Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2003-106 (Sleeveless Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1170 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/03 3:26 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
JuliaL, I think this top looks great on you. It fits well in the bust line and it's shape is very flattering to your figure. I like the cheereful color too.
8/4/03 3:40 PM
KathleenS said...
I agree with cindyann, it looks good! and from this angle anyway, the neckband looks like a design feature (one of those bands with a notch at the front?)! It also is snug round the armhole (always important in a sleeveless top) after your alterations, unlike the model picture :)
8/4/03 5:50 PM
Teri said...
I second Cindyann! It fits you very nicely.
8/4/03 6:06 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Now honestly, what's wrong with this, I think it looks just great !!!
8/4/03 6:14 PM
Ann C said...
I agree with the others, I would not relegate this one to a knock-around top.
8/4/03 6:15 PM
JuliaL said...
Thanks for the comments. The fabric relegates this to a knockaround top -- so cheap it is linting and pulling after two washes! Perfect for a muslin, not so perfect for wearing in public. I got it because a) it was cheaper, softer and a better color than the linen offerings at Hancock and b) because it let me also work with silk without fear -- now when I'm ready to cut into some good silk I can say "this is my third silk garment, how hard can it be?" instead of "this is my first silk garment, maybe I should go clean the basement and think about this some more before cutting..."
8/4/03 6:30 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Julia, what type thread have you been using with your silks? I think all three of your tops are great.
8/5/03 1:02 AM
JuliaL said...
Mary -- Because these two silk tops were wearable musins, I just used Mettler and MaxiLock. When I graduate to the good stuff, I'll have to investigate better thread.
8/5/03 1:59 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Julia, you look great in this blouse. You did a great job in 'saving' it when the front was too deep/long. In fact, your armscye fits better than the one on the model. You've sewn up some really nice clothes lately.
8/5/03 3:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 8/2/07
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1084 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Violet Els... on 4/15/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us