flower girl _ I too will use silk and fine cotton. Your insight is very helpful! Thanks
5/2/09 11:57 AM
Jenleigh23 said...
Beautiful dress! I was thinking of making this dress for my daughter to wear in a wedding and I am so glad to have your insight before I make it! Thanks.
7/6/09 5:48 PM
MammaRae said...
Extremely helpful and well written review. I will keep your suggestions handy when I start the project. My grand-daughter chose this dress for my mother's up-coming nuptials, because "the flowers are tied in the ribbon so you don't have to carry them!"
8/25/09 1:53 AM
Tallahasseelassie said...
Thank you so much for sharing. I appreciate your candor and your advice. Beautiful dress!
9/30/09 11:38 PM
LadybugSewingStudio said...
Thank you so much for sharing your alternative bodice process...I like it! I sometimes struggle with 'crazy' instructions and then end up doing it my way...but I sweat bullets the whole time! Glad to know I'm not alone.
10/9/09 3:52 PM
LadybugSewingStudio said...
I made this dress last week for a client. She was disappointed how "flat" the skirt was. (I followed the directions on the netting...but it is really insufficient.) So, I created a petticote for the dress with about 3.5 yards of netting gathered to a 24 inch waist. THAT worked! Now it has more of a ball-gown shape.
11/5/09 6:19 PM
GeminiSkye said...
Thanks for the great info. I have this pattern cut but have not started sewing. I also found the bodice instructions more complicated than necessary. In sewing it the way you did, where did you start/begin sewing around the neck? I was thinking the shoulder seams since that is where the stitching would end when following the pattern. Also, I wanted to put in an invisible zipper. Aside from the different way of actually installing the zipper, do you need to adjust the pattern (seam allowances, sewing method, etc.) in any way? Thanks for any info!
5/24/10 4:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-129

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now