Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2008-116 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 756 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/08 0:48 AM
Last Updated:8/14/08 0:59 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Ann said...
Your top looks great! Just how did you raise this tricky neckline? I'm clueless. Thanks for the great review.
8/14/08 1:21 AM
Nancywin said...
This top looks really great on you - or is it that you're just looking great and happen to be wearing this top? Clever fabric source too!
8/14/08 1:22 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Really nice top! I like your idea of refashioning a RTW dress. :)
8/14/08 2:12 AM
Athene said...
Love this top on you and so smart to use a RTW clearance item to make something really great.
8/14/08 2:39 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous top Vonne!
8/14/08 4:01 AM
Natasha B said...
This looks great in a top, especially sleeveless. What a fabulous fabric source, I can imagine the shop assistant's reaction!
8/14/08 5:32 AM
Karen8320 said...
Vonne, this looks fantastic on you! I think it looks really good as a top and I also think the sleeveless version is a very smart look. I like the way you've adapted it to fit your own style. Well done!
8/14/08 6:19 AM
Mel.J said...
Looks great Vonne. I really like how it works with the empire seam. Thanks for the review too - I was thinking about modifying my similar Jalie pattern to add a seam there but maybe I'll just wait for this one to show up at the library.
8/14/08 7:08 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great idea to make a top, think I will copy you. I have made the dress and also found the original neckline extremely low (even for BWOF!)
8/14/08 8:30 AM
ribbit2jen said...
Too cute...love it!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/14/08 8:40 AM
Karen6790 said...
I think this works much better as a top. Love your changes, and thanks for affirming it's okay to buy a piece of RTW to cut up. I've done it and gotten some strange reactions too, but sometimes it's the only way for a fabric you want. Great job.
8/14/08 9:59 AM
Patti B said...
Lovely top and great re-purposing of the dress. Burda's necklines are often a bit hubba-hubba, aren't they?
8/14/08 10:58 AM
sewtime said...
Pretty top! Looks great on you!
8/14/08 11:39 AM
sewbehind said...
You look great in this. Well done.
8/14/08 11:48 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking top. I love the idea of cutting up RTW then turning it into something different. Great review.
8/14/08 1:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous!!! I love the fabric too - great repurpose of a dress - you're a smart cookie my friend! :-)
8/14/08 2:05 PM
Annette1 said...
I love this as a top, and it looks SO NICE on you, too!
8/14/08 2:36 PM
Liana said...
So cute, and I love your fabric.
8/14/08 6:54 PM
Debbie Cook said...
It looks great! This pattern is on top of my to-do list for the weekend, also as a top. Nice to see a helpful eview before I even get started.
8/14/08 9:34 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Nice work!
8/14/08 11:23 PM
Fran G said...
Vonne, this top looks great on you! You have great shoulders..like a gymnast! Love your fabric shopping tip!!
8/15/08 7:17 AM
2BSewing said...
Gorgeous top! And brilliant idea on the re-use of the dress/fabric. I need to keep that in mind when I window-shop RTW in the clearance rack. Great job! :)
8/15/08 8:39 AM
Mahler said...
This top is so great ! I bet that the dress would also look wonderful on you. I love the fabric too.
8/15/08 9:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
What an unusual pattern. I love how your top turned out, it so pretty and you look great in it.
8/15/08 11:33 AM
mochalover said...
Great job as always.
8/15/08 9:19 PM
Christina Sonja said...
How clever to scour the sales rack for fabric. This turned out great :)
8/16/08 2:19 PM
MareeAlison said...
Very noice Vonne. :)
8/20/08 4:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by Jackie02 on 11/19/08
Read Review

Burda 8376 Pattern
Burda 8376 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9826 Skirt
photo
Review by KathleenS on 9/10/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us