SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2008-116 (dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 757 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/08 0:48 AM
Last Updated:8/14/08 0:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Ann said...
Your top looks great! Just how did you raise this tricky neckline? I'm clueless. Thanks for the great review.
8/14/08 1:21 AM
Nancywin said...
This top looks really great on you - or is it that you're just looking great and happen to be wearing this top? Clever fabric source too!
8/14/08 1:22 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Really nice top! I like your idea of refashioning a RTW dress. :)
8/14/08 2:12 AM
Athene said...
Love this top on you and so smart to use a RTW clearance item to make something really great.
8/14/08 2:39 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous top Vonne!
8/14/08 4:01 AM
Natasha B said...
This looks great in a top, especially sleeveless. What a fabulous fabric source, I can imagine the shop assistant's reaction!
8/14/08 5:32 AM
Karen8320 said...
Vonne, this looks fantastic on you! I think it looks really good as a top and I also think the sleeveless version is a very smart look. I like the way you've adapted it to fit your own style. Well done!
8/14/08 6:19 AM
Mel.J said...
Looks great Vonne. I really like how it works with the empire seam. Thanks for the review too - I was thinking about modifying my similar Jalie pattern to add a seam there but maybe I'll just wait for this one to show up at the library.
8/14/08 7:08 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great idea to make a top, think I will copy you. I have made the dress and also found the original neckline extremely low (even for BWOF!)
8/14/08 8:30 AM
ribbit2jen said...
Too cute...love it!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/14/08 8:40 AM
Karen6790 said...
I think this works much better as a top. Love your changes, and thanks for affirming it's okay to buy a piece of RTW to cut up. I've done it and gotten some strange reactions too, but sometimes it's the only way for a fabric you want. Great job.
8/14/08 9:59 AM
Patti B said...
Lovely top and great re-purposing of the dress. Burda's necklines are often a bit hubba-hubba, aren't they?
8/14/08 10:58 AM
sewtime said...
Pretty top! Looks great on you!
8/14/08 11:39 AM
sewbehind said...
You look great in this. Well done.
8/14/08 11:48 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking top. I love the idea of cutting up RTW then turning it into something different. Great review.
8/14/08 1:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous!!! I love the fabric too - great repurpose of a dress - you're a smart cookie my friend! :-)
8/14/08 2:05 PM
Annette1 said...
I love this as a top, and it looks SO NICE on you, too!
8/14/08 2:36 PM
Liana said...
So cute, and I love your fabric.
8/14/08 6:54 PM
Debbie Cook said...
It looks great! This pattern is on top of my to-do list for the weekend, also as a top. Nice to see a helpful eview before I even get started.
8/14/08 9:34 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Nice work!
8/14/08 11:23 PM
Fran G said...
Vonne, this top looks great on you! You have great shoulders..like a gymnast! Love your fabric shopping tip!!
8/15/08 7:17 AM
2BSewing said...
Gorgeous top! And brilliant idea on the re-use of the dress/fabric. I need to keep that in mind when I window-shop RTW in the clearance rack. Great job! :)
8/15/08 8:39 AM
Mahler said...
This top is so great ! I bet that the dress would also look wonderful on you. I love the fabric too.
8/15/08 9:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
What an unusual pattern. I love how your top turned out, it so pretty and you look great in it.
8/15/08 11:33 AM
mochalover said...
Great job as always.
8/15/08 9:19 PM
Christina Sonja said...
How clever to scour the sales rack for fabric. This turned out great :)
8/16/08 2:19 PM
MareeAlison said...
Very noice Vonne. :)
8/20/08 4:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 177593-1004

photo
by: montanachi...

Review