SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3489 (Misses Dresses)

17 more reviews
Viewed 886 times 
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo

 
 
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/08 9:44 AM
Last Updated:8/18/08 7:11 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yualice said...
Thx for the awesome review. And for leading me to the Vogue pattern. Being on the plump side myself, it is so good to get an opinion on which pattern is more flattering.
6/7/14 2:29 PM
bananaoil said...
You're right, the Vogue pattern looks GREAT on you. I wonder though whether the difference is mostly in the fabric, leaving the narrow ties aside? Also, could it be the print of the Vogue dress looks better than the solid green? Anyway, I'm glad you do have a pattern that works for you, stick with it. Where everyone finds these smashing knits is what's keeping me up at night. Thanks for the comparative evaluation.
9/30/08 9:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Geez, how could I miss this beauty of a dress! You absolutely look terrific in this dress! Lovely color and style on you! Thanks for your comparisons of this and the famous Vogue pattern!
8/19/08 9:41 PM
Mufffet said...
Really pretty color and nice drapy fabric. Love this. Looks very nice on you, as does the Vogue.
8/19/08 3:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting comparison. The Vogue pattern is much more flattering on you.
8/18/08 6:45 AM
sewtime said...
You look very pretty in this dress. Love it.
8/18/08 0:35 AM
cmarie12 said...
Thanks for a great review! I understand totally why you prefer the Vogue dress!
8/17/08 8:55 PM
Kbenco said...
I just love Vogue 8379, but like you, I have been flirting with the idea of trying a different wrap dress. Thank you for your very helpful comparison, but I wonder if you would be so unhappy with the Kwik Sew dress if you had made it first, it looks pretty good to me, although it does not fit you quite as well. I like the shorter sleeves and the skirt curved edge. I think the wrap style dresses really suit you.
8/17/08 6:24 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review and comparison, but you're WAY too hard on yourself and this dress -- ha! I actually think it looks quite nice, and I bet you'd like it better maybe in a print like the other one. BUT, all that being said, you're so right: Life is short. Why mess with fixing one pattern when you have another one you already love? :o) I think you look great in both versions though!
8/17/08 3:05 PM
Michelle L said...
True, Trixie, in a much more stable knit, perhaps even a double knit, it would not reveal so many "sins of the flesh" so to speak. Then with less stretch the large would be the appropriate size to cut.
8/17/08 10:49 AM
TrixieD said...
A great comparison. i love the vogue pattern and can see what you mean about the difference in hem and in ties. i do like the Kwik Sew on you and can see it might work even better in a different material.
8/17/08 10:39 AM
annie11 said...
I think it actually looks very nice on you, but you are right- why mess with this one, when the Vogue pattern is so much better. I have both of these patterns, but haven't made either yet, so your review has definitely told me which one to make!
8/17/08 10:03 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
Vogue 8379 is one of my favorites too. Thank-you for comparing the two styles!
8/17/08 10:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Butterick 5705

photo
by: rooskie

Review
No Pattern Used Baby Burp Cloths

photo
by: SouthernSt...

Review
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

More Info