Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3489 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 868 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo
Friend of PR
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/08 9:44 AM
Last Updated:8/18/08 7:11 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
Vogue 8379 is one of my favorites too. Thank-you for comparing the two styles!
8/17/08 10:00 AM
annie11 said...
I think it actually looks very nice on you, but you are right- why mess with this one, when the Vogue pattern is so much better. I have both of these patterns, but haven't made either yet, so your review has definitely told me which one to make!
8/17/08 10:03 AM
TrixieD said...
A great comparison. i love the vogue pattern and can see what you mean about the difference in hem and in ties. i do like the Kwik Sew on you and can see it might work even better in a different material.
8/17/08 10:39 AM
Michelle L said...
True, Trixie, in a much more stable knit, perhaps even a double knit, it would not reveal so many "sins of the flesh" so to speak. Then with less stretch the large would be the appropriate size to cut.
8/17/08 10:49 AM
Annette1 said...
Great review and comparison, but you're WAY too hard on yourself and this dress -- ha! I actually think it looks quite nice, and I bet you'd like it better maybe in a print like the other one. BUT, all that being said, you're so right: Life is short. Why mess with fixing one pattern when you have another one you already love? :o) I think you look great in both versions though!
8/17/08 3:05 PM
Kbenco said...
I just love Vogue 8379, but like you, I have been flirting with the idea of trying a different wrap dress. Thank you for your very helpful comparison, but I wonder if you would be so unhappy with the Kwik Sew dress if you had made it first, it looks pretty good to me, although it does not fit you quite as well. I like the shorter sleeves and the skirt curved edge. I think the wrap style dresses really suit you.
8/17/08 6:24 PM
cmarie12 said...
Thanks for a great review! I understand totally why you prefer the Vogue dress!
8/17/08 8:55 PM
sewtime said...
You look very pretty in this dress. Love it.
8/18/08 0:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting comparison. The Vogue pattern is much more flattering on you.
8/18/08 6:45 AM
Mufffet said...
Really pretty color and nice drapy fabric. Love this. Looks very nice on you, as does the Vogue.
8/19/08 3:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Geez, how could I miss this beauty of a dress! You absolutely look terrific in this dress! Lovely color and style on you! Thanks for your comparisons of this and the famous Vogue pattern!
8/19/08 9:41 PM
bananaoil said...
You're right, the Vogue pattern looks GREAT on you. I wonder though whether the difference is mostly in the fabric, leaving the narrow ties aside? Also, could it be the print of the Vogue dress looks better than the solid green? Anyway, I'm glad you do have a pattern that works for you, stick with it. Where everyone finds these smashing knits is what's keeping me up at night. Thanks for the comparative evaluation.
9/30/08 9:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by chicagoche... on 3/12/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2652
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 1/6/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9793 Pattern
Burda 9793 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us