SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2003-106 (Sleeveless Top)

Viewed 1170 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo

 
 
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/03 3:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
JuliaL, I think this top looks great on you. It fits well in the bust line and it's shape is very flattering to your figure. I like the cheereful color too.
8/4/03 3:40 PM
KathleenS said...
I agree with cindyann, it looks good! and from this angle anyway, the neckband looks like a design feature (one of those bands with a notch at the front?)! It also is snug round the armhole (always important in a sleeveless top) after your alterations, unlike the model picture :)
8/4/03 5:50 PM
Teri said...
I second Cindyann! It fits you very nicely.
8/4/03 6:06 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Now honestly, what's wrong with this, I think it looks just great !!!
8/4/03 6:14 PM
Ann C said...
I agree with the others, I would not relegate this one to a knock-around top.
8/4/03 6:15 PM
JuliaL said...
Thanks for the comments. The fabric relegates this to a knockaround top -- so cheap it is linting and pulling after two washes! Perfect for a muslin, not so perfect for wearing in public. I got it because a) it was cheaper, softer and a better color than the linen offerings at Hancock and b) because it let me also work with silk without fear -- now when I'm ready to cut into some good silk I can say "this is my third silk garment, how hard can it be?" instead of "this is my first silk garment, maybe I should go clean the basement and think about this some more before cutting..."
8/4/03 6:30 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Julia, what type thread have you been using with your silks? I think all three of your tops are great.
8/5/03 1:02 AM
JuliaL said...
Mary -- Because these two silk tops were wearable musins, I just used Mettler and MaxiLock. When I graduate to the good stuff, I'll have to investigate better thread.
8/5/03 1:59 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Julia, you look great in this blouse. You did a great job in 'saving' it when the front was too deep/long. In fact, your armscye fits better than the one on the model. You've sewn up some really nice clothes lately.
8/5/03 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Other 0000

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: marec

Review