SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2003-106 (Sleeveless Top)

Viewed 1170 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo

 
 
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/03 3:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
JuliaL, I think this top looks great on you. It fits well in the bust line and it's shape is very flattering to your figure. I like the cheereful color too.
8/4/03 3:40 PM
KathleenS said...
I agree with cindyann, it looks good! and from this angle anyway, the neckband looks like a design feature (one of those bands with a notch at the front?)! It also is snug round the armhole (always important in a sleeveless top) after your alterations, unlike the model picture :)
8/4/03 5:50 PM
Teri said...
I second Cindyann! It fits you very nicely.
8/4/03 6:06 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Now honestly, what's wrong with this, I think it looks just great !!!
8/4/03 6:14 PM
Ann C said...
I agree with the others, I would not relegate this one to a knock-around top.
8/4/03 6:15 PM
JuliaL said...
Thanks for the comments. The fabric relegates this to a knockaround top -- so cheap it is linting and pulling after two washes! Perfect for a muslin, not so perfect for wearing in public. I got it because a) it was cheaper, softer and a better color than the linen offerings at Hancock and b) because it let me also work with silk without fear -- now when I'm ready to cut into some good silk I can say "this is my third silk garment, how hard can it be?" instead of "this is my first silk garment, maybe I should go clean the basement and think about this some more before cutting..."
8/4/03 6:30 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Julia, what type thread have you been using with your silks? I think all three of your tops are great.
8/5/03 1:02 AM
JuliaL said...
Mary -- Because these two silk tops were wearable musins, I just used Mettler and MaxiLock. When I graduate to the good stuff, I'll have to investigate better thread.
8/5/03 1:59 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Julia, you look great in this blouse. You did a great job in 'saving' it when the front was too deep/long. In fact, your armscye fits better than the one on the model. You've sewn up some really nice clothes lately.
8/5/03 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6139

photo
by: CleaChang

Review