SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4129 (Misses' Jackets)

1 more reviews
Viewed 557 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/08 6:54 PM
Last Updated:8/26/08 2:27 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said...
Annette, I just love this vest! Although the vest seems short to you, I think it adds zest and modernity, it's a nice silhouette. Hope it grows on you. It makes the wardrobe IMHO.
9/9/08 8:24 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Annette, this is really a special vest, soft, feminine, with just the right amount of spark to flatter your entire Wardrobe collection. When I saw the bespoke quality of the inside of your vest, I did a little Rumplestiltskin stomp. Just when I'm feeling self satisfied, you re-instill my humility. Gorgeous work, Girl! -Lily
8/28/08 12:56 PM
craftylady66 said...
You've got to wear this! It is absolutely amazing!
8/26/08 12:58 PM
Puppy said...
Well! What can I add. It's all been said, so I'll just say a heartfelt "ditto" to all that's been said. Hmmm. Pillow shams! I'm always looking for alternative fabric source, but I missed that one!
8/26/08 9:46 AM
Sigrid. said...
WOW, great vest in a beautiful fabric. Agree with the others that it is artsy in a good way. You definitely should wear it.
8/26/08 3:39 AM
cfabrication said...
I really like the colors in your mini wardrobe and they're beautifully expressed in the vest. I do think that you don't need the clasp at all. The vest looks like it hangs nearly closed, you've got those interesting buttons on the blouse, and the design on the clasp is a bit more involved than that in the embroidery. If it were mine, I'd save the clasp for something that focusses on it.
8/22/08 11:16 PM
Ciclista said...
Absolutely stunning. What a genius to use pillor shams!! I'll be pulling our old ones out of the closet.
8/18/08 9:35 PM
Michelle L said...
This fabric is gorgeous! I love this! Beautiful wardrobe, too.
8/18/08 8:58 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Kbenco took the words right off my fingertips!! Fabulous!!
8/18/08 2:56 PM
Karendee said...
This grouping you're making is TDF. A pillow sham---what creative use of fabrics. I love how all the fabrics coordinate so beautifully, and your workmanship is perfect, as usual. You are a winner!
8/18/08 12:30 PM
Mahler said...
Annette !!! I am simply speechless. The vest, the skirt and the blouse create a perfect outfit. It is sincerely very chic, exclusive and creative. Those colours together are "magnifique c'est tout ". !!! Geniously put together. Do I have to say that I am impressed and that I am looking forward for the rest !!! Waaaaoooooow! I cannot believe what you have created with the fabric. It is NOT too artsy. I work in a university where I often cross professors and students who really look artsy in a pejorative way. This is a great vest.
8/17/08 9:15 PM
sewbehind said...
Your wardrobe is top notch. Love it.
8/17/08 5:52 PM
Grammy Gin said...
As I said you before, you are just plain amazing, Annette!! I love this vest. Wish I had your eye for co-ordinating things..Ginny
8/17/08 11:16 AM
Peggy L said...
What a great use for those pillow shams. I think your vest is fabulous. Love the clasps. Beautiful without being over the top "artsy"!! Gorgeous.
8/17/08 10:10 AM
Woolygal said...
Just fabulous!
8/17/08 10:10 AM
annie11 said...
Looks great, Annette! I think it has just the right amount of "artsy-ness". I wouldn't have thought there was enough fabric in a pillow sham to make anything with, so thanks for opening up a whole new fabric source to me!
8/17/08 9:58 AM
carolynw said...
How totally beautiful and "pillow shams" my word but you are an inventive woman - love the fabric choices
8/17/08 9:39 AM
ITAdmin said...
This is a truly beautiful vest. I'm a little disappointed, though, that you used pillow shams and didn't do the embroidery yourself. Ha! Seriously, all the pieces are beautiful, and the color scheme is gorgeous.
8/17/08 9:17 AM
Kay Y said...
Annette!!! Cheap pillow shams? I cannot believe it. This is just a gorgeous piece.
8/17/08 8:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another lovely creation! Great fabric.
8/17/08 7:46 AM
Karen8320 said...
Fabulous, Annette, fabulous! I really like the use of embroidered pillow sham fabric to give this a somewhat different look to what you usually sew. All the colors co-ordinate so well together and I certainly wouldn't say this is overly artsy in any way. And, wow, even the inside looks as good as the outside!!! Very well done.
8/17/08 7:28 AM
Kbenco said...
Artsy in a good way. This looks fabulous.
8/17/08 1:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I don't think the vest is too artsy - the embroidery is so abstract, and you've incorporated it with other elements to tone it down as well. But I've noticed you don't do prints too often - your aesthetic seems to go for cleaner lines with minimal fuss on the fabric side. I think the pattern supports your fabric choice and it works. I love the way the clasps on the vest complement the buttons on the blouse. Overall, I would say you have a great eye for detail and balance. I suspect when you add the other wardrobe elements, you'll find the vest works. Great job!
8/17/08 0:27 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ooh la la, Annette! You're going to be the best dressed gal at any function (Watch out Nicole K and J. Lo!!!!)! I adore the vest, the top, the skirt.....everything! Very beautifully crafted, inside and out! The vest also looks so good inside that you can wear it inside out for another great look! Wow! I just have to take another look!
8/16/08 11:15 PM
Peacock Chic said...
I really like the vest. yes it is a bit artsy but it does POP!
8/16/08 9:58 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Wow. Love the vest, love the placement of the embroidery. I may have to look at pillow shams in a different light. It is perfect with the blouse. I can't wait to see the rest of your garments. I also appreciate that you take photos of your pattern envelope back and front. I hate when the links to the pattern go dead after the pattern has been discontinued.
8/16/08 9:50 PM
Kristine Kay said...
Pillow Shams??? No Way! This is such a great piece, you really did a wonderful job!
8/16/08 9:50 PM
merry-one said...
Gorgeous!!!
8/16/08 8:01 PM
Athene said...
This is a great vest - it coordinates beautifully with the blouse. The vest may be a bit artsy - but if so its artsy in a really good way - I love the different coordinating colors of embroidery on the vine embellisment. The blouse and vest together make me think of something one would see in a very high end boutique and definitely would have the high end boutique price.
8/16/08 7:57 PM
sewtime said...
Wow! Beautiful!
8/16/08 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Simplicity 9107

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

More Info