SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3489 (Misses Dresses)

16 more reviews
Viewed 885 times 
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo

 
 
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/08 9:44 AM
Last Updated:8/18/08 7:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
Vogue 8379 is one of my favorites too. Thank-you for comparing the two styles!
8/17/08 10:00 AM
annie11 said...
I think it actually looks very nice on you, but you are right- why mess with this one, when the Vogue pattern is so much better. I have both of these patterns, but haven't made either yet, so your review has definitely told me which one to make!
8/17/08 10:03 AM
TrixieD said...
A great comparison. i love the vogue pattern and can see what you mean about the difference in hem and in ties. i do like the Kwik Sew on you and can see it might work even better in a different material.
8/17/08 10:39 AM
Michelle L said...
True, Trixie, in a much more stable knit, perhaps even a double knit, it would not reveal so many "sins of the flesh" so to speak. Then with less stretch the large would be the appropriate size to cut.
8/17/08 10:49 AM
Annette1 said...
Great review and comparison, but you're WAY too hard on yourself and this dress -- ha! I actually think it looks quite nice, and I bet you'd like it better maybe in a print like the other one. BUT, all that being said, you're so right: Life is short. Why mess with fixing one pattern when you have another one you already love? :o) I think you look great in both versions though!
8/17/08 3:05 PM
Kbenco said...
I just love Vogue 8379, but like you, I have been flirting with the idea of trying a different wrap dress. Thank you for your very helpful comparison, but I wonder if you would be so unhappy with the Kwik Sew dress if you had made it first, it looks pretty good to me, although it does not fit you quite as well. I like the shorter sleeves and the skirt curved edge. I think the wrap style dresses really suit you.
8/17/08 6:24 PM
cmarie12 said...
Thanks for a great review! I understand totally why you prefer the Vogue dress!
8/17/08 8:55 PM
sewtime said...
You look very pretty in this dress. Love it.
8/18/08 0:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting comparison. The Vogue pattern is much more flattering on you.
8/18/08 6:45 AM
Mufffet said...
Really pretty color and nice drapy fabric. Love this. Looks very nice on you, as does the Vogue.
8/19/08 3:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Geez, how could I miss this beauty of a dress! You absolutely look terrific in this dress! Lovely color and style on you! Thanks for your comparisons of this and the famous Vogue pattern!
8/19/08 9:41 PM
bananaoil said...
You're right, the Vogue pattern looks GREAT on you. I wonder though whether the difference is mostly in the fabric, leaving the narrow ties aside? Also, could it be the print of the Vogue dress looks better than the solid green? Anyway, I'm glad you do have a pattern that works for you, stick with it. Where everyone finds these smashing knits is what's keeping me up at night. Thanks for the comparative evaluation.
9/30/08 9:44 PM
yualice said...
Thx for the awesome review. And for leading me to the Vogue pattern. Being on the plump side myself, it is so good to get an opinion on which pattern is more flattering.
6/7/14 2:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1001

photo
by: julliams

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: aaltje

Review